We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Walled Gardens of Cannington

Church Street, Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HA, England
+44 1278 655042
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely visit!

Didn't know what to expect and was not disappointed. The gardens are split based on the previous... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JackCotterill
,
Dudley, United Kingdom
Nice gardens, but a bit tired

Very nice setting in walled garden of Bridgwater Collage but a bit tired (maybe because of hot... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Maurice S
,
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Read all 159 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located in the village of Cannington, Somerset, the Walled Gardens lie within the grounds of a medieval priory and many of its fine buildings, including the walls of the garden, remain. Having undergone extensive redevelopment, the gardens were officially opened by HRH the Earl of Wessex, Prince Edward in 2009 and have also been accredited as a ‘quality assured visitor attraction' by VisitEngland. The gardens are also a Royal Horticultural Society (RHS) recommended garden. The gardens have classic and contemporary features such as; the 'hot' herbaceous border; the blue garden; a sub-tropical walk; and a Victorian style fernery, amongst others. There is also a botanical glasshouse where arid, sub-tropical and tropical plants can be seen and two smaller gardens within the walls (The Bishop's and Australasian Gardens) are areas of real tranquility.
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good36%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“tea room” (21 reviews)
“lovely garden” (9 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Church Street, Cannington, Bridgwater TA5 2HA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1278 655042
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 20 reviews
"tea room"
in 21 reviews
"lovely garden"
in 9 reviews
"car park"
in 14 reviews
"cakes"
in 11 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 8 reviews
"tucked away"
in 4 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 9 reviews
"light lunch"
in 3 reviews
"limited menu"
in 3 reviews
"gift shop"
in 7 reviews
"plant sales area"
in 7 reviews
"spring and summer"
in 2 reviews
"cream tea"
in 4 reviews
"hot house"
in 6 reviews
"lovely visit"
in 3 reviews
"no charge"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Didn't know what to expect and was not disappointed. The gardens are split based on the previous monastery gardens adjacent to the site. There is lots of interest, including the study greenhouses which are fascinating. The gardens are well kept and the tearoom friendly. Well...More

Thank JackCotterill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater C, Admin at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. So pleased you enjoyed your visit, do come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice setting in walled garden of Bridgwater Collage but a bit tired (maybe because of hot weather) good selection of cacti in glasshouse. Rear plant show on in garden which had some wonderful plants to purchase but the rain came and shortened the tour,...More

Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a sandwich and coffee in the cafe and this was tasty and reasonably priced. The gardens were lovely and the little shop had some nice little bits to buy.

Thank 2Nelsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

These gardens have seen better days, but one can sympathise because they belong to a college which has moved, and they must need a lot of expensive upkeep! Never mind, the entry fee is no more than one would pay for a garden opening as...More

Thank judybuckley1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater C, Admin Assistant at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your review and taking the time to give us useful feedback. I will pass your comments on to a member of the team at the Walled Gardens. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hot house full of interesting specimens, especially the cacti which looks like a spider hanging over one's head! Couple of areas of gardens being updated, lots of lovely colour and planting combinations. Has a tea room and plant nursery attached.

Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in briefly on a Friday and spent longer than we had intended. The parking was fine and the gardens are flat and can be easily managed by the less mobile. They are not huge but there are many little paths and areas to...More

Thank Pengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We got the tip from our friends. The garden has a rich variety of flowers and herbs. Aldo an Australian very interesting part. Nice teagardem!

Thank NinniSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We have visited these gardens often but were saddened when we recently took some visitors to see so much apparent neglect. This is supposed to be a college that teaches horticulture but on the evidence of many diseased plants and vast numbers of weeds perhaps...More

1  Thank quantockm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater C, Admin at the Walled Gardens at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your review and taking the time to give us some useful feedback. I will pass your comments on to the team at the gardens and the teaching team in the college. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We went (3 people, 1 in a wheelchair & 3 dogs), wondering if we would be able to get round. The staff couldnt have been nicer, came out and opened a side gate when they saw we had a wheelchair, made sure there was water...More

1  Thank LeekLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater C, Public Relations Manager at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for visiting us, so glad you enjoyed your day. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

This is a great garden with lots of interesting features and information some unusual plants too. Being a horticulture college it has examples of hydroponics and aquaponics(plants grown using mist only). It also has a cute little tearoom with a limited menu but all very...More

1  Thank Bladefire929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater C, Admin at the Walled Gardens at Walled Gardens of Cannington, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for your review. So glad you enjoyed your visit. Come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Cannington Hotels
Apple Tree Hotel
132 reviews
3.59 km away
Premier Inn Bridgwater Hotel
522 reviews
4.93 km away
Admirals Table
285 reviews
5.38 km away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
221 reviews
6.92 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Malt Shovel
76 reviews
1.48 km away
Memsaab
84 reviews
.20 km away
Globe Inn
16 reviews
.15 km away
Blackmore Farm Cafe
48 reviews
1.19 km away
Nearby Attractions
Black Rock Outdoors
13 reviews
5.15 km away
Coleridge Cottage
187 reviews
6.69 km away
Oatley Vineyard
25 reviews
2.55 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Karen S
10 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Bridgwater C | Property representative |
Hello, Admission is £5.95 per adult. However, entrance to the tea room and shop is free.
0
Votes
Sarah R
14 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Bridgwater C | Property representative |
Hi, dogs are more than welcome to visit the gardens and tearooms. We do ask that that they remain on a lead at all times and that consideration is given to other customers in the tearoom. We are now open seven days a week... More
0
Votes