We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Shark Diving Company

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 9 Kus Road, Gansbaai 7220, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 82 559 6858
Website
Today
07:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 07:00 - 21:00
Sat - Sun 08:00 - 21:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

White Shark Diving Co specializes in exclusive GREAT WHITE SHARK adventure...

White Shark Diving Co specializes in exclusive GREAT WHITE SHARK adventure tours in Gansbaai, Western Cape, South Africa.

Rated #1 by industry peers, we strive to deliver excellence by being the only Shark Cage Diving Company to offer exclusive & private tours with limited seating capacity for extra comfort, safety and dive time!

We are the exclusive carrier of all International Celebrities, VIPs and Sporting Teams.

White Shark Diving Company have been advocates for the protection of the Great White Shark species; by pioneering sustainable methods of practice, founding and funding scientific research initiatives and being a key player in the development and implementation of The Great White Shark Protection Foundation of South Africa.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 287 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 173
    Excellent
  • 41
    Very good
  • 14
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 10
    Terrible
Beware of the Sharks!

This was an awesome experience. They offer round trip transportation (for an extra fee) and my driver picked me up early. He was a really great conversationalist, and I had an... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 days ago
Lisa B

Similar Things to Do in Gansbaai

Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 243: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was an awesome experience. They offer round trip transportation (for an extra fee) and my driver picked me up early. He was a really great conversationalist, and I had an enjoyable drive both ways. Once I arrived, breakfast was served. A safety briefing occurred and then we were placed in wetsuits. Unfortunately, the wetsuits were still a little damp,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was an amazing experience! The professionalism and knowledge of the staff was on point! They pick you up (no matter where you are) and drive you to and drive you to and from their docks. They provided meals (breakfast/lunch and snacks), wet suits, masks, towels, education, and easy accessibility on and off the boat. Sharks are wild animals, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Estelle F
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing White Shark Diving Company for your shark cage diving excursion. Our crew and staff love working with these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites in their natural habitat, sharing our knowledge and passion for them. Safety, education, respect and research (while having fun!) are our... More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Going on vacation in Cape Town, one of our bucket list items was going shark cage diving. From start to finish, this experience just blew us away- better than we even expected. The staff was all SO knowledgeable and happy to answer questions. They clearly love the animals and the area, and their excitement was infectious. There was even a... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacquelinegohier
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and positive review! Our crew and staff love working with these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to share our knowledge and passion for the Great Whites with our guests. It was awesome having you on board and we appreciate your recommendation. Safe travels! Warm regards The WSDC Team More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Unfortunately there was an incident with some killer whales that scared all the sharks away, and this meant we didn't get to see any at all. However, this being said, the company gave us ample warning this was the case (having emailed the day before) and gave us the opportunity to cancel. And I'm glad we didn't. Everything aside from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for choosing White Shark Diving Company for your shark cage diving excursion. Our crew and staff love working with these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests not only to the Great Whites, but also to the other wildlife present in our beautiful area . Please note that... More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went on twice across 3 days but did not manage to catch the true experience due to the killer whales. It's nature so not gonna penalize them for that. Might have been good if they could advise on the shark sightings for the previous days prior to the trip to help manage expectations. Nonetheless, I was still very impressed... More 

Helpful?
Thank ascapade
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Unfortunately you joined us on the first day that we couldn't find any sharks and we have only learnt later that day that there was a dead shark that washed ashore and that 2 Orcas have visited the bay on the same day... We have informed all our guests later during the week accordingly,... More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've seen the good ratings and the crew and all the people have been really nice to us. They also explained us, that there might not be any sharks on our day, bc there were killer Wales a few days before. So we went out for a couple of hours and unfortunately no sharks. Too bad. Overall wouldn't have been... More 

Helpful?
Thank Florian G
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this review

Good day. We do understand your disappointment for not being able to meet these amazing creatures in their natural environment at this stage. We’d like to confirm however, that you have been informed about the current no-sharks situation (due to the visit of 2 Orcas in the bay recently) and we have also mentioned that no refund is payable if... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Had a great day here and found the whole experience from pick up in to drop off Cape Town to be very professionally run. The boat's crew included a marine biologist who imparted a lot of information and dispelled a lot of myths about the Great White. Visibility wasn't great so viewing above the cage was better than in it... More 

Helpful?
Thank PeteGrzonka
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and positive review! Our crew and staff love working with these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to share our knowledge and passion for the Great Whites with our guests. It was awesome having you on board and we appreciate your recommendation. Safe travels! Warm regards The WSDC Team More 

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2017

Husband talked me into doing this and all I can say is that I don't have a single regret! I didn't sleep the night before (paranoid Id miss the early boat ride, plus the fear of sharks I've always had). For nearly 2 hours I was shaking that morning due to nerves BUT once we were out on the boat... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank merriam11
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing White Shark Diving Company (or pass the message on to your husband! :)) for your shark cage diving excursion. Our crew and staff love working with these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites in their natural habitat, sharing our knowledge and passion for them. Safety,... More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017

Not to be missed! We had a 3.25am pick up from Camps Bay to get to Gansbaai and headed out on the boat before 8am. Chilly enough, but the boat ride was very relaxed and the setting is very pretty. The water was about 10 degrees and covered in an fishy oil slick to bait the sharks, so it is... More 

Helpful?
Thank tiktaktuk
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this review

Thank you for joining White Shark Diving Company for your shark cage diving excursion. Our crew and staff love working with these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites in their natural habitat, sharing our knowledge and passion for them. We strive to be the best and we appreciate your... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

We went Shark diving yesterday with White Shark Diving Co. Naturally we felt nervous for an event such as cage diving, but within minutes of arriving the staff at reception & the crew due to join us on the boat, made us feel comfortable and at ease. Breakfast was nice & we were quickly through the motions of paperwork and... More 

Helpful?
Thank lmeads26
WhiteSharkDivingCo, Manager at White Shark Diving Company, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing White Shark Diving Company for your shark cage diving excursion. Our crew and staff love working with these beautiful creatures and it is our privilege and pleasure to introduce our guests to the Great Whites in their natural habitat, sharing our knowledge and passion for them. Safety, education, respect and research (while having fun!) are our... More 

Travellers who viewed White Shark Diving Company also viewed

 
Gansbaai, Overberg District
 

Been to White Shark Diving Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of White Shark Diving Company and other visitors
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from White Shark Diving Company staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?