We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

!Khwa ttu

Yzerfontein, South Africa
More
About !Khwa ttu
!Khwa ttu, the San Education and Culture Centre, 70 km north-west of Cape Town offers you the unique experience of being introduced to the world of the descendants of the first indigenous people of southern Africa. The San themselves will take you on a journey into their history, traditional knowledge, skills, languages, customs and current affairs. This enjoyable and eye-opening event will stay with you for a long time. Besides our San-guided tours, we present creative dishes in our cosy restaurant, unique San-produced items in our craft shop and the efficiency that goes along with our conference room. If you would like to stay at !Khwa ttu for a few days our guest house, bush camp and bush cottage provide appealing accommodation.The San are looking forward to welcoming you at !Khwa ttu!
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
See all hours
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by !Khwa ttu
432Reviews4Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 277
  • 109
  • 29
  • 5
  • 12
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kerynne E wrote a review 20 Jul
Cape Town, South Africa
Only spent one night in one of the semi-detached guesthouses with two 12-year old boys and we all loved it. Will definitely go back. Incredibly beautiful scenery, thoughtfully designed spaces with upmarket finishes. All staff were very helpful and informative. A huge bonus is that it's close to CT and is pet friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
cr7London wrote a review Jun 2021
London
+1
The exhibition centre is wonderful. The San were the First Peoples of Southern Africa. They were hunter/gatherers and the land was their home before the Khoekhoe pastoralists arrived and long before the dark skinned Bantu tribes migrated to the region or the white European explorers and settlers began to appear. The exhibition is split across three buildings and an outside area. You can learn about archaeological finds, way of life, language, beliefs, political and social history including the impact of colonialism and genocide. There are places you may sit and listen to San stories, watch short videos or you can listen to the sounds of the veld. Lunch was good too, some unusual dishes prepared with local ingredients. Everyone we met was very friendly. Didn’t have time to take one of the guided tours on offer.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
F2861ZJp wrote a review May 2021
Cape Town, South Africa
Our stay here was excellent. The wildlife in terms of birds visiting right next to our cabin and the outdoor shower was superb. The walk to the museum and restaurant was also superb, alongside the ostriches and eland and beautiful landscape. The museum was very good and so was the tracking tour. All staff were very enthusiastic about the place and it felt good that our money spent was going to uplifting a marginalised group of people. A special mention to the chef who carefully catered to our food allergies, nut and gluten. The one negative aspect was the one male tourguide who open berated women in front of the whole tour, saying women aren't fit to drive cars or do conservation work because they are stupid. He went on about this for a while to a mixed group of men and women. He did this in front of his female colleague on top of it. She was completely silent for the whole of the tour, and I am not surprised given how abusive her colleague is. I don't think this sort of attitude belongs in a place that is supposed to be uplifting people, when he is very clearly acting to undercut women in the institution. This made me feel unsure about whether this institution was to the benefit of mostly men who decended from San, rather than the women decendents of San as well. I wouldn't want to support such an institution. I hope this will be addressed as an institution where all staff get training because it is very odd that he feels unashamed to say such things publicly. It gives the feeling that this kind of behaviour is tolerated in the institution. The incident happened on the morning of Sunday the 16th May. I hope this overall very good project continues and the sexism within the institution is dealt with asap. It is a blight on an otherwise superb project.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MichaelDaiber, General Manager at !Khwa ttu
Responded 4 weeks ago
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good experience particularly in the museum and restaurant. We really also are happy that you appreciated our enthusiasm and of course our role in empowering the San in Southern Africa. It is with shock that we learn of your bad experience with the sexist tour guide. This is something that !Khwa ttu as a team would never support or approve. Gender equality is by default not an issue that our team normally struggles with. After reading your comments we have immediately followed this up and we have engaged in positive discussions. !Khwa ttu is a development organisation where we take time to learn from each other to improve our lives and our organisation. We would love to ask you to please contact us again and to be kind enough to engage with us on this matter, this would help us to understand more and to learn better from our mistakes. Thank you for your constructive observation and responsible response.
Read more
Excursion812201 wrote a review May 2021
We booked the place mainly because it is advertised as pet friendly. We stayed at the Bush House, which we really loved especially the outdoor bathroom. Our troubles started when the gas stove in our cottage did not work. We phoned for help but they were on voicemail, so we ate cold food. Also there's a fire place but no wood. It was freezing cold last weekend. We phoned again in the morning and managed to get through and we were promised help was on the way. After waiting for an hour with no help coming we decided to go to their restaurant before they closed for breakfast. To our shock, we were told to sit outside or leave the dogs outside as they are not allowed in the restaurant. It was cold and raining and besides we could not leave the dogs unattended. We opted to leave even though we had already been charged for the breakfast. Eventually we were told to go in but sit far away from other people. We were about to eat when one of my dogs barked and someone in the restaurant shouted "it's not supposed to be here any way!" That, was my que to leave. The whole experience was just horrible for us. Waste of time and money 😏
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: May 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Khwattu, General Manager at !Khwa ttu
Responded 02 Jun 2021
We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience. It is so, we are proudly pet friendly for well behaved animals. It is clear in our pet friendly policy that well behaved animals are welcome everywhere on the premise except inside the restaurant, This arrangement always works well and is much appreciated because we have such a large and cozy lawn and stoep where pet owners and their pets enjoy lunch or breakfast. Of course we understand that this is unpleasant when it is clod and rainy and on many occasions we have made special arrangements or bent the rules by offering guests with their well behaved dogs to discretely find a quiet corner with their animals. I am so sorry in your case this was not possible, your dog made the experience for others so unpleasant. The particular guest response was out of utter frustration and he raised his voice for all others who also had to suffer from your barking dog. This would not be expectable anywhere.
Read more
Nadia B wrote a review May 2021
The Khwa Ttu team is amazing. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food was delicious. The guesthouse room was very comfortable and clean. The only downside is that I stayed only for one night, so now I need to plan a trip back to stay longer and explore more of the area.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Date of experience: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456