We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Afriski Mountain Resort

| Mahlasela Pass, Butha-Buthe 000, Lesotho
+266 5954 4734
Review Highlights
Always Fun

I have never stayed at the resort, but have been regularly to use the ski and snowboarding... read more

Reviewed 3 August 2016
Cape Town Central, South Africa
We wanted snow, we got it!

We were suppose to book in on the Thursday but only got at the resort late Friday afternoon due to... read more

Reviewed 2 August 2016
Johannesburg, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 177 reviews
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Visit Afriski Mountain Resort – An Unexpected High. The Mountain Kingdom of Lesotho is a country rich in culture and rugged beauty. Afriski Mountain Resort, tucked away in the northern highlands, provides a gateway to this largely untapped world of high-altitude adventure. Situated in the heart of the Drakensberg-Maluti Mountains, this luxury resort caters to every taste and offers the perfect escape for sport and outdoor enthusiasts, corporate parties as well as families. With a selection of accommodation options, as well as a range of on-site facilities and restaurants, Afriski has all you need for the perfect mountain getaway. In summer, ambitious mountain goats explore the peaks in pursuit of a wide range of outdoor endeavours. The resort welcomes mountain bikers, trail-runners, hikers, fly fishermen as well as enduro and off-road enthusiasts equally. Multiple trails, paths and streams await discovery. When the seasons turn, and the cold descends, our ski slopes come to life. In addition, log fires in the evening provide time to unwind, kick back and relax. Afriski provides a touch of Europe just around the corner – without the demands of a long-haul flight. Feed your restless soul. Join us at 3222m above sea level in the Mountain Kingdom.
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good39%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sani pass” (10 reviews)
“ski school” (10 reviews)
“south africa” (8 reviews)
| Mahlasela Pass, Butha-Buthe 000, Lesotho
+266 5954 4734
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

51 - 60 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2016

I have never stayed at the resort, but have been regularly to use the ski and snowboarding facilities. We go often with friends and have always found the staff friendly and helpful. I have never pre-booked ski passes or gear as the weather can be...More

Thank shanehodges55
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We were suppose to book in on the Thursday but only got at the resort late Friday afternoon due to heavy snow on the road and had to sleep over at Oxbow. Glad we didn't pre-book any equipment as we really only had the Saturday...More

Thank Katryn_xx
Reviewed 31 July 2016

I would discourage pre-booking your ski pass and ski equipment as you will be deducted 25% off your refund should you for some reason cancel your trip at the last minute. There are no benefits in paying upfront as there appears to be no limit...More

Thank Mass S
Afriski, Manager at Afriski Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear Mass Our booking and cancellation policies are clear. We fully recommend booking in advance due to the number of guests that need equipment at any time. In addition, booking this way ensures a smooth process when at the resort. Unfortunately, 100% cancellation fees apply...More

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We were once again very happy with everything relating to our visit to Afriski. From the booking process to the reception (would have loved a little more snow, but...) Courchevel is such comfortable accommodation - lots of space for 4 small kids to play inside...More

Thank 322carinem
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Before I start, I must confess, the Afriski staff was awesome, and the ski facilities was also good. But the BACKPACKERS...stay away from the backpackers! We went with a large group on a long weekend trip to Afriski on 23 July 2016. The accommodation in...More

Thank Christoph S
Reviewed 28 July 2016

This place is a well oiled set of cogs. From the check in, to the ski equipment, school, slope passes to the Sky restaurant and the accommodation (Vail) there is little to not rave about. The resort and the accommodation were great, centrally heated rooms...More

Thank Mad_Runner_MW
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend here with the kids recently. Although pricey, the service was efficient and professional. The coaches were friendly and very helpful. We stayed in Andorra, which sufficed, although the chairs were a bit delapetated and dirty. The bunkbeds are also VERY...More

Thank Zarina S
Reviewed 25 July 2016

About 13 friends and I made a day trip into the Afriski resort and what a spectacular day! Great instructors, top notch operations management and an awesome day on the slopes! Highly recommended!

Thank brandondegee
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This must be the ultimate fun for kids, they enjoyed the snowboarding so much. Some of the instructors were not good at all, but in general if you want fun, this is it. The only serious bad thing about this trip to Afriski and back...More

Thank Antonie v
Reviewed 18 July 2016

who would have thought, a few hours from Johannesburg, is a full on Ski resort? Great facilities and activities at the resort, very well organised and set up. Perfect for families. we stayed at Bethlehem and trekked there each day, next time will stay in...More

Thank Familyguy108
Nearby Restaurants
Clementines Restaurant and Bar
717 reviews
45.65 km away
Clarens Brewery
571 reviews
45.50 km away
Coyote Cafe
27 reviews
41.74 km away
Gosto Portuguese Restaurant
455 reviews
45.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
All Out Adventures
76 reviews
34.55 km away
Golden Gate Highlands National Park
256 reviews
37.15 km away
Clarens Brewery
271 reviews
45.49 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
20 June 2017|
Response from NauticalVoyager |
The main slope is only at 200m at the moment but the slope is being expanded but without natural snow fall it is taking longer than last year. Still we had a great time this last week.
14 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from silindilec | Reviewed this property |
yes you can, saw people coming for activities only or restaurant. Do think there is a specific entry fee
3 April 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from shannonvet64 | Reviewed this property |
My understanding is that the snow is hit or miss. We were there mid-July and there was no snow. We skiied on man-made snow which was still fun!!! No way to predict the snow fall, but mid-June should have as good of a... More