We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Went other day quite nice staff.

Went for drinks didn’t realise it was so much cheaper then all others round here was quite pleased... read more

Reviewed 24 August 2018
martinrc31
,
Pontefract, United Kingdom
via mobile
Christmas Meal

Had a lovely Christmas meal and all 3 courses were very well presented. Usually dread Christmas... read more

Reviewed 2 February 2018
PoggyGang
,
Barnsley, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 75 reviews
9
All photos (9)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good13%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch”(14 reviews)
“function room”(4 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
10°
Oct
Nov
Dec
Contact
Havercroft Lane, Darrington WF8 3BP, England
Website
+44 1977 704522
Call
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
55
10
4
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
55
10
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday lunch function room christmas meal pro shop two course meal couldn't fault birthday party society fairways venue menu dj
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

A catastrophe of errors Attended a charity dinner this evening and I have never had such a laugh. Firstly bin ends of wine were being sold at £10 a bottle. Great value! However not when the bar can’t find a corkscrew. So house wine was...More

2  Thank goneroaming
KarenW5768, Front Office Manager at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear goneroaming I will not thank you for your in-appropriate review, you had time during the event to sort out anything that was not to your liking regarding the food, you actually praised the staff who were serving that evening. Ian the Organiser was very...More

Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Went for drinks didn’t realise it was so much cheaper then all others round here was quite pleased and food service to others looked nice a mean a £5 for burger can’t go wrong at all other place s I know it’s double that and...More

2  Thank martinrc31
Karen W, Front Office Manager at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear Martin Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your drinks & food here when you visited us. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Regards Karen

Reviewed 25 March 2018

The whole experience was poor from waiting 15 minutes to be served with a drink, to the food dished up being processed and not fresh. The desert was either cold or served incorrectly. I will not be coming back or recommending this place to any...More

Thank tibbyolga
Karen W, Front Office Manager at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Firstly let me apologise for the length of time it has taken me to reply to your review, I have had technical issues with logging in to Trip Advisor. I am sorry you did not have a positive experience here when you came for Sunday...More

Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely Christmas meal and all 3 courses were very well presented. Usually dread Christmas meals because they are usually poor quality and expensive for what you get but couldn't fault this meal at all.More

Thank PoggyGang
Karen W, Front Office Manager at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi PoggyGang We are so happy that you enjoyed your evening here for your Christmas meal, we try to make sure it is not the usual run of the mill type food and vary the menu from year to year. Please come again this Christmas...More

Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic value. 5 course meal and free bar for £75 on NYE is a bargain. We expected the food to be very small portions as is sometimes the case with set menus but that was not the case very good size meals and beautiful...More

Thank Joey_yorkshire
Karen W, Front Office Manager at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi Joey I will let Chef & his team know that you enjoyed your food and generally the evening was good for you here on New Year's Eve. I am sorry the Bar shut a bit early as it was supposed to be 1:00am, I...More

Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

I booked for the first time and was hoping for great quality food & service to say it’s £12.95 for 3 course , anyway started off ok and then it went all down hill the meat was served in a large dish and was sliced...More

Thank Ema G
Karen W, Front Office Manager at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi Ema G I am so sorry that your first experience here with us was not what you expected, we are know for our "Sunday Spinner" style of presenting the meal as from research in the past we found our guests did not like having...More

Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Took my family for Sunday lunch at the Darrington golf club . Everything started fine ,we was shown to our table sat and started to read our menus that were provided on our tables. It then took 10 mins before anyone came to our table...More

1  Thank Whiplash71
Karen W, Front Office Manager at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear Whiplash I am so sorry you had this experience here and I can only apologise, please contact us so that we can make amends.

Reviewed 9 November 2017

From the warm welcome in the pro-shop and right through the whole round of golf the experience was extremely positive. The greens and bunkers were particularly good for the time of year, while the fairways were soggy in places but always playable. A long wait...More

Thank trevor494
Karen W, Front Office Manager at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi Trevor I am so glad you had a good experience here and enjoyed your golf. I will let the team know about service and hope to see you all again soon.

Reviewed 4 October 2017

Eight of us visited for a society day's golfing. On arrival we were greeted very well and a lovely bacon roll awaited. This was followed by an excellent 18 holes of golf (for some!) and then a two course meal afterwards. What a meal, not...More

Thank bert45
Karen W, Front Office Manager at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hi We look forward to you returning and visiting us again. It is always a pleasure to making your experience a good one.

Reviewed 26 September 2017

We had our small society day at mid-yorkshire golf club and we were very well treated in all aspects. There was no problem putting back our tee times because of inclement weather, therefore putting back our meal time. We enjoyed the course, then the food...More

Thank Stephen R
Karen W, Front Office Manager at Mid Yorkshire Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Stephen Thank you for taking the time to review your golf day here with us. We don't mind how big or small the groups are & we are always happy to oblige timings to make your day run as smooth as possible. Chef will...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
239 reviews
.66 km away
Southside Lodge
16 reviews
2.15 km away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
230 reviews
2.37 km away
Wentbridge House Hotel
1 175 reviews
2.96 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
Busy Bees Diner
42 reviews
1.66 km away
The Fleur de Lys Restaurant
117 reviews
2.96 km away
Brewers Fayre Turnpike - Yorkshire
471 reviews
3.02 km away
Kyte Hotel-Chestnut House Restaurant
120 reviews
.90 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
The Wonkey Donkey Visitors Centre
146 reviews
3.03 km away
Pontefract Races
253 reviews
5.32 km away
The Brick Box
6 reviews
3.67 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mac M
23 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Karen W | Property representative |
Thank you for your question. Yes we do an excellent Hog Roast with all the trimmings. This is usually when guests are having a celebration here such as a Engagement, Wedding, Anniversary, Christening or Birthday celebration.
0
Votes
Lovesun123
13 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Karen W | Property representative |
Hi Our resident DJ is DJ Daniel Horan, & he has been with us for about 4 years and he caters for everything & anything from children's parties, anniversaries, weddings, engagements and christenings. No matter what age group... More
0
Votes
garry n
11 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Patrick T | Reviewed this property |
as far as i know is sunday lunch as normal
0
Votes