We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hovertravel

Review Highlights
Quick Trip Across The Solent

Popped across to Gunwarf Quay to get ahead with the Christmas shopping! Nice journey, very quick... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
PerArdua96
,
East Cowes, United Kingdom
via mobile
Enjoyable

Never got to travel on the old cross channel hovercraft. Apparently this is the only hovercraft... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
daveinkent44
,
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Read all 544 reviews
221
All photos (221)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good21%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“day trip”(39 reviews)
“blue card”(15 reviews)
“isle of wight”(112 reviews)
About
Hovertravel provides the fastest Isle of Wight ferry service across the Solent and is the world's longest running and only commercial hovercraft operator in Europe. Our passenger ferry service takes you directly to the shore at Southsea or Ryde in...more
Contact
Ryde PO33 2HB, England
Website
+44 1983 717700
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Ryde
from US$58,80
More Info
from US$34,00
More Info
from US$20,90
More Info
from US$104,60
More Info
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
361
118
19
12
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
361
118
19
12
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day trip blue card isle of wight takes minutes mode of transport efficient service cross channel quick crossing portsmouth southsea minute journey great trip family ticket special offer regular service return ticket both ways hover craft
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Popped across to Gunwarf Quay to get ahead with the Christmas shopping! Nice journey, very quick albeit bumpier than Wightlink travel but it was very windy to be fair. I liked it, not been on it for a while. Quick crossing time. Staff very friendly...More

Thank PerArdua96
StephenRForster, Public Relations Manager at Hovertravel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Good to read that you used our hovercraft for some shopping in Portsmouth and hope you took advantage of our Hoverbus to get from Southsea too. Thanks for the review and hope to see you again soon - maybe for the January sales!

Reviewed 6 days ago

Never got to travel on the old cross channel hovercraft. Apparently this is the only hovercraft passenger service left in the world. Took the connecting hoverbus service from Portsmouth station to the southsea hoverport. Only had to wait a couple of minutes before boarding. The...More

Thank daveinkent44
StephenRForster, Public Relations Manager at Hovertravel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Dave - great to hear you enjoyed your flight with us and were able to tick another experience off your list. Thanks, too for your five star review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awful company cutting services yet craft always full or late - DO NOT USE HOVERTRAVEL. Craft frequently disappear for 'planned maintenance' - are they even safe?More

Thank Endeavou
StephenRForster, Public Relations Manager at Hovertravel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi and thank you for your feedback. We are obviously disappointed that you would not recommend us and wanted to provide context for our recent announcements. We have launched a new timetable with a 30 minute frequency in the morning and evening because most of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really wanted to go to IOW (or back) on this, as it is so unique, at least for us. Our two days in Portsmouth were so windy, crossings on the hoverboat were cancelled. Luckily for us, the day we were going to IOW the...More

Thank Barbara M
StephenRForster, Public Relations Manager at Hovertravel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Barbara for your lovely review and we hope your grandchildren enjoyed your video - next time you can bring them too.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Always wanted to do this and was not disappointed. The 10 minute journey both ways is fantastic. The staff are very helpful and the hover crafts themselves comfy and well looked after. It’s a bit pricey but something I have always wanted to do before...More

Thank Paul B
StephenRForster, Public Relations Manager at Hovertravel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Paul and thanks for your review. It looks like you had a great time and we are delighted with your recommendation. We have no plans to stop running our service - we have been operating for fifty years and are looking forward to matching...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We are staying in Portsmouth and seized the opportunity to visit Isle of Wight and particularly Osborne House travelling by Hovercraft. What a fantastic efficient service between the island and the mainland. Such an amazing mode of transport. Words can’t describe the uniqueness of this...More

Thank Micannjon
StephenRForster, Public Relations Manager at Hovertravel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the great review - we hope to see you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Can you honestly say you've ridden on a hovercraft?..... neither could we. So for the princely sum of 16.00 each we returned to Southsea (the 'other side' of Portsmouth) for a day. Bloody good thing to do!!..... how else you gonna see Southsea? Superbly organised...More

Thank Graham P
StephenRForster, Public Relations Manager at Hovertravel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks Graham for your feedback and informative review - great to read you enjoyed your experience and we really appreciate your recommendation.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We regularly use the Hovercraft as we live in Ryde. It offers the best and most fun way of travelling across the solent, flying above the water. The new craft are very much more comfortable than their predecessors and you get a great view out...More

Thank John H
StephenRForster, Public Relations Manager at Hovertravel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello John and thank you for your kind words and your informative review. We always pass on feedback to our staff and they will be delighted to read your comments.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have recently stayed in Southsea and could left our children watching the hovercraft all day long . The highlight of our stay was a trip to the Isle of Wight and the hoovercraft The journey was great and the team were outstanding

Thank Roger R
StephenRForster, Public Relations Manager at Hovertravel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Roger - thanks for your review and great to read that the children enjoyed both watching and travelling on the hovercraft. We are proud to have been part of your holiday!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Left home in plenty of time for our flight to go on holiday to Italy,our flight was 8.15 coach leaving at 9.30 we actually left Ryde at 9.25,phoned the travel company who arranged a Taxi otherwise we would have to go home and miss our...More

Thank Anne H
StephenRForster, Public Relations Manager at Hovertravel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Anne for your feedback - we appreciate that any disruption is frustrating for our customers and we respect your choice to use an alternative operator.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 113 nearby hotels
Royal Esplanade Hotel
441 reviews
.09 km away
Hotel Ryde Castle
495 reviews
.25 km away
Yelf's Hotel
454 reviews
.35 km away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
350 reviews
.52 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 729 nearby restaurants
Chocolate Apothecary
357 reviews
.14 km away
The Alamo
309 reviews
.19 km away
Michelangelo
714 reviews
.19 km away
Long John Eater
223 reviews
.18 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 329 nearby attractions
Isle of Wight Bus & Coach Museum
156 reviews
.83 km away
Ryde Harbour
173 reviews
.11 km away
The Minster Church of St Thomas
27 reviews
.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
EmilyE1421
28 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from StephenRForster | Property representative |
Hi Here the answer to your question, from our Fleet Captain, who explains that wind strength is only part of the issue: "The critical restriction on our craft, as stated in the Maritime and Coastguard Agency High Speed Craft... More
0
Votes
countryretreat938
22 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from chrismranger | Reviewed this property |
Dogs are allowed on the Hover and it's not too noisy so unless a very nervous dog should be ok..
1
Vote