We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Royal Air Force (RAF) Museum Cosford

Closed Now: 10:00 - 16:00
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
1st visit

This was our first visit to the museum and you cannot beat it , pay on the car park £4 for 3 hrs... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
siggy09
,
St Austell, United Kingdom
via mobile
Day out.

Free admission. Pay to park but it's worth it. Clean and very modern buildings and Hangars. Staff... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
317roseb
,
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 2 306 reviews
1 751
All photos (1 751)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good16%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“cold war”(400 reviews)
“free entry”(220 reviews)
About
The Royal Air Force Museum Cosford is located in Shropshire and offers a fun, entertaining day out for all the family. Housed in wartime hangars and in the National Cold War Exhibition, there is a huge display of aircraft and exhibits to explore.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Shifnal TF11 8UP, England
Website
+44 1902 376200
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (2 306)
Filter reviews
2 277 results
Traveller rating
1 855
368
36
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1 855
368
36
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cold war free entry interactive displays all ages car park parking charge on display small charge well worth a visit world war three hours v bombers few hours rainy day red arrows great place to visit great family day
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2 277 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This was our first visit to the museum and you cannot beat it , pay on the car park £4 for 3 hrs , £5 there after. Free entry ( which is brilliant ) , plenty for kids to do and amount of aircraft is...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank siggy09
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Free admission. Pay to park but it's worth it. Clean and very modern buildings and Hangars. Staff helpful. Nice cafe and shops. 4d experience and simulator (charge).Spent 3 plus hours looking at / reading all the info.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 317roseb
Reviewed 4 days ago

Six of us visited this museum and were very impressed with the displays. It was great to see so many iconic ‘planes in one place. I couldn’t believe how flimsy some of the oldest models were! I don’t think I would have ventured into the...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Gail W
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

First ever visit to area. Always been interested in planes so thought I'd pay a visit. Covering all of the bases history. World war 2 planes,cold war, to modern fighter jets & tanks. My favourite was WW2 spitfire,hurricane,mesershmitt 109,262. Drink & food outlets reasonable prices...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank WesternJohn
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Been visiting this museum for over thirty years and it just keeps getting better, two aircraft museums in seven days 5,000 miles apart in more than one way. Endless streams of test, historic and cold war aircraft. The WW2 selection is breathtakingly complete. Free entry...More

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank j0hnhill
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Free to all apart from parking. Grwat place with so many planes. Plenty to see in doors so doesn't matter about the weather

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank 990emmaj
Reviewed 6 days ago

A superb museum... well worth a visit! It is advisable to allow plenty of time for your visit as there is so much to see. You will not be disappointed if you have any interest in aviation. Admission is free, and the car parking charge...More

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Simon C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Impressive museum, well worth the visit, even with under 5s. Plenty of variety, high quality displays, impressive interactive section for children and adults alike. With only parking to pay, at a reasonable rate, very good value too.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank TheSillyIsles
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very good day out. Entrance is free and the car parking is reasonably charged. We managed to spend a full day for my son's birthday and we had children with us from age 7 to 12 who all loved it

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Christine W
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice museum, lots of planes and vehicles, I specifically liked the famous WW2 era Defiant, Spitfire, Hurricane, Mosquito, Lancaster as well as the only surviving Japanese KI-100 and a great collection of the Germans: JU-52, JU-88, ME-109, FW-190 and a very rare ME-410, ME-163...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Swintooh
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 nearby hotels
Park House Hotel
692 reviews
4.30 km away
Haughton Hall
874 reviews
5.48 km away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
764 reviews
5.77 km away
Days Inn Telford Ironbridge M54
357 reviews
6.68 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 34 nearby restaurants
The Bell Inn
465 reviews
2.88 km away
Platform Ale House
27 reviews
3.30 km away
Horns of Boningale
322 reviews
4.04 km away
Albrighton Balti
66 reviews
2.96 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 7 nearby attractions
RAF Cosford Air Show
120 reviews
1.72 km away
Warped Sports
14 reviews
1.76 km away
Chillington Hall
18 reviews
6.48 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Basilio_10
10 February 2019|
AnswerShow all 15 answers
Response from karen c | Property representative |
Hi, There is an outdoor picnic area in the grounds at Cosford and indoor space with tables on the lower level of the National Cold War Exhibition. Thanks
0
Votes
Caroline S
7 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from THEL0bmeister | Reviewed this property |
Sorry don't know but I wouldn't have thought it suitable unless it's an assistance dog as mostly this is an indoors busy at times museum
0
Votes
neilr390
11 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Paul R | Reviewed this property |
The site is all on one level except in the Cold War museum building where there is a lift. The disabled car parking spaces are very close to the entrance. £3 for 3 hours £4 for all day parking
2
Votes