We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rolling Hills Asylum

11001 Bethany Center Rd, East Bethany, NY 14054-9750
+1 585-502-4066
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Class A EVP & Fun Evening

It was a dark and stormy night. Okay maybe it barely rained, but "a dark ad stormy night" fit the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
NFdolt
,
NIAGARA FALLS
Awesome

Had a great time. The owner is wonderful. It was really cold that morning and she called to see if... read more

Reviewed 21 February 2018
virginiam242
via mobile
Read all 96 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Established in 1827 as the Genesee County Poor House with the Genesee County Infirmary added in 1938, RHA was originally a working farm that became a dumping ground for the castoffs of society. Orphans mingled with lunatics, and the unclaimed dead were buried on the property. Over 1,700 documented deaths and hundreds of more not accounted for. Known for class "A" EVP's, shadow people, doors slamming and much more!Rolling Hills Asylum is the second most haunted location in North America, and Number 4 in the world!!!!We offer several different tours, hunts and events! Please check out our website for more information.
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good16%
  • Average9%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“ghost hunt” (12 reviews)
“porta potty” (4 reviews)
LOCATION
11001 Bethany Center Rd, East Bethany, NY 14054-9750
CONTACT
Website
+1 585-502-4066
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ghost hunt"
in 12 reviews
"paranormal activity"
in 5 reviews
"porta potty"
in 4 reviews
"haunted places"
in 3 reviews
"hour tour"
in 7 reviews
"private tour"
in 2 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 2 reviews
"volunteers"
in 9 reviews
"recorder"
in 5 reviews
"stories"
in 10 reviews
"equipment"
in 6 reviews
"halloween"
in 3 reviews
"doll"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

It was a dark and stormy night. Okay maybe it barely rained, but "a dark ad stormy night" fit the mood at Rolling Hills Asylum the night we visited. Though there was no guide tour this evening we were able to stumble around and hit...More

Thank NFdolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

Had a great time. The owner is wonderful. It was really cold that morning and she called to see if we wanted to reschedule. We decided to go anyway and it was so much fun. So much history.

Thank virginiam242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon-RHA, Owner at Rolling Hills Asylum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

I'm so happy you all enjoyed yourselves! I really enjoyed having the three of you here! Thank you, Virginia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

OWNER WAS THE WORST The owner was incredibly rude, and condescending. Completely ruined the experience. The rest of the staff was amazing, just trying to deal with her combative attitude. Should have read other reviews that say the same. Sees my post online and confronts...More

1  Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon-RHA, Owner at Rolling Hills Asylum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

The volunteers on duty that night as well as myself have no idea what occurred to make you so unhappy. I was surprised to see an hour in on your visit you had posted a negative review (yet stayed the entire 4 hrs till the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2017

you have to check this place out it is registered as one of the most haunted places. so much history

Thank heracr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon-RHA, Owner at Rolling Hills Asylum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for your review and endorsement!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

The owner has to be one of the rudest and unhappiest people to live. If your going to be in the hospitality business and sell tickets to a historical location you should be personable. Maybe be nice to the people paying your bills. I have...More

Thank nellygreen1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShazzyC14, Owner at Rolling Hills Asylum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Clearly you've never actually been here to Rolling Hills Asylum. If you had - you have seen the new roof that was put on a couple of years ago, how clean and well maintained the interior is and that we recently had several thousand dollars...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Did a three hour tour/hunt with friends. It was awesome. I liked hearing about the history of the building and the many spirits who still inhabit it. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and engaging, and he took us through the "active" parts of the...More

Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon-RHA, Owner at Rolling Hills Asylum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you Leslie for coming! I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit, the history, and the activity! Hope you visit again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Building was really cool. Not very active but being an experienced paranormal team sometimes that happens. I gave an average review because of the owner. Before I booked the ghost hunt I asked the owner if she was offering any discounts for November hunts. She...More

2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShazzyC14, Owner at Rolling Hills Asylum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

I don’t offer discounts, and that is the truth. At the time you booked - I hadn’t started the Winter Quarantined Options yet- Winter Quarantined Hunts are just FIVE HOURS LONG - that is why they are less expensive than the EIGHT HOUR OPTION YOU...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Having watching numerous t.v. shows on this place, figured i would give it a try. The history and stories this place have are great to hear, as well as the enthusiasm the owner has for the place. However, the brash and rude demeanor were off...More

Thank Emmscaughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon-RHA, Owner at Rolling Hills Asylum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

I'm sorry you feel I was pushing spending more money. That wasn't how it was meant to come across. I actually thanked everyone (as I do on every tour) for coming out and supporting RHA - as I recognize people have many options on how...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

My husband and I go to haunted places each year. I came across Rolling Hills Asylum by searching the internet for haunted places near my home state of New Hampshire. I was intrigued by the look and description of the place. When we got there...More

Thank TwoLunatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Our group has been there a few times and the place is definitely haunted with lots of activity. First time going was amazing. Not a lot of people, the guide was awesome and very informative, and we got lots of readings. This last time unfortunately...More

Thank AdventuresAwait13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon-RHA, Owner at Rolling Hills Asylum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thank you for your review and input. I am sorry you feel your particular guide was less informed than on previous occasions. If you would please send me a private message via the RHA website www.RollingHillsAsylum.com with the date/time of your visit and who your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all East Bethany Hotels
Attican Motel
24 reviews
11.66 km away
Hotel at Batavia Downs
61 reviews
15.51 km away
Days Inn by Wyndham Batavia Darien Lake Theme Park
463 reviews
15.62 km away
Super 8 by Wyndham Batavia E of Darien Lake Theme Park
262 reviews
15.62 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Morluski's
11 reviews
11.86 km away
Red Osier Landmark Restaurant
239 reviews
12.73 km away
Meisner's Deli & Pizzeria
10 reviews
11.53 km away
Prospector
7 reviews
12.47 km away
Nearby Attractions
Jell-O Gallery Museum
162 reviews
16.18 km away
Cortland Repertory Theater
12 reviews
17.26 km away
Oliver's Candies
97 reviews
14.13 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
coolrun59
15 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Erik M | Reviewed this property |
Yes but stay away- owner is a miserable person- crazy rude
0
Votes
Justasking1
28 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Erik M | Reviewed this property |
Agree with others- I would pay to not go there- owner is a real piece of work. Crazy rude and combative.
0
Votes
nitrodude6
24 September 2016|
Answer
Response from K C | Reviewed this property |
from what i can remember there is a ramp at the one door for entry/exit. there are ramps throughout the building from the original structure but as for how safe they are, please be careful!! The building was designed/built... More
0
Votes
;