We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center

Ben Cruachan Power Station, Dalmally PA33 1AN, Scotland
+44 141 614 9105
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Good info centre & food

Stopped in for a visit as we pass the door all the time but never take the time to look in . The... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
B0b666
,
Fort William, United Kingdom
Enjoyable and informative visit

We visited because my husband was interested and the Center had been recommended to us by other... read more

Reviewed 9 May 2018
Christine H
,
Bedford, United Kingdom
Read all 540 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
AN UNDERGROUND WORLD ON A SPECTACULAR SCALE. Cruachan is a place like no other, journey deep into the heart of this mountain to discover how we convert the power of water into electricity. An experienced guide will lead you inside the power station to help you understand how we can create 440MW of power in just 2 minutes! Our interactive FREE EXHIBTION is a great way for all ages to further understand how today's energymix is made up. The cafe and gift shop are available for anyone who just wants to stop in for some light refreshments and retail therapy.
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good28%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“power station” (148 reviews)
“tour guide” (46 reviews)
“hollow mountain” (42 reviews)
LOCATION
Ben Cruachan Power Station, Dalmally PA33 1AN, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
+44 141 614 9105
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"power station"
in 148 reviews
"tour guide"
in 46 reviews
"hollow mountain"
in 42 reviews
"loch awe"
in 47 reviews
"viewing gallery"
in 15 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 46 reviews
"turbine hall"
in 21 reviews
"gift shop"
in 37 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 22 reviews
"rainy day"
in 25 reviews
"free exhibition"
in 6 reviews
"health and safety"
in 7 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 6 reviews
"feat of engineering"
in 14 reviews
"coach trip"
in 7 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 6 reviews
"scones"
in 10 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped in for a visit as we pass the door all the time but never take the time to look in . The info centre was really good with the history of the building of the power station and dam good videos and info. The...More

Thank B0b666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We visited because my husband was interested and the Center had been recommended to us by other guests in the hotel we were staying in - I went along for the ride! However, I also found it totally fascinating and thoroughly enjoyable. The tour guide...More

Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank your for your excellent review, we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us how much you enjoyed your visit to Cruachan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

Nice little shop and cafe, informative videos and displays about the history and workings of the power station. It was a let down that the tours had been stopped due to necessary work on the plant. Would probably have given a 4 for this attraction...More

Thank mike a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

There is currently no confirmed date for the tours resuming, we will post on our facebook page and web site when tours start up again. We always advise customers to phone ahead if planning to come a guided tour when they are running as spaces...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

We spent nearly twenty pounds to coach from Oban to this centre.When we got there we were told No Tours Available.So here we were dropped in the middle of the Highlands with a wait of two and a half hours before we could return to...More

1  Thank 186377Adequate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

I'm sorry to hear that the local coach company didn't let you know the tours aren't currently operating. We have always advised booking in advance for anyone wishing to go on tour, had the coach company done this for you they would have been advised...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

We travelled to the centre by bus from Oban (£19+ tickets) after speaking to the lady in the office in Oban. When we arrived we were informed there was no trips to the power station, but we could watch the videos. Had the people in...More

1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for your review and feedback on your recent visit to the centre. We have tried to make all our local tourism attractions and transport providers aware that we are not currently operating guided tours, I'm sorry that the person in Oban who sold...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

No tours! But only found out from website! When we walked in the woman on reception did not raise her head until the coach driver of a tour company followed us in. She proceeded to talk and gossip with him until we left! Not a...More

Thank Chrissie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We are not currently operating tours, we will update our on line booking system and Web site with information when tours are available again. We always aim to greet and engage with every customer that comes in. I'm sorry this...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Despite part of our Muthu Highland Heritage itineray, when we were on coach driver advised feature closed for maintenance, we had booked this in October 2017. The visitor centre were apologetic, not their fault. The story of construction with audio, photos,video and artifacts of the...More

Thank Fermentingtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for yoru review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the exhibition, and hope to welcome you back to the centre next itme you are in Scotland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Even though underground tours are currently unavailable (as at early April 2018) the visitor centre (admission free) is well worth a visit. We planned a short look around but didn't notice we'd spent a whole morning learning about the ardous construction process andthe vital role...More

Thank The-Old-Scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We would encourage every one to still visit the centre whilst tours are not yet operating, as you point out there is plenty to look at in the centre and the surrounding area. The free exhibition houses a wealth of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff , good gift shop and good food , lots of information available on the workings and building of the power station. Well worth a visit .

1  Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thanks for the review and lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

really interesting site and entertaining guide from Scottish Power. The tour is not long but worth doing if your travelling through the area.

Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C, Manager at Cruachan Power Station Visitor Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thanks for the review, great to hear you enjoyed the tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Dalmally Hotels
Ardanaiseig Hotel
672 reviews
2.26 km away
Loch Awe Hotel
519 reviews
4.64 km away
The Brander Lodge Hotel & Bistro
400 reviews
4.81 km away
Taychreggan Hotel
424 reviews
6.22 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Ben Cruachan Inn
103 reviews
4.58 km away
Kilchrenan Inn
30 reviews
5.18 km away
Ardbrecknish House Restaurant & Bar
63 reviews
5.41 km away
Portsonachan Hotel Restaurant
42 reviews
6.68 km away
Nearby Attractions
St Conan's Kirk
293 reviews
3.84 km away
Kilchurn Castle
405 reviews
5.58 km away
Finn Falconry
92 reviews
7.54 km away
Loch Awe Boats
65 reviews
4.62 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
daern
10 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Johnny_Euro | Reviewed this property |
Don’t waste your time with a phone call inquiring about tours. All you get is a recorded message directing you back to the website for more info which, as you know, doesn’t exist. I’ve been on a tour and it left an... More
0
Votes
David R
23 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Angela S | Reviewed this property |
It was £7.00 for adults £6 for Senior Citizens/Students £2.50 Children 6 - 16 (under 6 years F.O.C)
0
Votes
john b
29 February 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from gordjan2015 | Reviewed this property |
The centre is wheelchair friendly but I don't think the bus is and there's a wee bit uphill walking when you get off the bus. Think it would be best if you phoned or emailed them to ask before going
0
Votes
;