We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Franschhoek Wine Tram

32 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 300 0338
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$84,68*
and up
Full-Day Franschhoek Wine Tram Experience from Cape Town
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Discover the Vineyards of Franschhoek. The Franschhoek Wine Tram hop-on hop-off tour is one of the best ways to discover the true essence of the Franschhoek Valley - picturesque vineyards, breath-taking scenery, warm hospitality, world-class cuisine, fine wines and a 300-year history. Tour Experience: Passengers aboard the hop-on hop-off tour will experience a unique and leisurely introduction to the Franschhoek Valley as they journey through rolling vineyards in an open-side tram and open-air tram-bus stopping at some of South Africa's oldest and most distinguished wine estates. A combination of tram and tram-bus follows a loop of stops allowing guests to hop off at each stop and experience the activities on offer, such as wine tasting, a cellar tour, lunch or simply a stroll through the vineyards. When ready guests simply hop on to continue the tour. The tour takes guests into the heart of the Franschhoek Valley, with a guided commentary and unparalleled views of the valley and vineyards. Ticket prices: R170 - R220
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good25%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“rickety bridge” (183 reviews)
“blue line” (74 reviews)
“great fun” (102 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
32 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 300 0338
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 40 of 1 435 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2017

We did the red line on a Sunday. We originally booked the blue line and they had to switch us. The communication is excellent, we were notified of our booking being changed and they eventually put us on the red line since we wanted to...More

Thank Sara G
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Great fun, you meet interesting people from all over S.A. and other parts of the world. We did the yellow route but now want to try the other four routes

Thank 153AFD
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We had the luck to catch one of the last tram leaving Franschhoek that day and it was such a conveniente way of going around to the wine yards. There is a large selection of yards to visit, and since we were leaving Franschhoek at...More

Thank Malin_o_Jonas
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We enjoyed a nice tour of the Franschhoek valley with the Wine tram. I will recommend Rickety Bridge, Grand Provence and Leapeards Leap. It could be cheaper to take a taxi or uber between the wineries you want to visit, but this way is an...More

Thank Marius P
Reviewed 22 June 2017

My wife and I did the wine tram and really enjoyed the expereince. It took some time to figureout how the different trams work and all the stops, but staff and guide explain everything. We were on the redline which is a good mix of...More

1  Thank Duane B
Reviewed 22 June 2017

A good experience , just disappointed that you have to pay at each wine farm for a tasting in addition to the tram ticket . It is not clearly advertised like that .More

Thank samanthabV8869JE
FranschhoekWineTram, General Manager at Franschhoek Wine Tram, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Dear samanthabV8869JE Thank you for sharing your review. I'm sorry that you were disappointed at having to pay for select wine tastings at some of the stops we visit as part of our hop-on hop-off service. While our ticket price doesn't include tastings at all...More

Reviewed 20 June 2017

The wine tram was a fun way to spend a day, however some of the stops are very 'commercialized' and we preferred the hands on family experience we had at some of the smaller stops at the beginning of the day. We also had a...More

Thank roo1928
FranschhoekWineTram, General Manager at Franschhoek Wine Tram, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear StaceyRoo I am surprised to hear of your experience involving a tractor on the Franschhoek Wine Tram service. To the best of my knowledge, no such incident occurred. Please send me the full details so that I am able to investigate the matter and...More

Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We did a girls winter weekend in Franschhoek and the wine tram was so a major highlight! We did the blue line and the farms were fantastic. Le Lude, La Bri and Grand Provence were personal favourites. You can leave the wine you purchase on...More

Thank Kate J
Reviewed 19 June 2017

This has been a bucket list thing for me. I have passed the wine tram a few times in the past. I was not disappointed. The tram/bus drops you on the wine farm and picks you up an hour later. This gives you plenty of...More

Thank Lucette B
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Fantastic wine tasting, the wine tram is an absolute must. You can choose what wine farms you want to visit then just sit back and enjoy. A really great way to do a wine tasting

Thank Elizabeth B
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Foliage Restaurant
1 050 reviews
.26 km away
Le Bon Vivant
1 457 reviews
.09 km away
The French Connection
1 443 reviews
.12 km away
Tuk Tuk Microbrewery
287 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Attractions
Huguenot Memorial Museum
334 reviews
.54 km away
The Huguenot Memorial Monument
220 reviews
.48 km away
The Franschhoek Cellar
79 reviews
.66 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
BelfastEmma12
29 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from FranschhoekWineTram | Property representative |
Dear BelfastEmma12 We're sorry to confirm that both Dieu Donne and Roca Restaurant will be closed to our guests on the 20th of November as a result of the wedding, and that we'll not be stopping there. As far as dining... More
1
Vote
Tpouvtn
16 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from FranschhoekWineTram | Property representative |
Dear Tpouvtn We are currently in our off-peak period and only run the Purple Line on Saturdays. Our off-peak period extends until the 15th of September 2017 and we resume full service - with all our lines running daily... More
0
Votes
colinBasingstoke
13 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from FranschhoekWineTram | Property representative |
Dear colinBasingstoke Guests are not required to get off at each stop. We limit the number of tickets sold per departure to ensure that your seat on the railway tram is all but guaranteed. In the unlikely event of a... More
0
Votes