We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Salford Museum & Art Gallery

Crescent | Peel Park, Salford M5 4WU, England
+44 161 778 0800
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
An interesting stop for old maps and local history lovers

The Salford Museum & Art Gallery is located in the University of Salford Crescent Campus area, an... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
claudiaSalerno
,
salerno
Excellent exhibition relating to Tony Warren, creator of Coronation Street

We visited to see this temporary exhibition and were not disappointed. The Lark Hill Place exhibit... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
David H
,
Wirral, United Kingdom
Read all 179 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Salford Museum and Art Gallery was the UK’s ‘first free public library’, which opened in January 1850, followed in November by a museum and art gallery. The building was a mansion house known as Lark Hill, which had been built in the 1790s and has given its name to our famous Lark Hill Place; a Victorian street within the museum. Today, Salford Museum and Art Gallery presents an exciting programme of permanent displays and changing contemporary exhibitions together with a range of events and activities guaranteed to inspire which completes a must visit experience for individuals, families, schools and organisations to come and enjoy. When you have visited the galleries why not pop into our cafe or purchase a souvenir in the museum shop. Our learning and outreach programme allows everyone to get involved with the museum - perhaps taking part in a Victorian washday, learning new crafts or reminiscing with our memory boxes. We offer free admission and welcome all children accompanied by a responsible adult.
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good36%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“lark hill place” (24 reviews)
“peel park” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:30 - 04:00
LOCATION
Crescent | Peel Park, Salford M5 4WU, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 161 778 0800
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"victorian street"
in 70 reviews
"lark hill place"
in 24 reviews
"peel park"
in 11 reviews
"toy shop"
in 5 reviews
"sound effects"
in 6 reviews
"victorian era"
in 4 reviews
"victorian times"
in 3 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 13 reviews
"dressing up clothes"
in 2 reviews
"school holidays"
in 8 reviews
"airy cafe"
in 2 reviews
"sounds and smells"
in 2 reviews
"pleasant change"
in 2 reviews
"for sale"
in 5 reviews
"cakes"
in 9 reviews
"happy memories"
in 2 reviews
"step back in time"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

The Salford Museum & Art Gallery is located in the University of Salford Crescent Campus area, an interesting complex of newly built and old red bricks buildings. There isn't really very much from the art point of view, but the collection of books of local...More

Thank claudiaSalerno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

We visited to see this temporary exhibition and were not disappointed. The Lark Hill Place exhibit was also worth seeing too. Entrance is free too. Only worry was the car parking system. I failed to notice that I should have entered my car registration number...More

Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMAG01, Front Office Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for you lovely comments regarding the exhibitions we are so glad you were not disappointed. We have some exciting exhibitions and event coming up so we hope to see you at those in the future. We are sorry you had issues with he...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago

I love the fact that the volunteers are so dedicated and the Museum is a great place to visit. My only criticism is that it is not so easy to park .

Thank prguru2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited here not really knowing what to expect and were pleasantly surprised. There is plenty to do for the whole family - the old street is amazing. Its great that there is a café for a quick refreshment before heading for the gallery. It...More

Thank HAAllred1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

Hidden within Salford Museum and Art Gallery is a Victorian street called Lark Hill Place. Due to it being 100 years since the end of the Great War Lark Hill has been redressed as 1918. This has not been a very dramatic change as it...More

1  Thank Saaby665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMAG01, Front Office Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thank you for you review. We are so glad you enjoyed Lark Hill Place 1918 and had the chance to visit our galleries. We are hoping to have them all re-opened by mid May. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

I came across reference to this museum by chance (as I was looking for somewhere new to take some visitors and was attracted by 'Lark Hill Place'. This is the equivalent of the recreated street in the Castle Museum in York. I found a great...More

Thank Philip_Marsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMAG01, Front Office Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for visiting. We are so glad you enjoyed the time you spent with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Spent a couple of hours here on a Sunday afternoon. Superb Victorian Street reconstruction, Coronation Street exhibition, plus the usual artworks.

Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMAG01, Front Office Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

We do like to hear we can be part of an enjoyable Sunday afternoon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

A lovely little hidden gem just next to Salford Crescent train station (part of the university) It's a free venue - parking is on site - pay and display £2 There is work going on in part of the art gallery at the minute but...More

Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMAG01, Front Office Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. It's so lovely to hear you had a positive experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

We visited yesterday, on a rainy Sunday when the conditions outside were difficult for my partner who has mobility problems. There were no car parking spaces available at all , and the disabled spaces were cordoned off due to building work. We ended up having...More

Thank lisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMAG01, Front Office Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hi Lisa, Your comments and the complaint form you filled out on the day of your visit were passed onto the Visitor Services Manager. Who had confirmed he has contacted you regarding your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

I enjoyed my recent visit here, having been before. My main reason to visit was the Tony Warren Exhibition. As a lifelong fan of Coronation Street this small exhibition was a delight. I loved the replica of Tony Warren's house, the This Is Your Life...More

Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SMAG01, Front Office Manager at Salford Museum & Art Gallery, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in Salford
Holiday Inn Manchester-West
489 reviews
.59 km away
The Ainscow Hotel
595 reviews
.95 km away
Campanile Manchester
711 reviews
1.11 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Salford Central Hotel
1 010 reviews
1.14 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Vero Moderno
157 reviews
.60 km away
Deli Lama
54 reviews
.85 km away
The New Oxford
49 reviews
.86 km away
Le Cassi's
9 reviews
.61 km away
Nearby Attractions
Salford Lads' Club
43 reviews
.90 km away
Granada Studios
400 reviews
1.30 km away
Cathedral Church of St. John The Evangelist (Salford Cathedral)
17 reviews
.90 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Nevjan
22 February 2017|
Answer
Response from SMAG01 | Property representative |
Hi, Yes we hope a four year old would enjoy it here. We have quizzes and fancy dress for children to enjoy on a daily basis. We also have half term activities running all week. Admission is free but some activities are... More
0
Votes
marshakbrowne
5 February 2017|
Answer
Response from SMAG01 | Property representative |
Hi, Please find the relevant information below. Opening times Monday: Closed Tuesday: 10:00 am - 4:45 pm Wednesday: 10:00 am - 4:45 pm Thursday: 10:00 am - 4:45 pm Friday: 10:00 am - 4:45 pm Saturday: 12:00 pm - 4:00... More
1
Vote
d p
1 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from AngieMc641 | Reviewed this property |
Hi I couldn't answer sooner as it had been a while since I had been and I didn't want to give the wrong information, anyway I have been again today ( 23/08/2016) with whole family of 5, £36 for us all to have wraps/paninis... More
2
Votes
;