Marine Dynamics
Marine Dynamics
4.5
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Sunday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
About
Marine Dynamics Shark Tours is a shark cage diving company in South Africa that is truly making a difference through research, conservation and education, and protecting the animals and environment on which it relies for a living. Every trip includes an onboard marine biologist educating clients on the iconic great white shark. African Responsible Tourism Award winner Marine Dynamics is Fair Trade Tourism certified with Blue Flag certified vessels and provides logistical and financial support to the owner established Dyer Island Conservation Trust. Marine Dynamics lives by the motto of ‘Discover and Protect’ and believes that “YOUR CHOICE MAKES A DIFFERENCE.” Marine Dynamics believes that #ScienceSavesSharks and has white shark specialists studying the iconic great white in order to drive conservation decisions for the species. We specialize in a 5-star service and meet in the thatched-roof lodge, The Great White House.
Gansbaai, South Africa
Meets animal welfare guidelines

Awards
Travellers' Choice
2023

Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets by Marine Dynamics
Travellers talk about
(322 reviews)

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles2 407 reviews
Excellent
1 870
Very good
301
Average
113
Poor
61
Terrible
62

Alan M
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 • Couples
Great Day out didn’t see any white sharks but expected due to Orca’s in area but saw plenty of bronze whaler sharks that were pretty impressive up to 3.7 metres in length a really well organised trip worth doing , Amy our guide was first class
Written 17 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Alan Thank you for sharing your great shark experience! We're glad you had an enjoyable day out, even though you didn't see any white sharks due to orcas in the area. Seeing the impressive bronze whaler sharks must have been exciting. We're pleased to hear that you found the trip well-organized and that Amy provided first-class guidance. Your feedback means a lot to us, and we hope to welcome you back for another adventure soon! Best regards, The Marine Dynamics Team
Written 19 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tim C
Huntingdon, UK10 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 • Friends
Beautiful ride out from Cape Town and very well organised from start to finish.
The boat ride out from Gaansbai was great and we watched gulls taking fish scraps from the chum master's hand while the boat was at full speed.
The cage dive was incredible and we were lucky enough to see the copperhead sharks and a huge manta ray feeding within an arms length! Sadly no great whites have been seen in the area lately so if you do see one consider yourself very fortunate!
The only downside was the ocean swells and the rather overpowering smell of the chum being used which made my wife very seasick. The staff are well used to such situations and did their very best to help but when you dont have sea legs theres little you can do!
Overall a very good experience and we are very glad we went.
Highly recommended 🙂
Written 8 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Tim Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We're delighted to hear that you had a great time on our well-organized shark cage diving trip. It sounds like the boat ride from Gansbaai was scenic and enjoyable, with some memorable moments observing gulls and marine life. Seeing copperhead sharks and a huge manta ray up close must have been incredible! We understand that the ocean swells and chum smell can be challenging for some, and we appreciate your understanding of these natural elements. Our staff always strive to assist guests in such situations. We're thrilled that you had an overall very good experience and that you're glad you went. Thank you for the recommendation, and we hope to welcome you back for another adventure in the future! Best regards, The Marine Dynamics Team
Written 19 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Alisha S
9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Friends
What a thrilling experience! A gorgeous drive from Cape Town to Gansbaai! Our guide was Amy... So friendly and had ALL the knowledge!! The workers on the boat were also super helpful, as was David the GoPro man 😎 We had a small intimate group. Saw so many bronze sharks... Thrilling in the cage and equally exciting watching them from the boat! We were even lucky enough to see a White Shark (3 meters) from the boat... SO cool!! Definitely recommend this company!
Written 23 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a thrilling experience with us and that Amy, our guide, provided you with all the knowledge you needed to fully enjoy your tour. It's fantastic to hear that our team on the boat, including David the GoPro man, made your experience even more enjoyable with their helpfulness. Spotting bronze sharks up close in the cage and from the boat must have been incredibly exciting, and seeing a white shark from the boat is definitely a special moment! We're delighted that you had such a memorable experience with us. Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to welcome you back for more adventures in the future! If you have any questions or need assistance with future bookings, please don't hesitate to reach out.
Written 5 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Amanda S
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Friends
Beautiful experience !! Would have been better to be swimming free with them but to see them from this close was Amazinnnng !!! Amy our guide was the sweetest and she thought us heaps of things !! Also got to see a great white shark from afar 😍😍😍
Written 23 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Amanda! We're thrilled to hear that you had a beautiful experience on your tour with us. It's wonderful that you found seeing the marine life up close to be amazing, and we're delighted that Amy, our guide, made your experience even more special by sharing her knowledge with you. Spotting a great white shark from afar must have been incredibly exciting! We strive to provide unforgettable experiences, and we're delighted that we could be a part of your adventure. Thank you for choosing us, and we hope to welcome you back for more amazing experiences in the future! If you have any questions or need assistance with future bookings, please don't hesitate to reach out.
Written 5 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Garrett Semrau
Milwaukee, WI2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Solo
We got lucky today! Super bright and clear skies. Amazing people to share the tour with. Rock solid crew of knowledgeable and passionate staff. Plus, and it’s the biggest plus, copper sharks right next to the boat the whole time we were anchored down. These animals are majestic and powerful and deserve more acknowledgment from society than they get. I will take what I experienced and pass it on to anyone that will listen. Thank you, Marine Dynamics, for sharing your world with me. My appreciation runs deep!
Written 18 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We're thrilled to hear that your experience with us was the best marine tour of your life! It's fantastic to know that you enjoyed the clear skies, the company of amazing people, and our rock-solid crew of knowledgeable and passionate staff. Our team is truly dedicated to providing unforgettable experiences and sharing our love for marine life with our guests. We're delighted that you had the opportunity to witness the majestic copper sharks up close and that you're inspired to share your experience with others. Your appreciation means the world to us, and we're grateful for the opportunity to share our world with you. Thank you for choosing Marine Dynamics, and we look forward to welcoming you back for more incredible adventures in the future! If you have any questions or need assistance with future bookings, please don't hesitate to reach out.
Written 5 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Thomas S
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2024 • Friends
We had a fantastic day! We didn't get to see great whites, but we had a lot of other visitors and it was great fun. I can really recommend everyone to take this day trip - they truly care for the animals and do great work on preservation. It was also great value for money. 5 stars all the way through.
Thomas
Written 10 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your kind words, Thomas! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic day with us, despite not seeing great whites. Our team works hard to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable and memorable experience, and we're delighted that you felt well taken care of during your trip. Preservation and conservation are at the heart of what we do, and we're grateful for your support in our efforts to protect marine life. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we're grateful for the opportunity to have hosted you on our trip. If you ever find yourself back in the area, we'd love to welcome you aboard again for another unforgettable adventure. Until then, take care and safe travels! Warm regards,
Written 5 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ramon P
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
2.5 hour drive from Cape Town to see 2 Sharks in the sea in terrible visibility from the cage.

They sell you the idea of many sharks, photos of White Sharks everywhere! They say they have seen many but not true. Seen long time ago (by the crew) and when you get there only two sharks swim around every 5 minutes.

You will waste an entire Cape Town day in this!!

5:00am to 4:00pm in this.

Find another operator who’s more honest on what you will see.
Written 8 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We're sorry to hear that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations, Ramon. Our aim is always to provide our guests with memorable and fulfilling experiences, and we regret that we fell short on this occasion. Visibility and wildlife sightings can vary from day to day, and while we strive to maximize opportunities to observe marine life, we understand that nature can be unpredictable. We apologize if the number of sharks seen during your trip was not as expected. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration as we continue to improve our services. If you have any further concerns or would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Written 5 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Pegapony
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great day out with my daughter. We were lucky to see two great whites and many other marine animals and birds. The crew were professional and they looked after us very well. Food before and after was fresh and tasty.
Written 4 May 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for sharing your experience, Pegapony! We're thrilled to hear that you and your daughter had an awesome day out with us. Spotting two great whites along with many other marine animals and birds must have been incredibly exciting! We pride ourselves on our professional crew, and it's wonderful to hear that they took good care of you throughout the trip. We're also delighted that you enjoyed the fresh and tasty food before and after the adventure. Thank you for choosing us for your marine adventure, and we hope to welcome you both back for more unforgettable experiences in the future! If you have any questions or need assistance with future bookings, feel free to reach out to us.
Written 5 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jpbirdfocus
Kruger National Park, South Africa3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Solo
As a seasoned naturalist and guide, I enjoyed the experience and when at the coast, on boats and with my head under water I am happiest.

As with all wildlife experiences, nothing is predictable or guaranteed and therefore I did not set my hopes on a single species.

The combined experience of being on the boat and finding unique species such as Seven Gill Cow Shark, Southern African Fur Seal, Humpback Dolphin, African Penguin Brown Skuas and other marine birds made it a unique and remarkable experience.

The experience was remarkable because the staff was super friendly and very helpful.

This combined level of professionalism, focus on safety ongoing informative interpretation from the guide, and assistance from all crew members ensuring your well-being throughout the trip made it a very enjoyable learning experience.


The crew also provides you with several nice touches such as warm showers, towels and blankets while on board, even a steaming mug of hot chocolate while inside the dive cage.

I further like their conservation and community projects as I believe these have a true impact.
Written 23 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi jpbirdfocus, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us! We're thrilled to hear that as a seasoned naturalist and guide, you found our shark cage diving experience enjoyable. It's fantastic that you appreciate the unpredictability of wildlife encounters and embraced the diversity of species you encountered, including the Seven Gill Cow Shark, Southern African Fur Seal, Humpback Dolphin, African Penguin, Brown Skuas, and other marine birds. We're glad that you found our staff super friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the professionalism, safety focus, informative guidance, and overall assistance provided throughout the trip. Providing warm showers, towels, blankets, and even hot chocolate inside the dive cage are touches we aim to offer to enhance our guests' comfort and enjoyment. Thank you also for acknowledging our conservation and community projects. We're passionate about making a positive impact and appreciate your support. We look forward to welcoming you back for another remarkable experience in the future! Best regards, The Marine Dynamics Team
Written 19 June 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicky A
7 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2024 • Couples
This has to be the most disappointing trip I've ever done. We were told the last no show for sharks was August 2023. When I read the comments book, the day before had no show.

A wasted day on board the boat, a quick visit to see seals and three penguins in the sea.

Then back to the base for luke warm vegetable soup and stale bread.

We couldn't wait to leave for a two hour drive back to our hotel.
Written 19 April 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 2,144

MARINE DYNAMICS (Gansbaai) - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go

All things to do in Gansbaai
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire