We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Shark Ventures

Features Animals
7 Kusweg | Corner Kusweg & Geelbek Str., Kleinbaai, Overstrand, South Africa
+27 21 532 0470
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
This is a tourists trap

They take you on a 15 minutes trip into the ocean, then pretend they care about getting close to... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Husam A
,
Amman, Jordan
via mobile
Poor video quality

The cage diving was fine, yet highly depending on group #. The second group was the luckiest. Also... read more

Reviewed 14 January 2018
Nikolay K
Read all 274 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
White Shark Ventures invites you cage diving with great white sharks in the aptly named "Shark Alley", near the fishing village of Gansbaai, South Africa. Due to various geographical reasons, water temperatures and easy access to food, this area has earned worldwide fame and recognition as the single most successful area to view the great white shark within a very shot period of time. In successful operation for 23 years, and established in 1992, White Shark Ventures were the founders and pioneers of shark cage diving in Gansbaai. Our tours are not only highly educational, but we also actively participate in documenting valuable research information on great white sharks, which is forwarded to Marine & Coastal Management Research and various Marine Biologists world-wide. Our directors and employees are passionate about conservation and rehabilitation of all wildlife species, more which can be seen on our website. Our company were the founders of the Great White Shark Protection Foundation, a body dedicated to the protection and preservation of the great white shark globally. Our tour includes; Luxurious return road transfers from Cape Town; Light breakfast and hot beverages offered upon arrival in Gansbaai; Snacks and drinks on-board; Educational information and safety briefing; Diving equipment and wet-suits available at no additional cost; Assisted cage diving for divers and snorkelers; Spectacular surface viewing for non divers; Hot lunch, beer and wine served upon return to shore; Stop over for land based whale watching in Hermanus (only when whales are spotted) Drop-off at Cape Town International Airport at no additional cost. (Upon request).
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good20%
  • Average8%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“dive master” (21 reviews)
“white shark” (34 reviews)
“cape town” (60 reviews)
LOCATION
7 Kusweg | Corner Kusweg & Geelbek Str., Kleinbaai, Overstrand, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 532 0470
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dive master"
in 21 reviews
"white shark"
in 34 reviews
"cape town"
in 60 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 10 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 14 reviews
"dropped off"
in 3 reviews
"within minutes"
in 9 reviews
"tuna"
in 5 reviews
"light breakfast"
in 8 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 12 reviews
"lasagna"
in 4 reviews
"hold your breath"
in 6 reviews
"minute boat ride"
in 3 reviews
"the upper deck"
in 4 reviews
"cold water"
in 7 reviews
"amazing creatures"
in 3 reviews
"adrenaline rush"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

They take you on a 15 minutes trip into the ocean, then pretend they care about getting close to the sharks. In the end we didn't see any sharks and they didn't have the slightest sense of regret. They refuse to give a refund! They...More

Thank Husam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

The cage diving was fine, yet highly depending on group #. The second group was the luckiest. Also: stay on the left of the cage, near the bait!! The video quality on the thumb drive was poor, and email requests left unanswered.More

Thank Nikolay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for your review. The quality of our video was good but not fantastic, due to the lighting on the day. This is something we cant do much about but it was still the exact same quality which was screened at our office, before...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

On our trip it was pretty bad visibility, we did see one shark, but not the great white,was also pretty small. We couldn't see shark while we were in cage, but we saw shark when we were on boat. It's pretty expensive experience so I...More

Thank JerryMoon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for your review. On our website and all our literature, we clearly state that we cannot 100% accurately predict the visibility at the diving area. It is only once we arrive at the diving site 10 km’s out at sea, that it is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

The ride to the Boat from Cape Town is long, as stated. It took 3+ hours both ways. The breakfast and lunch are decent in my opinion. We did not see any great whites on our trip and, therefore, we are obviously disappointed. This is...More

Thank Niki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for your review. On our website and all our literature, we clearly state that we cannot 100% accurately predict the visibility at the diving area. It is only once we arrive at the diving site 10 km’s out at sea, that it is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017 via mobile

First of all I did some research and I knew that when it comes to mother nature nothing is garanteed. But I think there are some things that these companies can control or adapt to. So, in our day the visibility conditions in the sea...More

Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

First of all we are truly happy that you had such a great tour and saw not only Great Whites, but also Bronze Whaler sharks on our tour. Unfortunately we cannot “control or adapt” to sea conditions and visibility as these are nature and out...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Great value! Extremely fair price for the quality of the day. Pick up and drop off, light brekky/snacks and a good size lunch afterwards. Since there was time I was able to go into the cage twice 🙂 bonus! Even when you're not in the...More

Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Any good reviews are most likely a result of white shark sightings. We did not see any white sharks at all. We took a chance and were unlucky. This is the nature of the excursion as nothing is guaranteed other than your transfer, meals, and...More

Thank chud1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
white-shark-diving, Manager at White Shark Ventures, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hi Chud Thanks for your review. All guests are aware that it is a long drive to and from the diving site. It is for this reason that we guarantee the latest and most luxurious busses available in the shark diving industry. Unfortunately we cannot...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Originally signed up for the hunting and breach tour but this one was cancelled due to the season. But I had a great time with white shark ventures, made two cage dives and saw 5 great whites. Enough time to interact and see the shark...More

Thank Christopher_U89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

AMAZING experience. Well-run, safe, professional. Saw the most amazing sights of my life and put a big checkmark on my bucket list. Saw three great whites that the guides kept interested for the couple hours that we were there. The food was just ok, but...More

Thank psmires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

What an amazing trip! Thanks to the whole crew from the booking to the guys cleaning up after us. Everything was organised great, we were well informed about safety and weather conditions and the chance of a no show on the sharks part but 5...More

Thank 345christellek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12345624
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Kleinbaai Hotels
Baleens
598 reviews
23.00 km away
Birkenhead House
438 reviews
23.83 km away
Harbour House Hotel
1 017 reviews
23.94 km away
Quarters Hermanus
238 reviews
24.01 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Kloeksathome
380 reviews
6.88 km away
Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant
634 reviews
3.99 km away
Blue Goose
476 reviews
3.91 km away
Coffee on the Rocks
295 reviews
6.86 km away
Nearby Attractions
Marine Dynamics
1 765 reviews
.23 km away
Supreme Sharks
170 reviews
.22 km away
Great White Shark Tours
998 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
mantababe
17 September 2017|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
99Garfield99
26 August 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jcarm270 | Reviewed this property |
did not use SCUBA because the visibility at the time of year we were there was only about 10-15ft and it was explained to us that the scuba bubbles tend to make the sharks really wary so they will not come in close to find... More
1
Vote