We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala

Jl. Kunti no. 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 738866
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
US$65,00*
and up
Balinese Cooking Class in Seminyak
More Info
US$50,00*
and up
Private 3-Course Candlelight Dinner in Seminyak
More Info
US$50,00*
and up
Private Photoshoot Experience in Bali
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Balinese Cuisine is one of the most complex cuisines in the world. Using an incredible variety of spices, blended with the freshest vegetables, meat and fish, eating REAL Balinese food is an unforgettable cultural experience. Learn with Chef Putra how to cook a 3 courses meal in a lush and green environment. Morning session starts at 11:00 (AM) and includes lunch; afternoon session starts at 4:00 (PM) and includes dinner. Free roundtrip transfer for Seminyak, Legian and Kuta area.
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good9%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“chef wayan” (26 reviews)
“ikan” (7 reviews)
“market visit” (7 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Jl. Kunti no. 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
CONTACT
Website
+62 361 738866
Ways to Experience Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala
from US$65,00
More Info
from US$50,00
More Info
from US$50,00
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chef wayan"
in 26 reviews
"ikan"
in 7 reviews
"market visit"
in 7 reviews
"dadar gulung"
in 6 reviews
"coconut pancakes"
in 6 reviews
"cooking experience"
in 4 reviews
"spice paste"
in 3 reviews
"explained everything"
in 6 reviews
"open restaurant"
in 2 reviews
"the local fish market"
in 2 reviews
"dishes prepared"
in 2 reviews
"executive chef"
in 2 reviews
"excellent chef"
in 2 reviews
"morning session"
in 2 reviews
"eye opening"
in 3 reviews
"highly recommend this experience"
in 2 reviews
"great teacher"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to this cooking class because it was rainy season for the duration of our stay in Seminyak. This was a great activity. It was a class format with the chef doing most of the work and students only simple things like vegetable prep.We...More

Thank Vishal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTheAmala, General Manager at Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Vishal, Thank you very much for your lovely words. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a great time during your Balinese cooking class at The Amala We do hope you learnt a lot and that you will have the chance...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I booked this class because I wanted to go to the local markets and learn about the produce. Once we finished at the markets we were driven back the Amala Resort for the class. We had four in our group which was great, it was...More

Thank lemah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTheAmala, General Manager at Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lemah73, Greetings from sunny Bali! Thank you very much for your lovely words. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a great time during your Balinese cooking class at The Amala I am happy you opted to go to the market...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

I signed up for the lesson and it was wonderful. The chef was very knowledgable and was very forth coming with little bits of useful information. I was lucky enough to be the only one in the lesson. The food was wonderful and I personally...More

Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTheAmala, General Manager at Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Emily, Thank you very much for your lovely words. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a great time during your Balinese cooking class at The Amala It is a great reward to learn your satisfaction and how much you learnt...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Gede, his assistant and the hotel staff in general took very good care of us. The workshop was very insightful and fun at the same time while never too complicated. Even our kids had a great time! Thanks so much, we'll keep that experience in...More

Thank Sergej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTheAmala, General Manager at Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sergej K, Thank you very much for your lovely words. It is an absolute pleasure to read you had such a great time during the cooking class at our Workshop at The Amala. I will share your comments with our Chef Gede who has...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

This experience was brilliant- from the market visit in the morning, to learning the delicious traditional Balinese recipes and finally getting to eat it all in the beautiful surroundings of The Amala. Chef Putu was fantastic- really friendly and knowledgeable- and most importantly an excellent...More

Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTheAmala, Manager at Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Dear Lucy C, Greetings from sunny Bali! Thank you very much for your feedback and for having chosen The Amala to spend some great time while acquiring some new culinary skills! I believe it is a very nice way to spend some time while getting...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We did the course with Putu, a great guy and fun to do a class with. I'd recommend this. Great value for money and worth it for the experience!!! AwesomeMore

Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTheAmala, General Manager at Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Kurt K, Thank you deeply for having selected The Amala to enjoy a relaxing cooking class. I am delighted to read that you had such a great time in the class. I will share your comments with our Chef Putu who will be very...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

This was a very exciting tour! We started off going to the local fish market and was also able to buy all of our produce used for the class. The chef was very informative and educational, he also told us stories about local landmarks along...More

Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTheAmala, General Manager at Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Tyler G, Greetings from the lovely The Amala! I am delighted to read what a great time you had and how much you enjoyed the didactic class. Our culinary team take great pride in sharing the wonders of the Balinese gastronomy with all participants...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

I loved my cooking class with chef Mangde (spelling?)! He and the rest of the staff were so friendly. The food was delicious and I had fun helping and learning. The venue itself is beautiful. I was also the only person in the class, so...More

1  Thank Juliana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTheAmala, General Manager at Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Juliana J, Greetings from the Island of Gods! Thank you very much for your lovely words and for the great review. I am delighted to read that you had such a great time during your "private" cooking class. I will share your comments with...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Found this class after looking in trip advisor & being close to our villa we decided to book this class. We were not disappointed. We were lucky enough to be the only participants of the class which made the experience better! The chef was so...More

Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTheAmala, General Manager at Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Kirsty S, Greetings from the lovely The Amala! Thank you deeply for having selected The Amala to enjoy a relaxing cooking class. I am delighted to read that you had such a great time and that you enjoyed our authentic Balinese Cooking class. We...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

The cooking class was far much better than I had expected! I booked this class because of my sister, who is not a beach lover, but the entire class was so engaging and informative! Definitely will try making the dishes at home. We also booked...More

Thank Amanda_kgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaTheAmala, General Manager at Balinese Cooking Class at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Amanda_kgt, Greetings from the Island of Gods! On behalf of our Culinary Team at The Amala, please accept our sincere thanks and gratitude for sharing your amazing experience with us. I am happy you opted to go to the market as it is a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 146 hotels in Seminyak
The Amala
709 reviews
.02 km away
The Ahimsa
209 reviews
.05 km away
Arnava Ninety8 Hotel
1 review
.07 km away
Sense Sunset Seminyak
415 reviews
.12 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Shisha Temple
39 reviews
.12 km away
Chicken Run
73 reviews
.06 km away
Prana Restaurant
37 reviews
.16 km away
Coconut Karma
22 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Garlic Lane
66 reviews
.06 km away
The Cheapest Travel Bali - Day Tours
541 reviews
.10 km away
Ayur Bali Spa & Wellness
15 reviews
.16 km away
Glo Spa at Sandy Bay
41 reviews
.07 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
siggouk
10 March 2018|
Answer
Response from MartaTheAmala | Property representative |
Dear Siggouk, Greetings from the lovely The Amala! Thank you very much for your interest in our Balinese cooking class. We would love to welcome you all to our lovely resort at the heart of Seminyak, please note that we... More
0
Votes
mklane119
17 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MartaTheAmala | Property representative |
Dear Mklane119, Thanks very much for your question about our cooking class. Please note that all participants of the class need to select the same menu to cook. We have 3 different set menus to choose from. We work on a... More
0
Votes
Chilan N
1 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MartaTheAmala | Property representative |
Dear Chilan N, Many thanks for your question and interest in our cooking class. Please note that the market visit is only offered with the morning cooking class for just one reason, Jimbaran fish market closes in the... More
0
Votes
;