We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hook Lighthouse

Hook Head Lighthouse Hook Head | Hook Peninsula, Fethard On Sea, Ireland
+353 51 397 055
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10,74*
and up
Hook Lighthouse Entrance Ticket and Guided...
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good25%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“light house”(78 reviews)
“guided tour”(92 reviews)
“on the rocks”(32 reviews)
About
Hook Lighthouse, the oldest operational lighthouse in the world. 800 Years of lighthouse keeping. The Visitor center at Hook Lighthouse offers guided tours of the lighthouse tower, a 13th Century Norman structure, built by William Marshal, the Earl...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:30 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Hook Head Lighthouse Hook Head | Hook Peninsula, Fethard On Sea, Ireland
Website
+353 51 397 055
Write a ReviewReviews (1 158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"light house"
in 78 reviews
"guided tour"
in 92 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 32 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 87 reviews
"gift shop"
in 59 reviews
"green area"
in 13 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 19 reviews
"car ferry"
in 11 reviews
"on site"
in 27 reviews
"great history"
in 14 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 22 reviews
"sunny day"
in 20 reviews
"lots of history"
in 11 reviews
"great attraction"
in 13 reviews
"picnic tables"
in 14 reviews
"per adult"
in 11 reviews
"oldest operating"
in 12 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1 090 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The lighthouse is a terrific attraction. The guided tour brought out the history of the light and the monks who kept a fire during no matter the conditions. The guide was witty and engaging. The view was naturally brilliant

Thank MontOsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

Good parking, including marked disabled bays. Paths even, clean and dust free. The lighthouse is gorgeous, and you can touch it and climb to the top. Good picnic area and spectacular views. Shop is good value and well stocked. Cafe has a good menu and...More

Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

A cute lighthouse with beautiful views and a small little museum. The cafe proved a nice spot for lunch too. The chowder was delicious.

Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

We were here this past week. This was absolutely a breathtaking site! Although we couldn't go up in the lighthouse (as another tour was not for another 40 minutes) we were able to walk the grounds and even down onto the rocks. What a gorgeous...More

Thank srile72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying in faithleg got the ferry across nice drive beautiful setting tour every 30 minutes enjoyable

Thank Aa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In Wexford with the family for a few days, we came to see the Hook lighthouse. The place is very interesting, we had a great walk around the rocks, and we went to the cafe, where we were served by a lovely lady, who made...More

Thank enegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited the lighthouse site as part of a family trip. The site is quite picturesque and, coming from the Waterford side, there's the added bonus of a short ferry trip that got the kids excited. The lighthouse is at the end of a peninsula and...More

Thank gtm_2015j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Guide great with kids, very informative. It's the world's oldest operating lighthouse apparently! 800 years!

Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Love, love, love Hook Lighthouse. We loved our first visit to Hook and will definitely return. It is just stunning. Robbie does a great tour which the kids loved. Can’t wait to go back.

Thank Ally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very interesting tour given by a friendly guide who explained loads about the history behind the lighthouse and how families used to live inside the tower throughout the decades. The views from the balcony at the top were amazing and stretch forever. The setting is...More

Thank Marisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Fethard On Sea Hotels
The Three Sisters Inn
81 reviews
5.18 km away
The Haven Hotel
172 reviews
5.49 km away
Dunmore East Holiday Homes
3 reviews
6.17 km away
Dunbrody Country House Hotel
721 reviews
12.91 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Spinnaker Bar, Cafe & Restaurant
517 reviews
5.73 km away
The Lemon Tree Restaurant
150 reviews
5.74 km away
O'Sheas Fish & Chips
86 reviews
5.79 km away
Azzurro
276 reviews
5.54 km away
Nearby Attractions
Loftus Hall
645 reviews
3.02 km away
Dunmore Adventure
113 reviews
5.15 km away
The Spinnaker Bar and Restaurant
49 reviews
5.74 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
cristinavanni1
11 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Ellen D | Reviewed this property |
No unfortunately. You would need to take a taxi. Public transport is not available.
0
Votes
shazshev
15 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Helen W | Reviewed this property |
I cannot remember the cost but it did not stand out as expensive. My Mum Iin law changed her mind about the lighthouse tour because of the steps and her money was refunded without us even asking. Thère is lots of outside... More
0
Votes
Diane K
17 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from ShadeTreeMechanic | Reviewed this property |
I'd venture to say dogs would be fine. It's more or less a park. I believe I had seen someone when a dog there when I visited. The lighthouse is historic and the views are great. It's a small gift shop and Cafe. The rest is... More
2
Votes
;