We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hockey's Farm Shop

Features Animals
Hockeys Farm A338 | nr Fordingbridge Hampshire, South Gorley, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 2PW, England
+44 1425 652542
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great burgers!

A lovely place to spend an hour or so. The farm shop is wonderful and we enjoyed looking at the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
cjw0
,
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Great farm shop

Small but very charming farm shop. Large selection of local produce especially cheese and meat... read more

Reviewed 17 April 2018
nich8
,
Biggin Hill, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 99 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
All of the meat sold at the farm is very carefully sourced. We produce our own rare breed British Lop pork, our beef is produced by Andrew, our family friend in St. Ives, just outside Ringwood. We have lamb sourced from the Richard here in the New Forest or from Dorset. Paul is also in the New Forest, his bronze and white turkeys are excellent and available for Christmas. Nathan, our butcher, only sources meat that is fully traceable, free from unnatural additives and, of course, very good. Our sausages and burgers, all made here, contain no additives or preservatives. Our Farm Shop stocks every day provisions, fresh locally baked bread and pastries, newspapers, local fruit and vegetables, dairy produce, fish products and a well-chosen selection of wines and local beers and much more. `The Farmyard Café`, is licensed and serves Lavazza coffee along with tempting hot and cold snacks. You are welcome to wander around the farm to see our collection of rehomed domestic animals, our farm animals, the sheep, the British Lop pigs, the chickens and ducks and the birds in the aviary and of course, Nemo, our New Forest foal amongst others. We pride ourselves on supporting the local community and local producers whilst providing good service, a friendly approach and all that is traditional in a farm shop. We look forward to seeing you, either at the farm or when we deliver to you.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good26%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“sausage” (12 reviews)
“cake” (9 reviews)
“local produce” (6 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Hockeys Farm A338 | nr Fordingbridge Hampshire, South Gorley, New Forest, Fordingbridge SP6 2PW, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1425 652542
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sausage"
in 12 reviews
"cake"
in 9 reviews
"local produce"
in 6 reviews
"great selection"
in 4 reviews
"new forest"
in 12 reviews
"home made"
in 3 reviews
"friendly helpful staff"
in 3 reviews
"on site"
in 6 reviews
"small cafe"
in 2 reviews
"food was freshly cooked"
in 2 reviews
"tea room"
in 4 reviews
"lovely place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"keep up the good work"
in 2 reviews
"feel welcome"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 2 reviews
"value for money"
in 2 reviews
"farm shop"
in 37 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A lovely place to spend an hour or so. The farm shop is wonderful and we enjoyed looking at the animals and birds. Tasty food in the restaurant and fab cakes!

Thank cjw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura2277, Owner at Hockey's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you; our butcher Paul is making some fantastic rump and chuck burgers which are going down very well. Pauline’s Pantry cakes are extremely good too - we agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

Small but very charming farm shop. Large selection of local produce especially cheese and meat. Cafe on-site looked very inviting although we did not stop for food there. We liked the animals! Very well kept clean toilet facilities. Staff very helpful.

Thank nich8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura2277, Owner at Hockey's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We certainly hope to see you in our cafe on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Been to this tea room/café a couple of times over the past few months with friends after a dog walk. I really like it. Good good - it’s local, home made, fresh & made with love. And very good value too. Cosy - the decor...More

Thank Little_brown_cutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We visited this while on holiday having google for gluten and dairy free food shops. Unfortunately they had no fresh gluten free sausages as advertised so we had to buy frozen. These were not very nice and had a weird taste to them ??garlic??spices. The...More

Thank jop694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura2277, Owner at Hockey's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

I am sorry you did not enjoy our gluten free sausages; they are full of our rare breed Lop Pork hence their more meaty taste and are usually very well received. The call for them is not daily and unfortunately it would not be economical...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

A recent trip here was well worth seeking out. A friendly basic but clean café offering good food. I had a sausage bap which contained two rather small sausages in a humongous bap! I would have preferred a smaller bap (or bigger sausages) so that...More

Thank NigelRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Had spent the week visiting friends at the New Forest and we all decided to take in the attractions on offer in this beautiful part of the world. We stopped off at this delightful farm shop which was so 'self contained' and wonderful - it...More

1  Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura2277, Owner at Hockey's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you; we really appreciate all comments we receive - and especially the ones that show us our hard work and passion for good food is enjoyed by our customers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

A charming place with charming staff and lovely food. I have visited here with my partner Mel and my dog Spot many times - each time with the same result, It is just a very pleasant place to eat and chat and feel welcome.

2  Thank GKG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura2277, Owner at Hockey's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2018

Thank you; we are delighted you enjoy visiting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Today I came to the cafe and was expecting a lovely warming welcome .... that is far from what I received. We all had a hockey’s ‘hungry’ breakfast much to my disappointment I was more hungry when I left ! It was like they had...More

Thank Daisy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura2277, Owner at Hockey's Farm Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for comments; we value all feed back and always act upon it. I am so sorry your experience did not meet the standard we would expect to offered here at Hockey's Unfortunately as you did not say at the time we could not...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Came up today for breakfast and haven’t been more disappointed in my life paid £9.95 for a full breakfast only for it to turn up with half the stuff on it when they realised they made a mistake rushed to get the rest out in...More

Thank bobbyturner098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

Went in with large family, all ordered lunch. Great welcome, very friendly The Welsh rarebit was just outstanding Definitely recommend

1  Thank Kayleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all South Gorley Hotels
original white hart
270 reviews
6.48 km away
St. Leonards Hotel
742 reviews
9.39 km away
Burley Manor
475 reviews
10.00 km away
Moorhill House Hotel
772 reviews
10.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Three Lions
190 reviews
1.83 km away
The Churchill Arms
238 reviews
4.26 km away
The Augustus John
245 reviews
3.18 km away
Sticky Bun Tea Rooms
48 reviews
3.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Insight Activities
464 reviews
2.23 km away
Woodgreen Community Shop
14 reviews
6.30 km away
Ringwood Brewery
550 reviews
7.08 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hockey's Farm Shop staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;