We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Shark Diving Company

Features Animals
9 Kus Drive | Van Dyks Bay, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
+27 82 559 6858
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
White shark needs protection

At Gansbaai we went for over night stay only for experiencing white shark diving. It was a... read more

Reviewed yesterday
JayantSathe
,
Mumbai, India
via mobile
Excellent experience!

Shark diving was easily one of my favorite experiences during my recent trip to South Africa... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Kristin L
via mobile
Read all 382 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
White Shark Diving Co specializes in exclusive GREAT WHITE SHARK adventure tours in Gansbaai, Western Cape, South Africa. Rated #1 by industry peers, we strive to deliver excellence by being the only Shark Cage Diving Company to offer exclusive & private tours with limited seating capacity for extra comfort, safety and dive time! We are the exclusive carrier of all International Celebrities, VIPs and Sporting Teams. White Shark Diving Company have been advocates for the protection of the Great White Shark species; by pioneering sustainable methods of practice, founding and funding scientific research initiatives and being a key player in the development and implementation of The Great White Shark Protection Foundation of South Africa.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good16%
  • Average7%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“cape town” (80 reviews)
“white shark” (37 reviews)
“bucket list” (26 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
9 Kus Drive | Van Dyks Bay, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa

Similar Things to Do in Gansbaai

Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 326 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

At Gansbaai we went for over night stay only for experiencing white shark diving. It was a thrilling experience for all of us. Driving in a speed motor boat to a specific location to meet sharks. Well trained staff took us to the location changing...More

Thank JayantSathe
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Shark diving was easily one of my favorite experiences during my recent trip to South Africa, thanks to White Shark Diving Company. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable, and they did everything in their power to ensure that each of us had an incredible experience....More

Thank Kristin L
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your support and for choosing White Shark Diving Company for your shark cage diving excursion - it was great having you on board! It is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites in their natural...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Picked up at 3am from hotel. Early start so slept on the bus there. When we arrived we had a decent breakfast ready for us. Toast, cereal, coffee, yoghurt. We were given a briefing. Boat trip was rough but luckily I had taken travel sickness...More

Thank Susie-don
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a positive review. Although our crew work tirelessly in order to attract these truly amazing creatures (Great White sharks) to the boat, mother nature is never predictable. We are very pleased that you had the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Felt like a serious company with proffessional staff, that acctually works to protect the sharks. Which is really important. The briefing could have been a bit better tho, with info about the white shark, how they work to protect them e.g. (instead of just having...More

Thank Alexandra H
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. Our crew and staff love working with/for these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites in their natural habitat, sharing our knowledge and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were extremely disappointed in this cage diving experience. There were no great whites and only a few copper sharks in the bay. The visibility in the water was so bad that it was only possible to see the sharks if they came a few...More

Thank Raj B
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time for this review. It is unfortunate that you did not see a Great White shark, but we are so glad you had the opportunity to meet their 'cousins', Copper Sharks or Bronzies as fondly referred to. Dealing with Mother...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife has always been fascinated by sharks and so this was a must do activity for us. For a nominal fee transport from Cape Town to Gansbai, with a quick stop in Hermanus to watch the whales just offshore, was provided. Our driver was...More

Thank PaulPolito
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your kind words and recommendation and it was great having you on board! Our crew and staff love working with/for these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This review is not a criticism of the staff, who were excellent, as was the food; however great white sharks have not been spotted in the bay for 2.5 weeks after being scared off by orcas. This was something we were only told on the...More

Thank dgaunt1
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time for this review. We understand your disappointment for not seeing Great White sharks. We are also glad you had the opportunity to meet their slightly smaller 'cousins', Copper Sharks or Bronzies as fondly referred to. We thank you for...More

Reviewed 9 November 2017

We're a couple of divers and have been diving for several years. We booked the tour with another company in False Bay, but it was low season there, so we had to go with these guys. Pros: Tasty breakfast, friendly crew, the boat wasn't crowded...More

2  Thank Alla Z
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time for this review. Dealing with Mother Nature & wildlife can be quite challenging. The water temperature varies in general between 10 and 19 deg.C during this time of year, but is influenced by the current, tide, weather-...More

Reviewed 8 November 2017

White Shark Diving Company is amazing!!! We had an amazing experience with this company. All of the staff are very informative and dedicated to the experience of their customers. We felt very safe and well informed for the duration of the experience. Highly recommend buying...More

1  Thank Cynthia R
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your kind words and recommendation and it was great having you on board! Our crew and staff love working with/for these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites in their natural habitat, sharing...More

Reviewed 29 October 2017

My friend and I went on a white shark diving expedition with this company in August 2016. Unfortunately we did not see any white sharks due to the killer whales killing the sharks. We were disappointed but thought we could give our tickets to some...More

4  Thank Ilse F
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Public Relations Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time for this review. We are one of very few companies in the world who offer a free 2nd trip while dealing with wildlife which cannot be contained, controlled nor their activity predicted. It is not something that...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Thyme at Rosemary's Restaurant
607 reviews
.90 km away
Blue Goose
457 reviews
.95 km away
Tuscany
71 reviews
1.24 km away
The Boathouse Restaurant and Bar
91 reviews
1.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
African Penguin & Seabird Sanctuary
99 reviews
1.57 km away
Fatbike Tours Cape Town
135 reviews
1.37 km away
Beachcomber Guide
81 reviews
.82 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Earleto
28 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from WhiteSharkDivingCo | Property representative |
Hi! Thank you for your valued enquiry. The number of passengers on White Shark is limited to 22, which allows each diver more cage time and a personalised on-board viewing experience. When you are not in the cage... More
1
Vote
Hernando N
30 July 2017|
Answer
Response from WhiteSharkDivingCo | Property representative |
Hi! Please note that Great Whites are surface feeders and shark activity takes place on and just below sea level. No oxygen, scuba gear/experience or diving certification/swimming skills are required as the free floating... More
0
Votes
Dragos D
1 April 2017|
Answer
Response from WhiteSharkDivingCo | Property representative |
Hi! Thank you for your valued enquiry. We do have availability on Tuesday, the 4th of April. The expected arrival time for our 1st trip of the day is usually 7am and 10h30 for our 2nd (should we have one). These times are... More
0
Votes