We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Maluti Mountains, Butha-Buthe 400, Lesotho
Phone Number:
+27 87 230 8408
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 156 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 60
    Excellent
  • 61
    Very good
  • 21
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
We wanted snow, we got it!

We were suppose to book in on the Thursday but only got at the resort late Friday afternoon due to heavy snow on the road and had to sleep over at Oxbow. Glad we didn't pre-book... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 August 2016
Katryn_xx
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 152: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We were suppose to book in on the Thursday but only got at the resort late Friday afternoon due to heavy snow on the road and had to sleep over at Oxbow. Glad we didn't pre-book any equipment as we really only had the Saturday (one day) on the slopes as Sunday we had to be out again early as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katryn_xx
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2016

I would discourage pre-booking your ski pass and ski equipment as you will be deducted 25% off your refund should you for some reason cancel your trip at the last minute. There are no benefits in paying upfront as there appears to be no limit to the number of skiers on the slope and they have more than enough equipment... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mass S
Afriski, Manager at AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort, responded to this review

Dear Mass Our booking and cancellation policies are clear. We fully recommend booking in advance due to the number of guests that need equipment at any time. In addition, booking this way ensures a smooth process when at the resort. Unfortunately, 100% cancellation fees apply if a booking is cancelled 2 weeks before arrival - this is normal in the... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We were once again very happy with everything relating to our visit to Afriski. From the booking process to the reception (would have loved a little more snow, but...) Courchevel is such comfortable accommodation - lots of space for 4 small kids to play inside without being in the way of the adults. Have to thank Chantelle and Puseleto especially... More 

Helpful?
Thank 322carinem
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2016

Before I start, I must confess, the Afriski staff was awesome, and the ski facilities was also good. But the BACKPACKERS...stay away from the backpackers! We went with a large group on a long weekend trip to Afriski on 23 July 2016. The accommodation in the backpackers was terrible. The building structure is made from joined shipping containers, which is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christoph S
Lilongwe, Malawi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2016

This place is a well oiled set of cogs. From the check in, to the ski equipment, school, slope passes to the Sky restaurant and the accommodation (Vail) there is little to not rave about. The resort and the accommodation were great, centrally heated rooms with more space than we envisaged off the virtual internet tours. the Sky restaurant was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mad_Runner_MW
Phalaborwa, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful weekend here with the kids recently. Although pricey, the service was efficient and professional. The coaches were friendly and very helpful. We stayed in Andorra, which sufficed, although the chairs were a bit delapetated and dirty. The bunkbeds are also VERY unstable, but at least held up. And as mentioned earlier, it is EXPENSIVE. Book and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zarina S
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016

About 13 friends and I made a day trip into the Afriski resort and what a spectacular day! Great instructors, top notch operations management and an awesome day on the slopes! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank brandondegee
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2016

This must be the ultimate fun for kids, they enjoyed the snowboarding so much. Some of the instructors were not good at all, but in general if you want fun, this is it. The only serious bad thing about this trip to Afriski and back are the locals on the roads, the last part of the road to Afriski is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Antonie v
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2016

who would have thought, a few hours from Johannesburg, is a full on Ski resort? Great facilities and activities at the resort, very well organised and set up. Perfect for families. we stayed at Bethlehem and trekked there each day, next time will stay in resort, so we can have more time on the slopes!

Helpful?
Thank Familyguy108
Maseru, Lesotho
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2016

Well organized pretty ski station for a one day ski trip; perfect for kids; however only é slopes work, both very easy level. Prices very high both for renting the equipment and for food; but definitely worth the experience. Mechanic available on spot..and pretty busy

Helpful?
Thank Laurafloating

Travellers who viewed AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort also viewed

Teyateyaneng, Berea District
 

Been to AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from AfriSki Ski and Mountain Resort staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?