We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hodsock Priory

6045 Off B, Blyth, Worksop S81 0TY, England
+44 1909 591204
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

Went here for the bluebell walk and really enjoyed it. The grounds are beautiful and so well... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Lisa P
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Relaxing place to visit

We decided to visit on May Bank Holiday Monday and not sure what to expect. We did arrive late... read more

Reviewed 8 May 2018
redstar1972
Read all 221 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Hodsock Priory is a wedding venue on a private estate surrounded by North Nottinghamshire countryside and easily accessible from the A1 and M1 at Blyth. Nationally famous for its winter garden and displays of snowdrops - open in February only each year. Wrap up warm and enjoy a walk in the woods then have a cup of tea a slice of home-made cake by the bonfire.
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average5%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“woodland walk” (22 reviews)
“camp fire” (7 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
6045 Off B, Blyth, Worksop S81 0TY, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1909 591204
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"woodland walk"
in 22 reviews
"camp fire"
in 7 reviews
"couple of years"
in 9 reviews
"peas"
in 6 reviews
"formal gardens"
in 7 reviews
"round the gardens"
in 3 reviews
"cakes"
in 12 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 15 reviews
"hot drinks"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful venue"
in 3 reviews
"lovely afternoon"
in 5 reviews
"soup"
in 7 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 4 reviews
"shop area"
in 3 reviews
"pie"
in 6 reviews
"bacon"
in 5 reviews
"return visit"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here for the bluebell walk and really enjoyed it. The grounds are beautiful and so well maintained, never made it into the house as there was something else on and i think you have to book? but had a lovely walk round. Only disappointment...More

Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We decided to visit on May Bank Holiday Monday and not sure what to expect. We did arrive late about 2pm due to traffic but got parking very easily onsite (there were people to guide you to parking). We took a walk to the Bluebells...More

1  Thank redstar1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

I have been to the snowdrops at Hodsock every since they first opened, but this was my first time at the Bluebells. How lovely everything was in such a beautiful setting. I wish I could paint, magical place. Just drinks and a bit of food...More

1  Thank Chrisgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, General Manager at Hodsock Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Thank you Chrisgale - really glad you enjoyed your visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018

I previously visited the snowdrop festival and was not disappointed with the bluebell walk through the grounds. A magnificent display of bluebells in a truly beautiful setting! A must for anyone who enjoys bluebells.

4  Thank Jayne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, General Manager at Hodsock Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you Jayne E - we really appreciate you letting us know you had a great visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

My wife and I have visited the annual bluebell woods display at Hodsock Priory. This was the second time that we had visited before to see the bluebells (they also have an annual snowdrop display in February). Regrettably, with the cold weather this year, like...More

1  Thank Richard_Harpum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, General Manager at Hodsock Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks you for your kind review Richard_Harpum and for being a member of Historic Houses (Hodsock is an active member house). Our entry fee for the Bluebells is £2.50 for adults (free for children and Friends of Hodsock) so we are a good value place...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

The English bluebell season is tantalisingly brief but this year’s display at Hodsock Priory is the best I have seen, or photographed, anywhere else in the country. Huge expanses of the slender blue flowers carpeted the extensive woodland floor and our enjoyment was enhanced by...More

Thank Sunny5Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, General Manager at Hodsock Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thanks for giving us a 5 star review Sunny5Jim and for encouraging visitors to come and see us for the last time in a while on the first May bank holiday weekend in May 2018.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Hodsock Priory is best known for snowdrops in February, but just as spectacular are the bluebells in April/May. Facilities are limited to a bacon/sausage butties and drinks van and porta-toilets, but with large gardens as well as the bluebell woods it is well worth the...More

Thank DavePuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, General Manager at Hodsock Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for reviewing your visit DavePuls - we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Came here to see my friends get married. Such a beautiful setting. Even in the miserable grey weather, it still looked lovely. Staff were all very helpful and professional

Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, General Manager at Hodsock Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks James R - really glad you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

Well it did stop raining for a couple of hours so managed snowdrop walk without getting too wet. The scent from the gardens was exquisite. The only downside was the varieties of snowdrops weren't labelled. OK most people wouldn't care but we would have loved...More

Thank djwithington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, General Manager at Hodsock Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Hello djwithington and thank you for reviewing your recent visit to Hodsock. We're so pleased you commented on the surprising fragrances our lovely gardens give in February. We do label most of our plants, and where we can show a contrast in snowdrop varieties. Some...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

We arrived around 12.30, easy parking. It was rather cold, but bacon butties and coffee (reasonably priced). We walked the woods and admired the masses of snowdrops, trees and stumps etc returned to fire for a brief talk on the history of the priory, very...More

Thank johnl1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George B, General Manager at Hodsock Priory, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review johnl1950

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Blyth Hotels
Travelodge Blyth A1 M Hotel
223 reviews
.54 km away
Cherry Park Hall
36 reviews
.79 km away
Ye Olde Bell Hotel & Restaurant
576 reviews
4.97 km away
The Crown Hotel
485 reviews
5.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Angel Inn
240 reviews
.51 km away
The White Swan Inn
247 reviews
.78 km away
Red Hart
161 reviews
.59 km away
Aasha blyth
100 reviews
.64 km away
Nearby Attractions
Daneshill Lakes
9 reviews
4.00 km away
Langold Country Park
108 reviews
4.08 km away
Spa at Ye Olde Bell
41 reviews
4.91 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
veniceexplorer
8 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from George B | Property representative |
Hi veniceexplorer, Hodsock Priory is available to hire as a wedding and event venue all year round. The gardens and grounds are next open for the last weekend in April 2018 10am-3pm and the first weekend in May 2018... More
0
Votes
rowansilverbreeze
25 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from George B | Property representative |
Hello, we always like to do our best but with our pop-up cafes and tiny field kitchens only in place for 3 weeks each year we have a short menu that meets many but not all dietary requirements. We appreciate you asking us in... More
1
Vote
davidacunliffe
3 March 2017|
Answer
Response from George B | Property representative |
It's to protect our wildlife. Many visitors bring their dogs and run them in the Park before leaving them safely in their cars and coming into the gardens and the woods.
2
Votes
;