We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan

Save
Share
Review Highlights
European Highlander Cairnryan to Larne

Absolutely fabulous, so organised from the start,boarding was a breeze, the welcome sublime. The... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Joseph H
via mobile
Trip to Northern Ireland

Sailed to Larne in club lounge, what a lovely little haven. Cathy and the staff couldn't do enough... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nettetrips
via mobile
Read all 122 reviews
48
All photos (48)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“both ways”(4 reviews)
“bar area”(4 reviews)
About
Voted “Best Ferry Company” three years running*, there’s no better way to start your Scottish adventure than with P&O Ferries. We operate regular daily sailings from Larne to Cairnryan, making our crossings one of the most convenient ways to travel...more
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
| Larne Harbour, Larne BT40 1AX, Northern Ireland
Website
+44 1304 448888
Call
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
50
32
17
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
50
32
17
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews priority boarding both ways bar area staff were friendly hour trip kids area comfortable journey no issues two hours comfortable lounge starbucks coffee no hassle quick crossing both sides smooth ride female member of staff movie playing
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having received an e-mail advising me of the approaching “ Storm Callum” I decided to change, what I thought was a “flexi ticket” as I couldn’t take the risk of being stuck in Belfast. To my surprise a hefty charge was levied at the point...More

Thank Wildrovertyg
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good Morning and thank you for sharing your experience. Please accept our apologies for the confusion you seem to have encountered surrounding storm 'Callum'. Please send an email to customer.services@poferries.com and our dedicated customer care team will be happy to look into this in detail...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely fabulous, so organised from the start,boarding was a breeze, the welcome sublime. The staff were courteous friendly and polite . The food and drink tasty and wholesome. Disembarking was quick and hassle free. Don't take my word for it book and go!

Thank Joseph H
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Joseph, Thank you for your input. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant journey with us. We hope to welcome you soon again! *John P&O Ferries

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sailed to Larne in club lounge, what a lovely little haven. Cathy and the staff couldn't do enough for us and were fabulous with the little ones. I would definitely recommend using this facility.

Thank Nettetrips
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you soon again! *John P&O Ferries

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a couple of issues with this last trip including a ferry time change and a Storm called Ali causing a few issues. I used twitter to find out whether or not my booking was fine going over and they where more than helpful,...More

Thank Tarry11
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review! It was lovely to read all about your experience with us. We're so glad you had a pleasant stay on board our ship and felt comfortable with our staff and services. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!...More

Reviewed 14 September 2018

Actually, we took this ferry the other way - Cairnryan to Larne - but that doesn't matter. Efficient loading/boarding, nice vessel, smooth crossing. Good bar and sitting area up front, good restaurant area, and, for me, who likes to be up top outside, good outdoor...More

Thank NormanSantaFe
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your feedback. We're glad to hear you had a pleasant experience with us when you travelled from Cairnryan and we look forward to seeing you again on board soon. Vee P&O...More

Reviewed 3 September 2018

The ferry crossing and the staff were excellent. As I hadn't booked a return ticket ( I didn't pre-plan my return). I tried to phone head office to made a booking on the Sunday morning of my return trip. Phoned on five (5) occasions. Followed...More

Thank Stephen W
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communication Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Good Morning and thank you for your review. We are very sorry to hear that you didn't manage to get in touch with our reservations team. Sadly I don't know which number you have tried or at what time, but UK free phone 0800 130...More

Reviewed 30 August 2018

Really just a complaint (and a bit of a moan); Unhelpful rude staff. I was booked onto the 16:30 ferry with a flexible ticket. Myself and a few others were trying to get onto the 13:30 ferry having arrived early at 10:30. First time at...More

1  Thank Beavis_0
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service. Rest assured that this does not reflect our usual service standards. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we thrive to improve our products and services...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

I like travelling on this route as it beats the so called superfast Stenaline ferry hands down for the on off experience. Stena takes over 2.5 hours from loading to unloading a car. I also once got caught out badly on Stenaline by their WiFi...More

1  Thank FaircriticBelfast
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we thrive to improve our products and services continuously. Please do email our team at customer.services@poferries.com with details of...More

Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Travelled over on coach to football match on 23rd August. The boat is tiny and when busy you will struggle to find a seat! Anyway on the return journey, due to part of motorway being closed we arrived at Cairnryan for our return sailing(midnight sailing)...More

1  Thank wilko1978
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Good Morning, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're sorry to hear you feel this way. Check in automatically closes 30mins before departure for cars and 45mins for footpassengers. We have these cut off times in order to ensure that we...More

Reviewed 22 August 2018

We had been on a David Urquhart coach trip to the Republic of Ireland in May and had enjoyed it so much that we booked onto another one in July. One of things that we had enjoyed in our earlier trip was the ferry crossing...More

1  Thank Brucestewart
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Larne To Cairnryan, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2018

Hi Bruce, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We value your input as this helps us to improve and maintain a high standard for our customers. Please send an email with your points of improvements to customer.services@poferries.com and one of our team...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Curran Court Hotel
350 reviews
.70 km away
Ballygally Castle
1 676 reviews
7.02 km away
Dobbins Inn Hotel
342 reviews
14.79 km away
Premier Inn Carrickfergus Hotel
652 reviews
15.18 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 59 nearby restaurants
Silver Lounge
77 reviews
1.42 km away
Prom Cafe
70 reviews
.84 km away
Cafe Riva
132 reviews
.76 km away
Brooklyn Bay Diner
117 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 29 nearby attractions
Larne Visitor Information Centre
32 reviews
1.35 km away
Chaine Memorial Tower
44 reviews
.74 km away
Larne Museum & Arts Centre
31 reviews
1.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kevinod57
29 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Brucestewart | Reviewed this property |
As others have said there should be no problem whatsoever in travelling by ferry to Northern Ireland from the British mainland. Going south to the Republic of Ireland should not be a problem either as currently there are no... More
1
Vote
Bordersspagirl
23 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Antony W | Reviewed this property |
We tend to book in advance because our plans are fixed. However, I know from experience of talking to people on this route they often turn up and pay on the day. I imagine you need to be careful about peak season.
1
Vote
KimMac1
6 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from PANDO_Ferries | Property representative |
Hi KimMac1, Although planes are quicker, we think sailing breaks up your journey nicely. If you're driving a long way already, it's sometimes nice to relax for the evening whilst travelling. If you'd like to ask us anything... More
1
Vote