We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Memorial de Montormel

Les Hayettes | Coudehard, 61160 Argentan, France
+33 2 33 67 38 61
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Worthwhile visit

A very clear Audio visual with diorama, in English ( for us). Clearly explains the build up and the... read more

Reviewed 28 November 2017
gordonhauser
,
Winchester, United Kingdom
Lovely views

The encirclement of the German troops between here and Falaise marked the end of the Battle of... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2017
RobertFGCarter
,
Fareham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 110 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good31%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“world war ii” (2 reviews)
“sherman tank” (2 reviews)
LOCATION
Les Hayettes | Coudehard, 61160 Argentan, France
CONTACT
Website
+33 2 33 67 38 61
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"german soldiers"
in 4 reviews
"world war ii"
in 2 reviews
"sherman tank"
in 2 reviews
"normandy beaches"
in 2 reviews
"speak french"
in 2 reviews
"battle"
in 22 reviews
"memorial"
in 22 reviews
"polish"
in 15 reviews
"fighting"
in 5 reviews
"presentation"
in 8 reviews
"valley"
in 7 reviews
"hill"
in 9 reviews
"death"
in 5 reviews
"map"
in 5 reviews
"museum"
in 29 reviews
"division"
in 4 reviews
"explanation"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2017

A very clear Audio visual with diorama, in English ( for us). Clearly explains the build up and the importance of the desperate fight and astonishing bravery of the Poles. Who risked, and lost, their lives to free another peoples country. My wife unexpectedly enjoyed...More

Thank gordonhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

The encirclement of the German troops between here and Falaise marked the end of the Battle of Normandy. The views from the memorial which is high up indicate how desperate the Germans must have been to escape from this death trap.

Thank RobertFGCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

The museum provides a detailed analysis of the battle on a map. The screens then open up and a guide explains the battle and points out the landmarks. Explaons the fetocity of the fighting in the 'corrodor of death'. The skies were black due to...More

Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Unlike other patrons I found the staff were pleasant and willing to answer my questions. To be fair I speak French, so maybe that changes things. I explained that I was from Canada and of Polish decent (two of the main countries honored at this...More

Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

we were here as part of a tour and our group was expected and welcomed by the staff so we did not have the same experience as individual travelers. Our guide was a knowledgeable and well spoken young woman . The museum itself was very...More

Thank MWK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

It has been 3-4 months since we visited the Memorial and Museum on the morning of March 11th 2017. I would not normally take this much time before I write a review but our visit was very upsetting and distressing; as a terribly rude staff...More

4  Thank Analyste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 September 2017

We usually let people free to publish any comments they wish (and actually, you can see that most of them are positive to very positive about their visit in our museum) but your post on TripAdvisor is so abusive that in the present case, we...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

This memorial is dedicated to a battle that encircled many german troops also known as the Falaise battle. A common World War II battlefield tour attraction visitors can touch some of the amour hardware present in the battle. The polish division is specifically remembered here...More

Thank SomedayTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

The Falaise battle is improperly named due to some PR the Allied needed to perform in 1945. It actually took place centered on Argentan a less well known place for Anglo-Saxon. Whatever, it has been a slaughter on 5 days for Germans and Allied, with...More

Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

I arrived on Wednesday afternoon, the only weekday they open in February. There was only one other small party awaiting entrance. There was an immediate problem in that I only had 4 euros cash and they wouldn't take a card payment for the entry fee...More

1  Thank NigelJWHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped here as part of a Leger battlefield tour. Although I didn't visit the museum itself but I did buy a book from the shop. The memorial is excellent and is one of the best I've seen. The view of what was the falaise gap...More

Thank Pompeyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
njwh2016
16 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Analyste | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry to have learnt you had a similar experience - unfortunately I have not been able to take it to a higher level. However, I feel sure that those in control will sooner or later read the many poor reviews on... More
0
Votes
;