We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Western Isles Cruises

Closed Now: 09:00 - 16:30
Open today: 09:00 - 16:30
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Fantastic crew on a lovely boat

Always a quirky experience, the crew are so helpful on the Knoydart ferry. We had SO much stuff as... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
samanthaanne89
,
Edinburgh
Whole family loved it

Friendly and knowledgeable crew made for a great trip. Saw seals, harbour porpoises and dolphins... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
woozlum
,
Bath, United Kingdom
Read all 205 reviews
194
All photos (194)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good10%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“wildlife cruise”(15 reviews)
“great trip”(19 reviews)
“minke whales”(9 reviews)
About
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 16:30
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
13°
10°
Sep
10°
Oct
Nov
Contact
The Pier, Mallaig PH41 4QD, Scotland
Website
+44 1687 462233
Call
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
167
20
4
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
167
20
4
1
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswildlife cruisegreat tripminke whalesthe jacobite steam trainhour cruiseboat tripsea birdssaw sealsfriendly crewon the rocksbaby sealsbooking officestaff were excellentshort cruiseseal colonygreat scenerylovely boat
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Always a quirky experience, the crew are so helpful on the Knoydart ferry. We had SO much stuff as we were staying in Knoydart for a week - bikes, food, clothes, guitar, dog!! But they were so so helpful and I couldn't reccomend going to...More

1  Thank samanthaanne89
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. I'm really pleased to hear that you felt our crew were very helpful to you and I hope you are able to sail with us again soon. Many Thanks, Joe.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly and knowledgeable crew made for a great trip. Saw seals, harbour porpoises and dolphins, but honestly would have been a thoroughly enjoyable hour or so even if we hadn't seen anything.

1  Thank woozlum
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to hear you had such an enjoyable trip. I hope you'll sail again with us sometime soon. Many thanks, Joe.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

4 of us did the 1hr wildlife cruise & it was great. We saw plenty of seals, birds & porpoises, thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed in mallaig for 4hrs & it was an extra thing to do after the Jacobite railway, I would recommend this...More

1  Thank KerryDavis140770
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your sail and saw such a variety of wildlife. I hope you will travel with us again sometime soon. Many thanks, Joe.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying near Mallaig and whilst looking on the internet I noticed that Western Isle Cruises held a 1 hour wildlife cruise. I emailed to check availability and whether we could take our dogs which were allowed we happily booked to go. We love...More

Thank Pamela L
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We welcome all feedback both positive and negative as it helps us understand our customers expectations. Firstly I'd like to affirm that customer safety is of paramount importance to us. We do not operate if conditions are dangerous. On the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This company runs the ferry to inverie and target daily. Does so well is a sound passenger boat. They'll take all your kit and shopping and parcels too. Good reliable service. We also went on a cruise in a rib with the company. Very charming...More

Thank docxerxes
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It's great to hear that you had a couple of sailings with us and enjoyed them both. I hope you'll travel with us again sometime soon. Many thanks, Joe.

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

It was a cold wet day, but we dressed in waterproofs and woolly hats in preparation. We all really enjoyed the exciting trip around this mainly uninhabited coastline and were thrilled to see so many seals up close. Unfortunately the dolphins and whales were not...More

3  Thank ukgirl1980
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear that you had such an exciting trip. I hope you'll travel with us again soon, hopefully the weather will be a wee bit nicer next time! Many thanks, Joe.

Reviewed 15 August 2018

True, it was a grey day, but a few seals and a gannet was the sum total of our brief wildlife tour. Underwhelming.More

1  Thank PeteLucy434
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with your trip. As you can see from our previous reviews we regularly see a wide variety of wildlife and even on damp days the scenery is...More

Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

£12 for an hour. We saw seals cormorants dolphins and a whale! Not bad for £12. And a very helpful and informative guide in the little shed and on the boat!! Thank you.

1  Thank gismothecat
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. It's great to hear that you saw such a lot of wildlife. I hope you'll sail with us again sometime soon! Many thanks, Joe.

Reviewed 8 August 2018

What we liked about this service is that they time a one-hour cruise to coincide with the amount of time one has in Mallaig between the Jacobite Steam train's arrival and its departure back to Ft. William. Everyone one is very prompt and getting tickets...More

Thank Kim B
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your kind review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your One Hour Wildlife Cruise. Although the weather wasn't great -'There's Always A Smile On The Western Isles'! Many Thanks, Joe.

Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

What an incredible experience for my son Oliver and I onboard Western Isles Big Dipper. We were made to feel so welcome and skipper Jane adopted Oliver as First Mate. He loved it. Stunning scenic trip to Tarbet and back. I have used Western Isles...More

Thank WMark444
Joeblower2263, Owner at Western Isles Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. It's great to hear such positive feedback. I'm glad that Oliver enjoyed his trip, I've been told that he was a first-class first-mate! We'll look forward to seeing you and Oliver next time you're up. Many Thanks, Joe.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
West Highland Hotel
699 reviews
.11 km away
The Marine Hotel
21 reviews
.21 km away
The Morar Hotel
213 reviews
3.85 km away
Cnoc-na-Faire
196 reviews
9.19 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 14 restaurants in Mallaig
Cornerstone Restaurant
760 reviews
.24 km away
Chlachain Inn Restaurant
678 reviews
.16 km away
The Steam Inn
724 reviews
.22 km away
The Mission Cafe
197 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 20 attractions in Mallaig
Minch Adventures
67 reviews
.26 km away
Caledonian MacBrayne
179 reviews
.44 km away
Circular Walk
96 reviews
.61 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
JinxPenny
13 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Joeblower2263 | Property representative |
Hi, you can buy your tickets online, over the phone or in our office on the pier. If you wanted to guarantee your places onboard I'd always advise pre-booking to avoid disappointment. Many thanks, Joe.
0
Votes
568Sarah2015
20 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Joeblower2263 | Property representative |
Yes absolutely we love dogs and they travel fee😊
2
Votes
Maureen H
29 August 2016|
Answer
Response from jackieban | Reviewed this property |
Hi you can book western isles on the pier. There are some nice places to eat in Mallaig.
0
Votes