We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Market

Closes in 5 min: 13:00 - 17:00
Open today: 13:00 - 17:00
Share
Review Highlights
Big Country at TOM

Great little venue hidden down a side street. Good bar on entry leads to the main hall, which also... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Darryl S
,
HORSHAM
via mobile
Lovely Theatre

We travelled up from Southampton for 'Old Stock' We had no idea what expect regarding the theatre... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
485suzanneo
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Read all 97 reviews
11
All photos (11)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good38%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“intimate gig”(3 reviews)
“small theatre”(3 reviews)
“nice bar”(4 reviews)
About
Welcome to The Old Market, Hove's independent, high quality live theatre and venue. In Brighton & Hove, The Old Market (or, as we like to call it, TOM) is the best place to see a show. Our diverse programme includes live music, great theatre and...more
Closes in 5 min
Hours Today: 13:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Contact
Upper Market St, Hove BN3 1AS, England
Website
+44 1273 201801
Call
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
51
37
4
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
51
37
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews intimate gig small theatre nice bar comfortable seats in house lovely venue friendly staff bar staff great night comedy tom bands auditorium stage cinderella arts programme
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 96 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Great little venue hidden down a side street. Good bar on entry leads to the main hall, which also had a bar. No Guinness, although there was an alternative. Plenty of draught lager and one draft IPA. Bottled ales, included Doombar. This was a standing...More

Thank Darryl S
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled up from Southampton for 'Old Stock' We had no idea what expect regarding the theatre or the show, but were delighted with our experience. The staff were friendly and the bar area very nice for a drink before and after the show. The...More

Thank 485suzanneo
TheOldMarket, Owner at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the lovely review, and for making the trip (that's a fair old distance to come!) I'm delighted you had a great experience and enjoyed the show. I'll pass on your kind words to the team here. Again, thank you for...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came to the Old Market to see Glasvegas, who didn’t disappoint! And nor did the venue. I’d had a back operation so couldn’t stand but the staff looked after me so well. Nothing was too much trouble. Wouldn’t hesitate to come here again.

Thank Louise G
TheOldMarket, Manager at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Louise, Thank you so much for the kind words! Glad to hear you had a great time, we can't wait to see you again soon. Mark - Team TOM PS - Glasvegas were AMAZING!

Reviewed 13 October 2018

Been here a couple of times t see bands and the acoustics are great, the feeling cosy and prices for entry always very good. I know lots more goes on here other than music but have only gigs to review.More

Thank Matthew P
TheOldMarket, Owner at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Matthew, Thank you for the lovely review, glad you've always had a good time at our gigs! We have all sorts going on including theatre, dance, film, comedy, tech and more - be great to see you again soon. Kind regards, Mark - Team...More

Reviewed 2 October 2018

Very homey feel to this great venue with a marvellous bar.I've never failed to have a good night out here!

Thank red_curtis_mutha
TheOldMarket, Owner at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again soon - Mark, Team TOM

Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Super close to my house but would still be brilliant even if I had to travel there. Has a fantastic selection of events at reasonable prices plus friendly bar and comfortable seats.

Thank alisonm721
TheOldMarket, Owner at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you Alison, such kind words! Hope to see you again soon! - Mark, Team TOM

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Visited here to see one of my favourite band secret affair. Lovely big hall so when full it wasn’t crowded just nice not all bunched up. There was a small bar in the hall and one near the entrance. Some staff didn’t really know what...More

Thank Mark D
TheOldMarket, Owner at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Hi Mark, Many thanks for your review, I'm glad you had a great evening with us! Thank you for your comments regarding the bar, we will investigate that further. As you mentioned, as we're in a residential area, we have some restrictions when it comes...More

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

At the cinema at The Old Market. Fabulous film. Convivial Bar. Friendly ambience. Interesting programme of art events. Good Hove location.

Thank jillianarb
TheOldMarket, Manager at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi Jilliana, Thank you so much for the lovely review, I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the film and the venue. Hopefully we'll be able to see you again soon! Mark - Team TOM

Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

My goodness strange venue and Bar very expensive but it’s theatre or basically a large hall. Odd mix of styles and seating outside. Seats uncomfortable and not enough bar staff!

Thank Ultimate007
TheOldMarket, Marketing Manager at The Old Market, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi there, Thank you for your review, really sorry to hear this. Would you be able to send us an email about when you visited and your visitor experience so that we can investigate further? - mark@theoldmarket.com Many thanks, Mark - Team TOM

Reviewed 22 January 2018

The Old Market has a great range of events; cultural/arts/entertainment. The staff are always friendly and helpful plus there's a nice bar that's worth going into whether you're going to an event or not. Worth visiting and looking out for their shows.

Thank WME01
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
2 119 reviews
.24 km away
The Brighton Hotel
1 485 reviews
.32 km away
Kings Hotel
1 887 reviews
.37 km away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
682 reviews
.45 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 336 nearby restaurants
The Little Fish Market
292 reviews
.03 km away
Archipelagos
822 reviews
.10 km away
Gingerman
1 028 reviews
.15 km away
Tropical Sushi
167 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 61 nearby attractions
The Bees Mouth
35 reviews
.10 km away
The Paris House
12 reviews
.13 km away
Brighton Bodyworks
11 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Hunbunhobbs
5 November 2015|
Answer
Response from TheOldMarket | Property representative |
Hello, There's one on North Street which is about a 15 minute walk away. Thanks, Rina
0
Votes
2222Sharon2222
9 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Ruth H | Reviewed this property |
The only gig advertised for the Easter weekend is Standby For Tape Back Up which is a show and tell performance using found video footage to extract a life story.
0
Votes