We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort

Maluti Mountains, Butha-Buthe 400, Lesotho
+27 87 230 8408
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome Place

An awesome place, beautiful drive with amazing views, lots of snow, lots of activities with great... read more

Reviewed 11 August 2016
Yusuf S
via mobile
A bucket-list destination

A gruelling 75km trip up hair-pin bends in a normal passenger vehicle from Butha-Buthe (as we had... read more

Reviewed 10 August 2016
Sarah K
,
Durban, South Africa
Read all 163 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good39%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
6 days ago
“Great vibe, service & fun!”
10 May 2017
“Perfect get away”
LOCATION
Maluti Mountains, Butha-Buthe 400, Lesotho
CONTACT
Website
+27 87 230 8408
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

An awesome place, beautiful drive with amazing views, lots of snow, lots of activities with great staff to teach. Worth spending a few days

Thank Yusuf S
Reviewed 10 August 2016

A gruelling 75km trip up hair-pin bends in a normal passenger vehicle from Butha-Buthe (as we had stayed at the Maliba River Lodge), all so worth the driver up 3200m above sea level. Amazing views of snow as is had just snowed in abundance two...More

1  Thank Sarah K
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Fouriesburg to save costs, the drive to Afriski takes about 2 hours. Try and be at the border at 6 when it opens! The ski rental is very well organized and equipment of a high standard. Ski school for kids was very...More

Thank Johan G
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We went for a day visit when staying in Fouriesburg and decided to go as there was heavy snowfall earlier in the week. The drive out there through the Moteng pass is already worth the effort. Beautiful white landscape with stunning views. The resort was...More

Thank Fkafrica
Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

What a unbelievable experience we had even though it was cold the atmosphere kept us up and running and even hot we traveled down to Lesotho to explore and sightseeing seeing the beautiful country and to enjoy the snow..... we then went skiing and a...More

Thank Lorraine K
Reviewed 4 August 2016

So this is a bit of a mixed review because some parts of it where absolutely wonderful, and other parts really put a damper on the holiday so I will write this review in sections. Overall As many will know, the weekend of 24 –...More

2  Thank Nicole687
Reviewed 3 August 2016

I have never stayed at the resort, but have been regularly to use the ski and snowboarding facilities. We go often with friends and have always found the staff friendly and helpful. I have never pre-booked ski passes or gear as the weather can be...More

Thank shanehodges55
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We were suppose to book in on the Thursday but only got at the resort late Friday afternoon due to heavy snow on the road and had to sleep over at Oxbow. Glad we didn't pre-book any equipment as we really only had the Saturday...More

Thank Katryn_xx
Reviewed 31 July 2016

I would discourage pre-booking your ski pass and ski equipment as you will be deducted 25% off your refund should you for some reason cancel your trip at the last minute. There are no benefits in paying upfront as there appears to be no limit...More

Thank Mass S
Afriski, Manager at AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear Mass Our booking and cancellation policies are clear. We fully recommend booking in advance due to the number of guests that need equipment at any time. In addition, booking this way ensures a smooth process when at the resort. Unfortunately, 100% cancellation fees apply...More

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We were once again very happy with everything relating to our visit to Afriski. From the booking process to the reception (would have loved a little more snow, but...) Courchevel is such comfortable accommodation - lots of space for 4 small kids to play inside...More

Thank 322carinem
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Clementines Restaurant and Bar
700 reviews
45.65 km away
Clarens Brewery
554 reviews
45.50 km away
Coyote Cafe
27 reviews
41.74 km away
Gosto Portuguese Restaurant
444 reviews
45.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
All Out Adventures
74 reviews
34.55 km away
Golden Gate Highlands National Park
252 reviews
37.15 km away
Clarens Brewery
261 reviews
45.49 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
DamoKohl
Hi, I see on the website it states "Main Slope - OPEN 200m ". Would just like to confirm, is only the last 200m of the slope open? Is Afriski not making snow for the rest of the slope (at least up to 800m like July last year?) It surely is cold enough for it....
20 June 2017|
Answer
Response from NauticalVoyager |
The main slope is only at 200m at the moment but the slope is being expanded but without natural snow fall it is taking longer than last year. Still we had a great time this last week.
0
Votes
andreairisgraham
Hi. Can you visit Afriski for the day without staying over? If so what is the cost?
14 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from silindilec | Reviewed this property |
yes you can, saw people coming for activities only or restaurant. Do think there is a specific entry fee
1
Vote
NIC_RYAN29
hi, is there any snow in around mid june ??
3 April 2017|
Answer Show all 5 answers
Response from shannonvet64 | Reviewed this property |
My understanding is that the snow is hit or miss. We were there mid-July and there was no snow. We skiied on man-made snow which was still fun!!! No way to predict the snow fall, but mid-June should have as good of a... More
1
Vote