We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dolphin Swim Australia

Features Animals
| Dock C, d'Albora Marinas, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
+61 1300 721 358
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
wet and fun

The weather was not too good that afternoon. Quite gloomy. However we did have fun strolling and... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Nordinayahya
,
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Great Fun

We had so much fun here it was non stop and we could have stayed so much longer, everything was so... read more

Reviewed 31 May 2018
BobDuckworth
,
Leeds, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 319 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Want to swim with dolphins?? Come with us and we'll make sure you leave with a clear conscience! Dolphin Swim Australia offers the FIRST and ONLY permitted WILD DOLPHIN SWIM in New South Wales, Australia!! Become a part of the pod in the dolphins' own environment and witness true dolphin behaviour! This is a thrilling bucket list experience that you don't want to miss :-)!!
  • Excellent95%
  • Very good3%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“wild dolphins” (44 reviews)
“bucket list” (26 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
| Dock C, d'Albora Marinas, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
CONTACT
Website
+61 1300 721 358
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"wild dolphins"
in 44 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 25 reviews
"bucket list"
in 26 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 28 reviews
"natural environment"
in 20 reviews
"love dolphins"
in 9 reviews
"early start"
in 7 reviews
"wet suits"
in 5 reviews
"dolphin experience"
in 8 reviews
"sea world"
in 4 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 4 reviews
"life changing"
in 4 reviews
"every step of the way"
in 5 reviews
"pure magic"
in 3 reviews
"sea sick pills"
in 3 reviews
"split into groups"
in 3 reviews
"sea water"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The weather was not too good that afternoon. Quite gloomy. However we did have fun strolling and searching for the dolphin. Unfortunately we can only see one dolphin swimming near the boat. So sad. But the seagull keep us companyMore

Thank Nordinayahya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Nordinayahya! Thank you for leaving a review, however it appears it was meant for another company in Port Stephens. Our primary activity is swimming with wild dolphins and this takes place OUTSIDE the bay and in the open ocean. Your activity was a dolphin...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We had so much fun here it was non stop and we could have stayed so much longer, everything was so enjoyable highly recommmeded

Thank BobDuckworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi Bob! Thank you so much for the 5 stars and for taking the time to leave a review - it's very much appreciated! Glad you had so much fun and a great experience! Hope to see you again one day! Kind regards Lesley :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

This was an incredible experience. To be in the water with the dolphins playing freely around us was something I never imagined possible. Fabulous! Lesley and Andrew and their crew clearly love the dolphins and their environment and share in a very supportive way. I'd...More

Thank Debbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi Debbi! Thank you so much for the 5 star and for taking the time to leave a review :-). I'm so happy you were able to come and join us for a wild dolphin swim! It was a fantastic morning for our end of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2018

We had an awesome experience swimming with the dolphins, the entire team were very experienced and attentive creating an awesome and exciting atmosphere. Highly recommend this activity if you want a very unique experience of swimming with the dolphins in their natural environment.....they swim all...More

Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Hi Melanie! Thank you so much for the 5 stars and for taking the time to leave a review for DSA - it's very much appreciated :-)! We're so glad you and David were able to join us for the last wild dolphin swim tour...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

It was absolut amazing. So many Dolphins also with Babys. And we had the chance to swim 3 times. The crew was awesome. Very friendly and helpful. The Best experience i've ever had. Next time i come to australia i will do it safe again.More

Thank _maholz1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2018

Hello! Thank you for the wonderful review! So glad you had such a great experience and were able to see babies as well - they're sssoooo cute!! We look forward to seeing you again! Make sure you contact us before you book, as we offer...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

I recently went on the wild dolphin swim as part of a birthday surprise for my hubby. It was a truly awesome experience. We were all watching the waves, waiting and hoping and suddenly there were 100s and 100s of dolphins coming to play with...More

1  Thank RGtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fabulous review! It is a truly humbling experience seeing - and, particularly, being in the water with - so many dolphins. Many of our guests are moved to tears by the experience...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

It was A-MAZING, MAGICAL, PERFECT, we have enjoyed it sooo much! Thank you so much to the amazing crew for making this experience so incredible! We saw sooo many dolphins, the captain said they were between 100 and 200, just unbelievable! And there was a...More

1  Thank Typhainebou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Hello Typhaine!! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fabulous review!! It was wonderful to meet you and Vincent and to share this amazing experience with you both :-). Thank you for your many kind words and for explaining so...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

I swam with many dolphins all over the world and this experience is by far the best. I can highly recommend it. I have been twice and cannot wait to go again. If I could I would be there every weekend. The staff are extremely...More

4  Thank Anneke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hello Anneke! Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a review for DSA :-). I'm so glad Olivia 'introduced' you to our wild dolphins swim and that you want to come again and again - I understand how addictive the dolphins...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

The dolphin swim experience was one of the most rewarding and incredible things I have ever done! The moment you get on board at 5am the crew are so welcoming and friendly, they really lift the spirit of the whole group. The organisation of the...More

Thank soph_t93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley D, Swim Assistant / Marketing Manager at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Sophia! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review! It was wonderful to meet you and Hannah on Sunday and take you out to swim with the dolphins - what a great couple of swims you guys had!!...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

wife said she wanted to swim with dolphins so that's what she did in the wild not in a captive manner like she showed me she wanted. never throught i would see a smile that big on her face again after a battle with cancer,not...More

Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Owner at Dolphin Swim Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Dear Andrew, My career swimming with dolphins began with a dream, literally. One I followed and it began with taking people, families, children who were living with illness, disease and uncertainty to meet with and swim with dolphins. I simply loved the way we all...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Nelson Bay
Nelson Towers Motel
77 reviews
.21 km away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
226 reviews
.26 km away
Hotel Nelson (Formerly The Nelson Resort)
604 reviews
.33 km away
Port Stephens Motel
105 reviews
.41 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Little Nel Cafe
783 reviews
.31 km away
Sandpipers Restaurant
702 reviews
.30 km away
Nice Cafe
540 reviews
.22 km away
Nigronis
317 reviews
.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fly Point
141 reviews
.60 km away
D'Albora Marinas
436 reviews
.08 km away
Splash Waterpark
13 reviews
.20 km away
Little Beach Reserve
5 reviews
1.43 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Megan L
12 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Andrew P | Property representative |
Thanks to my friends:) I think you have your answer. Full training on board. However, a little practice goes a long way. I have another friend coming on next weekend with a young child. I suggest grabbing a mask and snorkel... More
0
Votes
Jill1968
8 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Andrew P | Property representative |
Hi Jill, We are generally within a 10 nautical mile radius of the heads of Port Stephens and yes, we are in open water. Even on a relatively calm day our boat moves and if you are susceptible to motion sickness, we suggest... More
1
Vote
Den H
3 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Andrew P | Property representative |
HI Den, We do ask if you are over 100kg (female) 110kg ( male) that you contact us first to discuss. Weight falls into two categories Workplace health and Safety e.g our Dive Masters can only lift safely a certain weight... More
0
Votes