We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Genuine Fishing in Tenerife

Features Animals
Muelle Pesquero s/n | Kiosk No 6, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
+34 629 48 06 10
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great day.

Really good day out. Everything was provided and the crew were very helpful. I will be re booking... read more

Reviewed 21 August 2017
Connor J
via mobile
Great day fishing

We had a great day. The crew is very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We did not have luck with... read more

Reviewed 18 August 2017
pbode
,
Panama City, Panama
via mobile
Read all 351 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We offer a variety of ʻGenuineʻ fishing excursions from a half day 4 hour, or a full day 7 hour trip. On all trips we do a mixture of Game Fish Trolling & Bottom Fishing, approximately half time trolling and half time bottom fishing, depending on what is fishing the best at the time, we use a variety of artificial and dead bait lures on best quality PENN and SHIMANO tackle when trolling for Tunas, Marlin, Wahoo, Dorado, Amberjacks, Barracuda etc, depending on what is in season at the time. The bottom fishing we sometimes do 'Drift Fishingʻ but mostly at anchor, over a specific mark, either the edge of a shelf, or on a line of rock and sand or basically anywhere we see fish showing up on the fish finder screen directly under the boat, it is very precise and effective. We use a mixture of baits, whole fresh caught dead baits on the heavy tackle for Big bottom feeding Flatfish, Snappers, Morays, Amberjacks etc and any big sea bed scavenger species that often take a big bait. Also we use lighter tackle for small to medium fish, and catch the fresh baits for the big rods, like Mackerel,Boga, Herring etc and other good eating fish like Snapper, Sea Bream, Amberjacks, Sea Perch, Trigger fish etc using baited hooks, feathers, artificial baits, just off the sea bed bottom. We practice ‘Catch & Release’ on most fish and any protected species accidentally caught are returned back to the water alive, all Game Billfish like Blue Marlin, White Marlin & Spearfish are always released. We also offer 'Private Charters' and 'Specialist trips' at discounted prices where you can decide want you want to target, we will always advise you as to what is fishing best at the time, as we also want a productive trip. The British owners of the boat and their crew are all fishing enthusiasts with many years experience who know these waters like the back of their hand. We cater for the serious fishermen and are also very willing to teach the novice, set up all the tackle and bait and give any advice and help if needed. Run by Father & Son, Mick and Jack, the Crested Wave has a very well known and respected reputation as a Genuine Fishing excursion. If you are an experienced fisherman you will know nothing is guaranteed when it comes to fishing, but believe us, no boat crew tries harder than the Crested Wave team. We do guarantee you will be very well looked after by the 3 of us, and pride ourselves on our customer service, that is why we are in the top of the reviews and have many regular repeat customers, and is probably the most well known fishing charter boat in Tenerife. Everything is included in the price, no hidden charges! All equipment, tackle, 2 rods each, bait, cold soft drinks, water and beers (food on the 7 hour trip). Full toilet facilities and shade around the whole boat if required. Reservations are normally necessary a few days in advance, but you can always check with us at short notice in case of any cancellations.
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good9%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“crested wave” (129 reviews)
“tuna” (80 reviews)
“these guys” (28 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Muelle Pesquero s/n | Kiosk No 6, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
CONTACT
Website
+34 629 48 06 10

Similar Things to Do in Los Cristianos

Write a Review
Reviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

Really good day out. Everything was provided and the crew were very helpful. I will be re booking next time I'm in Tenerife.

Thank Connor J
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

We had a great day. The crew is very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We did not have luck with trolling but the skipper found us a good spot for bottom finishing, where we caught some big stingrays and someone also got a well sized jack....More

Thank pbode
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your taking a moment to leave your rating and review of us on our TripAdvisor page, we really appreciate it. Yep sometimes the trolling can be unproductive, but the bottom fishing generally tends to be a bit more consistent. That being said,...More

Reviewed 12 August 2017

My husband and I booked a mornings fishing with crested wave we arrived at 8.45 and met by Mick who showed us where the boat was. When we got to the boat we were greeted by Jack and his crew. We were each allocated a...More

Thank vanessa g
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Vanessa, Thank you for your detailed and kind comments, and of course your rating of 5, that's great! Me and my son Jack, have things pretty much of to a 'T' with our setup and Jack is very good at getting everybody sorted straight...More

Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Booked a half day fishing with family. A bit scared to be honest as we were unsure how the kids will react. The crew was helpful and engaged them straight away! Setting the hooks, asking about everything! They really enjoyed it! Unfortunately the fish decided...More

Thank Chris T
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Chris, Your review is very helpful as it addresses a common concern among people who are a 'Bit Scared' as you put it to join us on a fishing trip, especially those who have kids with them. We never go out in bad seas,...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We booked a half day fishing trip for myself and my boyfriend. We prepaid nearly a month before we came on holidays and we're very excited for the fishing trip with crested wave. Unfortunately we were very disappointed with the overall experience. We do a...More

Thank leona1000
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Leona, Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciate everybody's opinion. I know this reply is a bit slow in coming but I have been so busy the past month that today has been one of the 1st opportunities for...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017

Great day at the sea with various forms of fishing. Great crew that knows its buisiness, catching fish on rods they are made for (e.g. not bonito''s at marlin rods). Very flexable in changing material if the situation at sea asks for that). No Marlin...More

Thank John K
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear John, Thank you for adding your rating and opinion of us, very much appreciated. Me and my crew will always put serious thought into what way will fish on every individual trip, and discuss best lures, spread patterns, baits etc to suit what we...More

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Booked having seen great reviews on TA. Weather was good. Boat was clean and large enough. Not much communication from the crew...we were sailing along for ages and had no idea when we were gonna stop etc Tuna was caught...we sailed around for ages looking...More

Thank lucy j
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Lucy, Thank you for taking a moment to leave your review. Sorry you did not enjoy it so much, and even though this reply is a bit late (I have only got round to doing my TA replies today after being so busy for...More

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

My father & I had a great day out with Jack & his crew. Whilst we didn't get any Marlin we did have good fun on the skip jacks! We also had a visit from a friendly turtle and a big pod of dolphins. I...More

Thank marcg760
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Thank you very much for your review. Shame about the lack of Marlin, but they are an elusive fish, but I am glad you managed to catch some SkipJack tunas on the side and see some of the other marine wildlife which we all enjoy...More

Reviewed 20 July 2017

I had a fantastic 30th birthday. I can not thank Mick and his team enough, I didn't catch a marlin but I smashed my personal best weight and that is something to remember for an experienced match angler stepping out of his comfort zone. What...More

2  Thank Jonny H
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Jonny, Thank you very much for your great in depth review, and I apologize for not responding sooner as I have been so busy, just catching up today with my TripAdvisor page. Really pleased for you, and us, that you beat your personal best...More

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

We had a brilliant time on board the crew was very friendly and helpful The views of the dolphins for me was absolutely fantastic...also got to see a couple of turtles.. On board we also caught some fish and we were all kept fully supplied...More

Thank Graeme T
Mick W, Owner at Genuine Fishing in Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Graeme, That's nice to hear about the 'Father & Son time' which is as good a reason as any to go out on a trip, sharing some family time together! Yes the fishing is not the only part of the trip, often when we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Yim Siam Thai Food
336 reviews
.09 km away
Il Gelato del Mercato Los Cristianos
104 reviews
.07 km away
Restaurante El Cine
1 682 reviews
.02 km away
Restaurante Abordo
622 reviews
.04 km away
Nearby Attractions
Marine Walks, Port of Los Cristianos
799 reviews
.21 km away
Los Cristianos Harbour
2 187 reviews
.24 km away
Playa de Los Cristianos
350 reviews
.19 km away
Arona Beach Park
26 reviews
.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
nicola83griffiths
8 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Mick W | Property representative |
Hello Nicola, We have the following availability for the half day 4 hour as follows... The 26th July, 28th July, 31st July, 2nd August, 4th August and 7th August all leaving at 9.00am and 1.30pm If any of those dates and... More
1
Vote
Aarell
24 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Mick W | Property representative |
Hello Aarell, Sometimes we can arrange transport for our clients. It would be best for you to contact me direct via my website link on this TripAdvisor page and I will be able to send you more specific details with maps and... More
1
Vote
Blueturner
14 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mick W | Property representative |
We have different rates... 'Shared Party Charters' with other people on the boat is, 110€ per fisher and 55€ per spectator for the full day 7 hour trip, OR... 65€ per fisher and 33 per spectator for the half day 4 hour... More
1
Vote