We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great White Shark Tours

#1 of 21 Tours in Gansbaai Features Animals
8 Swart St | Van Dyks Bay, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
+27 28 384 1418
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$136,17*
and up
Shark Cage Diving and Viewing in Kleinbaai
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The owner and founder Brian McFarlane is a professional diver and skipper who has always made a living from the sea. He started diving for perlemoen (abalone) at a young age, then moved on to become a commercial fisherman for 6 years and spent another 6 years diving in search of wrecks along the southern coast of Africa. This was followed by the diving for diamonds from the sea-bed for the next 20 years.He has become a local legend with his fascinating tales about the sea and underwater experiences. During the time when Great White Shark fishing was allowed, Brian caught Great Whites, some weighing more than 1 tonne.Today, he dearly regrets this and now spends his time and efforts in finding the great beasts to be observed and photographed at close range. Brian has worked with the Great Whites for 18 years and has only had 6 non-sighting days in the last 10 years.
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good13%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“great whites” (117 reviews)
“cape town” (123 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 21:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
8 Swart St | Van Dyks Bay, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 28 384 1418

Similar Things to Do in Gansbaai

Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 995 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

Simply amazing. I travel from Barcelona to South Africa only to see the Great White and the experience with GWST was perfect. The crew, the boat, the activity....everything was great! Be brave, test it and enjoy it!!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank amadormf1308
Reviewed 2 days ago

Nice guys, but overall disappointing trip. I understand that not seeing sharks is not their fault, but I still felt that paying 875 Rand (and not including transport) to be seasick for a few hours was a bit steep. I'd be happier if there were...More

Thank Hilary R
Reviewed 4 days ago

The Experience of Cage Diving with the Sharks was s once in a lifetime one 😊 We had to wait quiet a long time, but then we saw this beautiful creatures and could dive with them.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank heyard_steve
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hallo Steve, Well said, " Shark cage diving is a once in a lifetime experience!" We are so honoured to be part of your dream! You seem to realise that all good things might take time but are worth waiting for! Thank you for the...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Highly professional tour, with fantastic facilities on and off the boat (breakfast, lunch and showers!), with a great, cheerful staff compliment, who showed a lot of knowledge and experience throughout!! Sharks were awesome!More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Mark A
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hallo Mark, Thank you for the awesome review about your shark cage diving trip! We are so glad our company, staff & crew, lived up to your expectations. It is small gestures like friendliness, good food, a clean boat, a safe operation, all add up...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Typical tourist activity. Due to lack of sharks most people didn't dive. Lucky for the crew there were 2 sharks passing by so they didn't have to refund. All in all something I would skip when in SA. Operator White Shark Tours was average. They...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank jkholland2017
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hallo Cage Diver, Thanks for your honest insights about your shark cage diving experience about your trip! We are just as disappointed as our guests because of the slow shark activity after the unexpected orca predations on the white sharks. Shark Cage diving is the...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

We booked the cage dive from the UK and actually went on the trip on 6th August 2017. We were advised few sharks had been seen recently due to Orca Whales in the area. But they had seen one the day before. So we drove...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank markpJ5016ZP
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hallo Mark, We are delighted that your family had so much fun on this shark cage diving trip! It is a great compliment to our company that this adventure was the highlight of your holiday! We practice responsible tourism and never add supplements to the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We didn't see any shark; it seems that there wasn't any shark activity in Gansbaii this year in July. In any case all has been managed properly and we spent a nice day and we went to the cage to look at a seal that...More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Midmat
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hallo Midmat, Thank you for the honest review. We can assure you that we were just as disappointed as you when the sharks did not show. As predicted, it was just a phase while the orcas were in the area. We had good sightings again...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

The visit was nice, comfortable, but there was no shark to be seen. I guess if there are sharks or not depends on season.More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank germantravel2017
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hallo, Thank you for your honest opinion expressed in your review. It is so unfortunate that your dive was booked at a time the sharks were absent because of the killer whales in the area. Gansbaai is the only place in the world with all...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A real shame that we didn't see any sharks. None in the area for 40 days thanks to visiting orcas. This though is obviously not the fault of the company who still made it an enjoyable day with a lovely meal when we returned cold....More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank himandherwarriner
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hallo Cage Diving friend, Believe it or not, the sharks returned after 41 days! Since then we experienced active shark activity on every trip! It is so unfortunate that you could not get face to face with this apex predator in its natural environment! Thank...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Everyone working at Great white sharks tours was friendly, professional, and knowledgeable! I will definitely go back!More

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Maio127
Sharky41, Guest Relations Manager at Great White Shark Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hallo Maio, Thank you for the beautiful words you expressed in your Tripadvisor review! We are delighted that we could add value to your shark cage diving trip, either by sharing our knowledge or by making you feel safe whilst have loads of fun on...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kloeksathome
328 reviews
6.80 km away
Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant
585 reviews
3.92 km away
Blue Goose
409 reviews
3.84 km away
Coffee on the Rocks
260 reviews
6.79 km away
Nearby Attractions
Marine Dynamics
1 594 reviews
.21 km away
Supreme Sharks
170 reviews
.21 km away
White Shark Ventures
254 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
eekcij
27 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sharky41 | Property representative |
Good MorningErin, Shark cage diving has 2 seasons and really depends on your preference when you want to visit as the sharks are in Gansbaaiall year round. In summer, the days are sunny ( similar to Australia) but the... More
0
Votes
Harry T
24 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Sharky41 | Property representative |
Hi harry, 69 is still young by today's standards. So the age is definitely not a problem. Both the answers above are perfectly correct ( thanks a million for the advice guys!) and if you bring it to the attention of the... More
0
Votes
BabyG-inaBottle
30 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Sharky41 | Property representative |
Hallo Pascal, we do offer pick ups from Hermanus. All we need is the name of your accommodation venue when you make your booking and we will arrange the pickup time the night before the dive. ( Will quickly add more details... More
0
Votes