We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 07:00 - 21:00
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Drought took a toll of this golf course

I played on Sunday. I paid almost 800 rand for my golf- rental clubs and trolley rental included. I... read more

Reviewed 29 May 2018
Bill W
,
Monterey Park, California
Great course but currently in poor condition due to the drought

I have played Atlantic Beach more than 10 times in the last years. It is a great layout with... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Andreas S
,
Germany
Read all 101 reviews
62
All photos (62)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good31%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“pro shop”(4 reviews)
“halfway house”(3 reviews)
“links course”(3 reviews)
About
Opens in 22 min
Hours Today: 07:00 - 21:00
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
16°
Jul
16°
Aug
17°
Sep
Contact
1 Fairway Drive | Atlantic Beach Golf Estate, Melkbosstrand 7441, South Africa
Website
+27 21 553 2223
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
35
24
6
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
35
24
6
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspro shophalfway houselinks courseup markettable mountainwindy daysspectacular viewscape towngreat linksfairwaysspringbokestatebunkerscenerywildliferand
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have played Atlantic Beach more than 10 times in the last years. It is a great layout with beautiful views. Well worth the drive from CPT. Unfortunately it has been hit very hard by the drought. Some of the greens are in an ok...More

Thank Andreas S
Reviewed 29 May 2018

I played on Sunday. I paid almost 800 rand for my golf- rental clubs and trolley rental included. I will list some of the positives and negatives of this experience. Positives- 1. The tee time itself was not too expensive. 325 Rand is not bad...More

Thank Bill W
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Held my 50th birthday party in the main room at the Atlantic Beach Clubhouse. 80 people attended. Decor theme Great Gatsby (outsourced). Bowl food served (delicious), Service excellent. Haywire band and Kobus Nieuwoudt DjJ exceptional. Only positive feedback from guests.

Thank Gavin J
ABGC d, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Many thanks for your review Gavin, it was an absolute pleasure to host your birthday party here and we look forward to seeing you all again in the near future. Kind regards, The Atlantic Beach Team.

Reviewed 30 March 2018

Played this course today -30th March 2018. Due to the drought this course is not fit for purpose.The fairways are ruined and the green covered in sand, I have played the course in the past and found it very good with lovely views and excellent...More

1  Thank Vernon J
ABGC d, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Vernon, Many thanks for your review, the drought has indeed taken its toll on the course, we do however have a restoration program underway and have recently hollow tyned, re-seeded and dusted the greens which explains the sand you observed. We will continue with...More

Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

We ate here several times during our trip. Each time the food was really good. Limited seafood options. Their nightly specials are really good. They also have an excellent wine list. Staff is very attentive - great service. You don’t have to be a member...More

Thank Donna C
Stephan V, Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Donna, We appreciate your review and we hope you visit us again soon! Kind Regards, The Atlantic Beach Team

Reviewed 2 February 2018

what a wonderful time we had here...a most interesting golf course with the springbok wondering around...if you are senior , big discounts on a Tuesday....also, try and eat here in evenings..at 99 rand ...and double for 99 r. on Saturday's !!!....you cannot beat that...and the...More

Thank peejay030
Stephan V, Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Peejay! Thank you so much for your review, we appreciate it tremendously. We are so glad you had a wonderful visit and we hope you visit us again soon! Kind Regards, The Atlantic Beach Team

Reviewed 29 January 2018

Course is in very poor condition. Fairways are bare and large sheets of plastic to encourage grass growth litter the course making it look more like a tomato field. Took helicopter trip next day and saw plenty of lush fairways elsewhere so somehow others courses...More

Thank londoneagle
ABGC d, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Many thanks for your review, our course is a Links style course and typically has hard dry fairways however, we too have been affected by the water shortage. We have identified areas on some of the fairways that required re-grassing and have reseeded with a...More

Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

The course was in pretty poor condition with grass missing on large areas. Also the surrounding is quite dull with just about all houses painted in a dull grey color. Nothing to return to.More

Thank Rolf H
ABGC d, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Rolf Many thanks for your review, our course is Links style and as such we do typically have hard and dry fairways. However, recently we too have been affected by water shortages due to the province-wide drought. Where possible we are regrassing areas on...More

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Went to the clubhouse for a couple of drinks yesterday evening and unfortunately the waiter just seemed like he couldn't wait to get home and shut up. Would not return. Beautiful views though.

Thank AnnieMch
Stephan V, F&B Manager at Atlantic Beach Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Hi there, our restaurant closes at 8.30pm and the bar at 9.00pm. We hope that you would join us again soon and we do apologize for any inconvenience.

Reviewed 2 January 2018

We ate here twice whilst staying at a local guesthouse on a visit from the UK and I would highly recommend it. The views of Table Mountain across the golf course as the sun went down were stunning. There were also loads of springboks on...More

Thank Sc0utFinch
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
RobinsonRussell
27 December 2017|
Answer
Response from ABGC d | Property representative |
Hi Robinson, many thanks for your message. We have new Taylormade sets available for hire at R450 per round. We hope to see you in the near future and should you have any further queries or booking enquiries please feel... More
1
Vote