We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dorothy Clive Garden

A51 - Willoughbridge Lane | Willoughbridge, Market Drayton TF9 4EU, England
+44 1630 647237
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Tranquil but quite expensive

The Dorothy Clive gardens are local to me, and I’d driven past dozens of times, so decided to pop... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jules_HH_71
,
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
via mobile
Well worth a visit anytime.

We visited this garden in July during the heatwave the whole country was experiencing. Being aware... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Roger F
Read all 286 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
This 12 acre garden is a very beautiful Plantsman's Paradise. An exceptionally relaxing place packed with plants of interest throughout the year. A winter garden, laburnum tunnel, alpine scree with pool, rose walk, edible woodland, seasonal borders, large Mediterranean glasshouse and rhododendron filled woodland with waterfall are just some of the highlights you will find here. The garden is both intimate and informal with a network of meandering paths that invite you to explore. Relax in the tearoom with adjoining terrace lawn that affords some wonderful views into the surrounding Staffordshire, Shropshire and Cheshire countryside. A picnic area is also available. The Dorothy Clive Garden is a registered charity. The garden is expressly intended to be used for the enjoyment and benefit of the public and to support horticultural education. The garden hosts a range of events throughout the year including children's activities. See website for programme.
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“laburnum arch” (21 reviews)
“gift shop” (19 reviews)
“chilli festival” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:30
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
A51 - Willoughbridge Lane | Willoughbridge, Market Drayton TF9 4EU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1630 647237
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"laburnum arch"
in 21 reviews
"gift shop"
in 19 reviews
"chilli festival"
in 12 reviews
"tea room"
in 37 reviews
"car park"
in 20 reviews
"full bloom"
in 14 reviews
"scones"
in 21 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 9 reviews
"few years"
in 8 reviews
"old quarry"
in 6 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 19 reviews
"winding paths"
in 5 reviews
"on arrival"
in 7 reviews
"herbaceous borders"
in 7 reviews
"looking forward"
in 8 reviews
"plenty of seats"
in 5 reviews
"unusual plants"
in 7 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Dorothy Clive gardens are local to me, and I’d driven past dozens of times, so decided to pop in with my hubby, our friend and her baby. The entrance fees came as a bit of a surprise!! We upgraded to membership as it’s a...More

Thank Jules_HH_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your very well considered review. I am really pleased you enjoyed the garden enough to take advantage of the annual membership. This has been very popular this year - especially with people who live close by. The pricing policy is designed to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited this garden in July during the heatwave the whole country was experiencing. Being aware of some of the other recent non complimentary reveiws we couldn't understand the reasons behind the 2 star reveiws. Thw garden is laid out in areas that flower at...More

3  Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited today and was aware there had been 3 recent poor reviews. As an experienced gardener I was unable to find any significant reason for recent previous comments as gardens are seasonal in parts as is evident from the plantings. The glasshouse was filled with...More

2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and your constructive, objective comments. We have identified the need for a seat in the glasshouse and are very grateful to the Friends of the Garden who have offered to finance this. The plan is to find a suitable seat...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited yesterday as a birthday treat for my Mum. Not withstanding the expected comment I will get in return regarding the heat, the gardens were so disappointing. The top area was just a mess. The bottom part was better but having paid £8.50, I don't...More

1  Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am saddened that you did not enjoy your visit to the Dorothy Clive Gardens. I wish you had voiced your concerns on the day you were here as we do not like our visitors to go away unhappy and would always prefer a face...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

These gardens were poorly tended and uninspiring representing very poor value for the £8.50 entry fee.More

Thank jojac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am saddened to read your rather curt review. I would argue that the gardens are actually very well loved by many people and very well tended by both gardeners and our many volunteers. They actually offer inspiration and joy to many people as can...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

All the way from Australia after following all reviews. All were great. Sadly on arrival we were met with gardens that really showed no likeness to website and brochures. It would be nice if the web site was updated to show the state of the...More

Thank Tippsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Ida, Thank you for your suggestions. We do try to keep the website absolutely up to date with postings about what is in flower, looking good etc. but we do also publish photos of the garden all year round as part of our 'story'....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A great place to spend a few hours. Lovely sunny herbaceous borders and lawns in one part, and shady wooded area in another part. A quarry and waterfall also add variety so there is something of interest for everyone. An excellent place to while away...More

Thank markH8236GX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking time to review the Garden. We do try to offer something for everyone - and all year round too - so it is always rewarding to have that noticed. Really pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

Firstly I hadn’t read the small print on the gardeners world 2 for 1 tickets, it wasn’t valid here until the 1st July, we went in anyway but it is expensive. The gardens are large divided into a woodland part whic at least was cooler...More

Thank Achnerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Thank you for your review and your 4 star rating. The Laburnum tunnel was indeed stunning but this is generally over by the beginning of June when the Laburnum have finished their flowering season. Maybe you would appreciate the garden more on a slightly cooler...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

A wonderful garden and a lovely place to visit. A little smaller by public garden standards, but exceptionally well formed, Dorothy Clive Garden is a wonderful place to visit for a few hours with a stunning array of plants and trees in a well planned...More

1  Thank velo-oeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your visit so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again - maybe in a different season?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Well I have read the terrible remakes and I never understand why these people go out at all. Flowers don't flower all year round you cannot expect to find daffs in the middle of July so when you want to see flowers in full bloom...More

1  Thank blueboytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
54kathryn, Manager at Dorothy Clive Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. The team are all very committed to the garden and do endeavour to make all visits worthy of the entry fee - and more. So pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
891 reviews
9.90 km away
Clayton Lodge Hotel
771 reviews
10.36 km away
Wychwood Park Hotel
1 055 reviews
11.04 km away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
479 reviews
11.10 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Chetwode Arms
164 reviews
1.72 km away
The White Lion at Knighton
190 reviews
2.59 km away
The Falcon Inn
160 reviews
3.43 km away
The Wheatsheaf Inn
149 reviews
3.50 km away
Nearby Attractions
Unreal Paintball
32 reviews
3.60 km away
Keele Hall
53 reviews
8.17 km away
Cholmondley Pageant of Power
38 reviews
8.63 km away
Sugnall Walled Garden
39 reviews
10.03 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
stevethecoachie
19 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Helen M | Reviewed this property |
I would contact them directly. They might give you a better deal.
1
Vote
136steve2014
1 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Marcus C | Property representative |
Hello. My apologies that you've had a frustrating time trying to get in contact with us. Somebody is ringing you today. Kind regards Marcus
0
Votes
136steve2014
1 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Marcus C | Property representative |
Hello there - as per the underneath my apologies that you couldn't get a response on the phone. However, I understand that a member of our team has since contacted you and your enquiry about our RSPB event has now been... More
0
Votes