We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

J F Polo Academy

Features Animals
Swinford Stables Nortons Lane | Norton's Lane, Great Barrow, Chester CH3 7JZ, England
+44 7946 424740
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Beach polo fun

I have been back so many times to the academy. Omg. It's so much fun. James looks after you so... read more

Reviewed 30 October 2017
Sheena C
via mobile
45 MINS CANCELLATION NOTICE

Extremely poor customer service...Be warned if you are booking a solo experience. We travelled 2... read more

Reviewed 24 June 2017
Lee D
via mobile
Read all 89 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The polo academy is offering outstanding tuition for all levels of rider and player, including absolute beginners with no riding experience wanting a 'taste' of one of the most glamorous, fast-paced and skillful sports in the world.
  • Excellent99%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed
Hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
Swinford Stables Nortons Lane | Norton's Lane, Great Barrow, Chester CH3 7JZ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 7946 424740
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"excellent facilities"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"polo academy"
in 12 reviews
"great instruction"
in 3 reviews
"riders"
in 12 reviews
"lesson"
in 38 reviews
"horses"
in 49 reviews
"instructor"
in 8 reviews
"instructions"
in 12 reviews
"fun"
in 23 reviews
"taught"
in 3 reviews
"chester"
in 4 reviews
"mallet"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

I have been back so many times to the academy. Omg. It's so much fun. James looks after you so well. And the horses are so highly trained. I have my favourite and he makes sure I get him! I just meet them at the...More

1  Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

Extremely poor customer service...Be warned if you are booking a solo experience. We travelled 2 hours to get to Chester and our experience was cancelled 45 mins prior to our start time...NOT ACCEPTABLE JF! 2 weeks on and I am yet to receive a refund...NOT...More

1  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesfpolo, Owner at J F Polo Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2017

I'm afraid we cannot control the weather conditions. The forecast was good but the actual weather was terrible so we had to cancel. A full refund was issued once bank details were finally provided. Apologies for the inconvenience and your comments have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017

I have been giving thought to having a go at Polo for quite some time as the game really appealed to me. However, having never ridden a horse in my life, I kept putting it off. My initial conversation with James really put me at...More

1  Thank tssam2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

From a fun insight into the sport to refining your skill set at a high level this is a great place. I have enjoyed going there many times both to play and also to make the most of James' talent for choosing and making polo...More

1  Thank cuppateaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Awesome. Was looked after every moment. Food , entertainment and polo all sorted. Best holiday of my life 👌

1  Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

I tried one session of polo with James and even though I'd never ridden properly before, I was hooked. I've had a number of lessons with James and he's really brought me on. The horses are beautifully turned out and he matches the horse and...More

1  Thank Sara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

Having ridden a little in the past, and with friends playing polo, i decided to take a few lessons at JP Polo Academy James was patient and supportive and always happy to explain and reiterate what I needed to do in a constructive way -...More

1  Thank Scott831890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Definitely recommended whether you're a complete beginner or experienced! James was a caring and professional instructor!

1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Went for a lesson, having not ridden in years, and had a fantastic experience. James was very attentive, knows the sport inside out, and was incredibly professional. Would definitely recommend, and will be coming back!

1  Thank Alice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

We have a very happy hen after our visit to J F Academy!!! Thanks James, very professional and great ponies!

1  Thank DCP1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Great Barrow Hotels
Days Inn Chester East
207 reviews
4.19 km away
George & Dragon Hotel, Tarvin
80 reviews
4.28 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
441 reviews
4.66 km away
Heathercliffe Country House Hotel
37 reviews
5.04 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Wheatsheaf Inn
151 reviews
2.19 km away
The Bluebell Cafe at Barrowmore
432 reviews
2.46 km away
The Goshawk
594 reviews
2.64 km away
The Hornsmill at Helsby
1 534 reviews
2.92 km away
Nearby Attractions
Tarvin Sands
48 reviews
3.88 km away
Helsby Hill
26 reviews
4.24 km away
Hayrack Church Farm
76 reviews
5.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from J F Polo Academy staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
;