Treak Cliff Cavern

Treak Cliff Cavern, Castleton: Hours, Address, Treak Cliff Cavern Reviews: 4.5/5

Treak Cliff Cavern
4.5
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Started as a Blue John mine over 300 years ago, Treak Cliff Cavern continues to mine, process and manufacture ornamental items and jewellery from Blue John Stone today. On the 40 minute guided tour visitors can see the most abundant veins of Blue John Stone in the world and some of the 'finest stalactites' in the Peak District. We also have a shop with a vast array of rocks and minerals from around the world. Visit our free to enter museum and read about the history of the mine and see some beautiful antique Blue John ornaments, after which you can enjoy a slice of Blue John cake and refreshments from our on site cafe while admiring the view down the valley.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Popular mentions

4.5
784 reviews
Excellent
547
Very good
188
Average
34
Poor
9
Terrible
6

Gary S
1 contribution
Jan 2022
An stunning cavern an an interesting audio guide. There were lots of cars parked up but it wasn't busy (they must have been walking up Mam Tor in the fog!!) - we pretty much had the cavern to ourselves due to the way they manage the entrances - it's not massive but it felt special. The staff were really friendly and helpful.
Written 24 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Katie D
Brighton and Hove, UK353 contributions
Oct 2021
You can get up close to the Blue John formations in the cavern, The stalagmites and stalactites are everywhere, it is an incredible sight!
Written 17 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Elina Michaelidou
London, UK413 contributions
Dec 2021
Treak Cliff was a very interesting place. We visited it during our return hike from Mam Tor to Castleton. The audio guide was informative but as we were walking while listening to it, there were times that the next track would start before the previous one finished. The place wasn't very crowded when we visited and the whole tour took us less than the recommended time. The viewpoint at the end of the tour was great too!
Written 14 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Wayne
2 contributions
Dec 2021 • Family
Don’t know how to be polite about this one 🤦‍♂️

So there was nothing good about it in the slightest, within 12 minutes we were in and out.. the price is insane cost us 34 pounds to see it.. it’s a national park and they are charging 34 pounds for a few minutes walk

Appauling no other words
Written 29 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your tour of Treak Cliff Cavern but we would like to respond to some of the points you have made in your review. Firstly the cost, Treak Cliff Cavern although in the Peak District National Park is a privately owned business and our entrance fees are competitively priced against the other show caves in the area. The tour you booked was a self guided audio tour which runs for approximately 40 minutes so we are baffled as why you were in and out in 12 minutes. On investigation we think there can be only be two reasons your tour was so short. The most probable is that you didn't listen to the tour, the second is that you and your children weren't interested. May we suggest you choose something more suited to yourself and your children next time you want a day out. Perhaps your children would be more entertained in a ball pit and who knows, if you ask the management nicely they may let you join them too. Finally with regard to the title of your review, if you want to dig your own hole why not go to Skegness and don't forget your bucket and spade. Kind regards TCC
Written 1 January 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

gwrjack
Cookham Berks35 contributions
We really enjoyed our visit to Treak Cliff Cavern. The staff were friendly and welcoming and the cavern is terrific. The animation and museum are very informative and there are some beautiful things for sale in the shop. Loved the self guided tour app which is very well done. A fascinating place to explore. Highly recommended
Written 13 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

SR1
4 contributions
Nov 2021 • Solo
Excellent. I had checked the website so had warm, waterproof clothes and boots at the ready plus the app downloaded. It does need you to manage steps and low ceilings, but this was warned about and the rails really helped. Lovely to see the Christmas lighting and trees in place. Don't forget to view the museum area and little shop afterwards!
Written 26 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Teckel02
London, UK33 contributions
Nov 2021
Went on a self-guided tour. Most interesting and enjoyable.
Takes around 45 mins and is well narrated. See plenty of Blue John veins and some impressive stalactites & stalagmites.
Take a look at the museum afterwards. We forgot to go round which was frustrating!
Written 15 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

thebarn
1 contribution
Nov 2021
I visited the site of the Cavern this week with my son intending to tour around and was very disappointed not even to be greeted by any hello from staff who appeared dour and seemed very uninterested in their work. My son was put off by this and did not want to go on the tour because of it. In addition there is a Telescope immediately outside the entrance which costs 20 p a go which my son was interested in and he put his money in to it. It took the money but was not working and had no sign on it informing of this. Staff at the Cavern claimed that they didn't know it wasn't working and that it had nothing to do with them anyway as it didn't belong to them. Eventually we were able to persuade them that they should contact the provider as it reflects on their business but I am unsure whether this has happened. Meanwhile lots of children will be putting in their 20p's and gaining only disappointment. Please do some customer service training and try to retain some excitement for visitors as well as putting an out of order sign on the telescope. Thank you
Written 11 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hi Thank you for your review although we are not sure what exactly it is that you are reviewing. As you didn't visit the cavern we can only assume that you are reviewing the telescope that stands outside of our building. We are sorry to hear of the loss of your 20p but as you were informed on the day the telescope is not the property of Treak Cliff Cavern. With regards to there not being an out of order sign on it we genuinely didn't know there was anything wrong with it and having now tried it for ourselves six times in total can find nothing wrong with it. Did you look through the right end and did you open the right eye when looking through it. I only ask this because you obviously missed the large information plate on it that gave the name of the company that owns the telescope. Once again we'd like to apologize for the deep disappointment you had with the telescope but on the bright side you now have new fans that are looking forward to your future reviews. Maybe you'll go the the coast and complain the beach was too sandy, the sea to wet, we look forward to reading them. Kind regards TCC
Written 11 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Cara L
Leicestershire148 contributions
Oct 2021
A very beautiful cavern showing lots of well illuminated Blue John stone in its natural form and well maintained. The venue had free parking - be mindful of the slight climb to the entrance - not the nicest with pouring rain!

Would suggest booking online prior to visit for an efficient visit

Be sure to dress warmly and also wear footwear with a good grip as the floor is wet throughout

Friendly staff

A nice gift shop with interesting souvenirs to purchase would def recommend a visit
Written 15 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Deryn H
Waterlooville, UK2 161 contributions
Sep 2021
We actually went to the two other caverns which were fully booked before going to Break Cliff Cavern. We were in luck and only had a 115 minute wait. We went to the museum to wait and I even got an app on my phone by one of the staff, which would give us a guided tour as we travelled around the site. We set off on our own with our virtual guide as saw some brilliant sites and learnt a lot about the whole Blue John Cave system which is in the hands of one owners, four sites. The ap knew where you were in the complex and gave you an auditory overview accordingly which mean that you could take you time and even loiter for the lights to go out and experience the darkness. There were fossils, stalactites, stalagmites, curtain formations. A talk on the history of the finding of the Blue John and cave spiders! All wrapped up with very good commentary. We were through in about 45 minutes. An excellent experience.
Written 2 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 775
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing