We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre

Features Animals
78 Ballydrain Road, Comber BT23 6EA, Northern Ireland
+44 28 9187 4146
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Day out 😁

Brilliant, loved it, and how Hav I not been here before? Thought I’d visit today with the wife and... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
A TripAdvisor Member
via mobile
Will be visiting again

Had a great visit today with my parents and my 7 month old son. The cafe was lovely for lunch... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Roisin B
,
Skipton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 164 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good28%
  • Average7%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“duck” (11 reviews)
“zip line” (5 reviews)
“story telling” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
78 Ballydrain Road, Comber BT23 6EA, Northern Ireland
CONTACT
Website
+44 28 9187 4146
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"duck"
in 11 reviews
"zip line"
in 5 reviews
"story telling"
in 3 reviews
"amazing variety"
in 2 reviews
"santa experience"
in 3 reviews
"visited for the first time"
in 2 reviews
"lots of picnic tables"
in 2 reviews
"art gallery"
in 3 reviews
"fresh air"
in 4 reviews
"lovely visit"
in 2 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 7 reviews
"face painting"
in 2 reviews
"gorgeous place"
in 2 reviews
"lovely morning"
in 2 reviews
"information boards"
in 3 reviews
"soft play area"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 164 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
394
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Brilliant, loved it, and how Hav I not been here before? Thought I’d visit today with the wife and her 6 mth wee cousin 👶 Had lunch 1st, for a small cafe the lunch was spot on, tasty and plentiful. The seating area was clean...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great visit today with my parents and my 7 month old son. The cafe was lovely for lunch. Staff in both the visitor's centre and cafe were very friendly and helpful. The map showing the site is great and we loved feeding the...More

Thank Roisin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic place for a relaxed walk. I love feeding the ducks! They will take it straight out of your hands and you get to see all the types right up close. This is a real treasure of a place that deserves your visit and support!

Thank Lila01011871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Our little granddaughter really enjoyed her day out at Castle Espie seeing the wildlife and feeding the ducks and geese. We only went for an afternoon but a full day would be better giving plenty of time to see around and visit all the different...More

Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This,was an enjoyable day out for older and younger children. The enterance cost is quite steep st £8 an adult and over £5 a child. You can spend a day there. The outdoor playparks are really good kids had great fun. There are picnic tables...More

Thank justanordinarymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

castle espie very good visit let down by very poor slow service in resturant waited over 30 minuites for childrens meal of one toasted sandwich and one small bowl of chips better to bring picnic but wont let eat it in resturant

Thank ghostgamer8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
53
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

My family and I visited in January after a morning of walking round feeding the birds etc. We decided to come in and get a cuppa to warm up. We stood in a queue for quite a while, it seemed to never move. I noticed...More

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

I visited for the first time in February and it was just beautiful. The staff at the centre were lovely, chatted about what they do and upcoming events. We got a coffee to walk round and was so pleased they had soy milk (not everywhere...More

Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic day for my daughter's birthday.Laura was so helpful and friendly.She was so good at entertaining the children. Great venue would recommend . Thank youMore

Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, Marketing Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Karen C, Thanks for taking the time to submit your thoughts. I am so glad that you and the children enjoyed the birthday party. You may not believe it, but that was Laura's first ever birthday party, so she is over the moon with...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

I visit every time I go to Ireland - and it changes with the seasons. The staff are amazing and I also eat in the café. The café staff are brilliant and attentive. Fab place. Great place to experience wildlife and the birds!More

Thank fiona b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, Marketing Manager at WWT Castle Espie Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi Fiona B, Thanks for taking the time to send us your feed back - we are glad you enjoyed your time with us! I've passed this on to the Kingfisher Kitchen team, who work really hard to provide the best service possible. Your visit...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Comber Hotels
Strangford Arms Hotel
278 reviews
7.28 km away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
1 539 reviews
8.05 km away
Stormont Hotel
1 169 reviews
11.64 km away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
1 133 reviews
11.83 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
313 reviews
.97 km away
Balloo House Bistro
506 reviews
6.43 km away
Sugarcane Cafe Bistro
486 reviews
3.85 km away
Balloo House Restaurant
166 reviews
6.43 km away
Nearby Attractions
Nendrum Monastic Site
72 reviews
5.08 km away
Pure Day Spa
138 reviews
5.10 km away
Mount Stewart
817 reviews
6.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
hopehappy
9 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Got2eat | Reviewed this property |
No unfortunately dogs would frighten the ducks
1
Vote
Pr4da
31 October 2016|
Answer
Response from MMM3103 | Property representative |
Hi Pr4da - admission costs vary depending on age etc. - here is a list of all costs. The more expensive of each option is admission with gift aid, but that is not essential; Adult: £8.20 or £7.45 Concession (65... More
1
Vote
;