We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cornish Riding Holidays

Features Animals
Wheal Buller Riding School Buller Hill | Buller Hill, Redruth TR16 6SS, England
+44 1209 211852
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Riding weekend holiday

Seven of us stayed here for a weekend of riding and had a lovely time. On arrival, we were warmly... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
macy-traveller
,
Sussex
Day ride and side saddle

I visited the stables over the Easter weekend and had a private first ever side saddle lesson and a... read more

Reviewed 4 April 2018
SJ1500
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
Read all 98 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Riding Lessons, in dressage, side saddle, showjumping and cross country.Hacking around Carn Brea Castle and along the World Heritage Site of the Mineral Tramways.Riding Holidays for unaccompanied children and families during school holidays and adults during term time. Association of British Riding School, Ofsted, Quality Tourism and Club Mark Approved. All our staff are qualified, CRB checked and 1st Aid trained. All ages and abilities welcome. Shortlisted for Cornwall Tourism Awards for 2012.
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good5%
  • Average2%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“wheal buller” (46 reviews)
“cross country” (19 reviews)
“hour hack” (6 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 20:00
LOCATION
Wheal Buller Riding School Buller Hill | Buller Hill, Redruth TR16 6SS, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1209 211852
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wheal buller"
in 46 reviews
"cross country"
in 19 reviews
"hour hack"
in 6 reviews
"off road"
in 6 reviews
"lead rein"
in 3 reviews
"a great week"
in 4 reviews
"private lesson"
in 2 reviews
"wonderful horses"
in 4 reviews
"cornish countryside"
in 3 reviews
"indoor school"
in 2 reviews
"an experienced rider"
in 2 reviews
"my daughter"
in 7 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 3 reviews
"couldn't fault"
in 2 reviews
"few months"
in 2 reviews
"hacking"
in 25 reviews
"hacks"
in 23 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Seven of us stayed here for a weekend of riding and had a lovely time. On arrival, we were warmly welcomed and asked if we wanted to try side saddle, western and bareback riding as we had time before our assessment and day ride. This...More

Thank macy-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review I will pass on your comments to my staff, which will be very much appreciated. I was very surprised that you felt Kayleigh didn’t know the way and lacked experience. We sent Kayleigh with you on the day ride...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I visited the stables over the Easter weekend and had a private first ever side saddle lesson and a five hour day ride. I am an experienced rider. I enjoyed the side saddle experience and was made to feel very comfortable given I had never...More

Thank SJ1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thank you, it was lovely meeting you. Hope to see you again next time you are down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

My granddaughter, 7, and myself, 52 and not ridden for 30 years, decided to have a riding lesson here. We were warmly met and questioned thoroughly about our ability. We filled in the relevant paperwork- nothing i have ever had to do at a stable...More

1  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you so much for your response, I am glad your experience was such a positive one. I will pass on to the staff what you have said. Hope to see you again. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

I'm still living off the memories of a wonderful 3-day riding holiday in January. The horses were so happy, healthy and interested in life, and the staff were all friendly, accommodating, patient (I was very rusty) and fun. I couldn't stop smiling. I've never had...More

Thank Ayam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Thank you so much for your review. Josephine is is very happy and sends her love. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We went here for a holiday hack, on the phone I made it clear that most of our party were non-riders. However when we turned up we were only given one leader between two horses. The girls taking us out were young and when it...More

Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

I am so sorry to hear you did not enjoy your hack, this as you can see from previous reviews is very unusual and I wished you had expressed your disappointment and concerns at the time then hopefully we could have rectified the matter. Please...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Organising a hack with this business took so much hard work I felt like I was doing THEM a favour. I called, speaking to a girl who seemed she had no clue what she was talking about. I emailed confirming I had a booking as...More

Thank Heather-Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

You contacted me on the Thursday by email, I replied to all 3 emails on that day, the reason I asked for your weights etc., was because it was evening, I don't live at the yard so I didn't have the diary in front of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

My daughter stayed here for one week in October and thoroughly enjoyed herself, lots of adventures and new things to try out, especially taking the horses swimming and riding along the beach.

Thank Vikki6130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback, the girls were lovely and we had a great week. Look forward to seeing them again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Excellent experience, three of our party went on a hack on very well behaved horses that were allocated according to experience. It was so good we returned the following day for a private lesson that proved to be equally fantastic with a really positive and...More

Thank 123AAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

Sorry, Trip Advisor are no longer notifying me when a review is posted, so I was unaware of your review and that is why I have taken so long to reply. Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write this review it is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We went on a 2 hour morning ride and it wasn't very organised, we weren't sure who we were riding out with as there was a swimming with horses group leaving at the same time and even though we said we were novices and didn't...More

Thank Indius18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

I am so pleased you enjoyed your hack and encountered no problems despite the foul weather, I think it is fair to say we have some of the best hacking in Cornwall. Your girth was tightened and checked in the yard by a member of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

I honestly don't know where to begin... I have been riding at this riding school since I was 13/14 and wouldn't change for the world. When I first went to Cornish riding holidays at 13 I could ride but not very well due to an...More

Thank Laurg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetalison, Owner at Cornish Riding Holidays, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Thank you so much for your glowing review. I am pleased you are still enjoying your riding and I hope you continue to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Redruth Hotels
Penventon Park Hotel
1 342 reviews
2.18 km away
Aviary Court Hotel
59 reviews
5.00 km away
Tyacks Hotel
271 reviews
5.25 km away
John Francis Basset Hotel
474 reviews
5.27 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Lanner Inn
5 reviews
1.76 km away
Carn Brea Castle
264 reviews
1.55 km away
Morrish's Fish Restaurant
323 reviews
1.36 km away
Home Ground Coffee Shop
32 reviews
2.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
East Pool Mine
110 reviews
3.11 km away
Heartlands
214 reviews
3.37 km away
JUMP 4 Trampoline Park
70 reviews
2.68 km away
Crowdy Reservoir
19 reviews
3.47 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
AngieGem
24 January 2016|
Answer
Response from janetalison | Property representative |
We no longer provide accommodation for adults for children it is 4 to a room with en -suite facilities. Aults stay mat local B&B's and cottages all within easy walking distance.
0
Votes
;