We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marine Dynamics

Features Animals
Gansbaai, South Africa
More
About Marine Dynamics
Marine Dynamics Shark Tours is a shark cage diving company in South Africa that is truly making a difference through research, conservation and education, and protecting the animals and environment on which it relies for a living. Every trip includes an onboard marine biologist educating clients on the iconic great white shark. African Responsible Tourism Award winner Marine Dynamics is Fair Trade Tourism certified with Blue Flag certified vessels and provides logistical and financial support to the owner established Dyer Island Conservation Trust. Marine Dynamics lives by the motto of ‘Discover and Protect’ and believes that “YOUR CHOICE MAKES A DIFFERENCE.” Marine Dynamics believes that #ScienceSavesSharks and has white shark specialists studying the iconic great white in order to drive conservation decisions for the species. We specialize in a 5-star service and meet in the thatched-roof lodge, The Great White House.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 08:00 - 20:00
See all hours
Travellers talk about
2238Reviews48Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 1 743
  • 286
  • 103
  • 56
  • 50
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Himy Henderson wrote a review 02 Aug
2 contributions
Doing this shark cage diving was a dream for my husband and I just went along, but I am glad I did it. I would say that the thought was much more scary than actually doing it. Personally, I thought the company was very well prepared and knowledgeable. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Our tour started at 3am instead of 8am, due to the tide rise and after seeing first hand how the tide change so quickly, I appreciated them for preparing for this. Some people got sea sick and the staff was very helpful and that was a big plus for me, they looked like they cared for their guests. The water was unbelievably cold, but they gave us complete gear which made it bearable and frankly once you get a peak at these creatures underwater, its such an amazing experience that forget about the water being cold. I would highly recommend it if you are looking for prepared staff and a memorable experience. The only down point is that is quite a drive and you don´t really enjoy much of it as the driver does not really speaks along the way and the food they offer, well, it could be better. Other than that, fantastic!
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Peter wrote a review Jul 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa5 contributions
It was electric and fun , first time experience and remmy very patients with me and kind . Definitely know his work , we took some nice pictures at the views of Cape Town
Read more
Date of experience: March 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Maria S wrote a review Jul 2022
Great Bookham, United Kingdom20 contributions13 helpful votes
The entire trip was a joy and a pure privilege. To be picked up from your hotel and driven through the most stunning scenery imaginable with a passionate and knowledgeable driver is really just the beginning! On arrival at the Great White House you are welcomed by such a lovely, happy team who are on hand to help with any concerns and questions. The boat ride itself was perfect; gulls hovering right by the side of the boat, so close! The thrill to be up close with such magnificent creatures is incredible. We also had the amazing sighting of a giant ray and a cape seal decided to come and join the fun with the sharks, swimming and jumping, giving us brilliantly clear views of him. It’s all over too soon but we are warmed up back at the base with delicious hot soup and bread. Then, the drive back to Cape Town we were speechless to be taken to a whale watching spot by our lovely driver ( Hima) and we actually saw southern right whales turning in the water, which was totally unexpected! Back on the minibus to a viewing point of Cape Town … there, sat on a bin top, was a baboon!!! My young son’s jaw literally hit the floor!! He was speechless. I will never forget today. Marine Dynamics gave us a wonderful day and looked after us so well the whole way. Some people don’t appreciate how lucky they are to travel and see these beautiful animals, but thankfully, most are! Thankyou to all.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rafael M wrote a review Jul 2022
Playa del Carmen, Mexico48 contributions23 helpful votes
Tourists trap a lot of people very by the book and no personal touche. Very far from Cape Toen. It is jot worth the detour. Not recomendable
Read more
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
John J wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
Misleading advertising. Purchased Reviews. They are less than truthful on the site and in the responses to low ratings on this site. They say white shark sightings are less predictable post 2017 orca predation, then you show up and they tell you there hasn’t been one since 2017, but maybe we will see bronze sharks. How can you advertise white sharks and know there hasn’t been a sighting in 5 years? We went out and didn’t see anything, not one shark. I’m not upset about nature, you can’t predict that, but don’t outright lie and bill yourself as a Great White Shark Tour. Stop scamming people. I know you have a business to run, but don’t rip tourists off. Employees were at least nice, which makes sense when they have to be due to the lies.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marine Dynamics S, Manager at Marine Dynamics
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for complimenting our staff; we always strive to offer 5-star service. The information you have received about not seeing a White shark in five years is respectfully inaccurate. Our last sighting of Great White sharks was to this date- July 24, 2022. Transparency and sharing credible information are what we stand by. On our blog on the website, we post the latest sightings of wildlife. Shark activity has been less predictable since the Orca predation started in 2017. Still, through our blog and social media, including live stories and videos, it is clear that we have seen Great White sharks, Bronze Whaler sharks, and Stingrays around our vessel.
Read more
Previous
123456