We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Studland Stables

Features Animals
Ferry Road, Studland Bay, Swanage BH19 3AQ, England
+44 1929 450273
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing beach ride!!

Fantastic beach ride. Brilliant weather great horses me and my friends had a great time highly... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
soliver1990
via mobile
Excellent

My children enjoyed a lovely walk on the heath today on Whiskey and Shay. Beautiful scenery, lovely... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
MJTJ74
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 282 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A friendly trekking centre, near the beach, on the Dorset coast. Great forward going rides for experienced riders and safe picturesque rides for beginners.
  • Excellent86%
  • Very good7%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“forest ride” (26 reviews)
“long canters” (18 reviews)
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
Ferry Road, Studland Bay, Swanage BH19 3AQ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1929 450273
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"forest ride"
in 26 reviews
"long canters"
in 18 reviews
"experienced riders"
in 17 reviews
"horse riding"
in 16 reviews
"fantastic ride"
in 8 reviews
"riding experience"
in 11 reviews
"riding ability"
in 10 reviews
"fantastic beach"
in 11 reviews
"hour beach ride"
in 7 reviews
"birthday surprise"
in 5 reviews
"walk trot"
in 4 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 9 reviews
"amazing weekend"
in 3 reviews
"felt safe at all times"
in 3 reviews
"old harry rocks"
in 17 reviews
"lucky with the weather"
in 3 reviews
"amazing views"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic beach ride. Brilliant weather great horses me and my friends had a great time highly recommend.

1  Thank soliver1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My children enjoyed a lovely walk on the heath today on Whiskey and Shay. Beautiful scenery, lovely horses. Talking to the children afterwards. They really enjoyed it but say they would have liked longer on the walk. Thank you.

Thank MJTJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Thank you to Jodie and her team. Myself and my daughter thoroughly enjoyed the beach ride two days ago. The yard is clearly well run and the horses and ponies well cared for and turned out. Jodie made the ride very relaxed but safe and...More

Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudlandTC, Manager at Studland Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You are very welcome, so pleased you enjoyed your ride. Thank you for your very kind words. We hope to see you both again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited from the USA to watch the Badminton Horse Trials in the Cotswolds and then headed south and stayed for a few more days to enjoy the Dorset coast. We picked Studland as a destination in part for the beach ride. Sight unseen from the...More

Thank mhulvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudlandTC, Manager at Studland Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your ride and our lovely horses!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

I have been riding since I was 4 and am now 27 and have for a very long time dreamt of riding on the beach. I have my own horse but he is rather quirky and won't travel etc and being too far from the...More

1  Thank 27Hobbit90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudlandTC, Manager at Studland Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you so much for this lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your ride, and we will give Basil an extra carrot for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

On 1st of March Siberian storm was in was no riding . They took the advance booking fee and not willing to refund it.More

3  Thank Erika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudlandTC, Manager at Studland Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Hi Erika. Due to the snow storm we did have to cancel the ride and I can confirm that your refund was issued this morning. In order to refund, we have to do it over the phone and the number provided for you kept going...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018

I think it's about time to leave a review on this place. We have been riding here for a couple of years, and have never had a dull moment. The staff are lovely and informative, and the horses are all very different and interested. The...More

Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudlandTC, Manager at Studland Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thanks Ellie!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Took my fiancé to Studlands for a birthday treat and believe me it did not disappoint. I've never been horse riding before and was rather apprehensive at start but as soon as we arrived I was put to rest by the fantastic staff at the...More

1  Thank ttrd60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudlandTC, Manager at Studland Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Thank you for the lovely review, it was a pleasure to take you and your fiance out on your ride and glad you enjoyed it. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

My husband came across Studland Stables when searching for a beach riding experience for my anniversary present. From the start the staff he spoke with and emailed were so helpful, they added my son to the experience with no problem. We arrived at the stables...More

1  Thank 660anig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudlandTC, Manager at Studland Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your ride and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and daughter spent four wonderful days where they took their horses and found the staff extremely friendly, helpful and professional. She has made a point of planning a second trip here next year! Highly recommended.

1  Thank Jeff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudlandTC, Manager at Studland Stables, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are looking forward to having them back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Studland Bay Hotels
The Pig on the Beach
1 217 reviews
.33 km away
Knoll House Hotel
434 reviews
.58 km away
The Pines Hotel
471 reviews
2.59 km away
Grand Hotel Swanage
1 029 reviews
2.81 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Pig on the beach
907 reviews
.32 km away
Joe's Cafe
160 reviews
.71 km away
Middle Beach Cafe
104 reviews
.35 km away
Knoll Beach
133 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Studland beach and Nature Reserve
1 059 reviews
.10 km away
Studland to Swanage Trail
39 reviews
.28 km away
Fore/Adventure
24 reviews
.35 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jane U
28 February 2017|
Answer
Response from Brian H | Reviewed this property |
I suggest you phone the stable, although prices are on the website. We pay £65 each for a two hour ride. They have three rides available, a forest ride, Old Harry rocks and the beach ride. The last two of these are weather... More
1
Vote
Rosey1982
28 January 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Elvira A | Reviewed this property |
They still have them, or at least did in October :) Enjoy your ride!
0
Votes
Stefaniiee' H
8 February 2015|
Answer
Response from StudlandTC | Property representative |
Hi Steph, Your enquiry has come through to our riding stables. Did you mean to send it to us?
0
Votes
;