We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Glenwood Vineyards

Closed Now: 10:30 - 17:00
Open today: 10:30 - 17:00
Share
Review Highlights
Chardonnay lunch

These guys make a Chardonnay out of this world. If you are walking or going by the wine tram... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
JeJeWe
,
Copenhagen, Denmark
Premium wines with service on the slow side

We enjoyed this vineyard that is somewhat off the beaten track. However, despite its premium wine... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
EstiaanS
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 161 reviews
108
All photos (108)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent81%
  • Very good11%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“grand duc”(9 reviews)
“rump steak”(5 reviews)
About
GlenWood is a very special place. Located in the little-known valley of Robertsvlei, a few kilometers from Franschhoek, close to Cape Town, the farm is surrounded by aspects of outstanding natural beauty. Using only the best materials and...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:30 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Robertsvlei Road | Robertsvlei Valley, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Website
+27 21 876 2044
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Franschhoek
from US$70,60
More Info
from US$149,00
More Info
from US$99,00
More Info
from US$167,80
More Info
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
110
17
4
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
110
17
4
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off the beaten track grand duc rump steak visit glenwood dirt road oaked chardonnay chicken caesar salad generous glass main dish secret spot peaceful setting boutique vineyard wine tasting exceptional food food experience see photo small quantities
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

To other travellers: Excellent wine in terrific location, but do the Fine Wine and Food tasting at your own risk. To the business owner of Glenwood: Firstly the good - the wines are truly excellent, one of the best amongst all we tried that day...More

Thank ShaneChew
Alastair W, Owner at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear ShaneChew, I was astonished, exceedingly disappointed and embarrassed by your review of your visit to Glenwood. Apart from your positive comments on our wines, which we appreciated, your other comments raised a number of flags which we have taken very seriously indeed. Rather than...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

To be fair they have amazing wines. But it is the only place where they have charge us the wine tasting after buying some bottles. It is also the only place were they were serving all the wines, white and red, without changing the glass....More

Thank nere_ss85
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nere_ss85 Thank you for your complimentary review of the GlenWood wines but we were obviously disappointed with the other comments you made to which we would like to respond. 1.Charging for tasting after buying wine. Our policy is to waive the tasting fee when...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

These guys make a Chardonnay out of this world. If you are walking or going by the wine tram, consider after your tasting to go for a (generous) glass of their Chardonnay to accompany your lunch. If you have the energy you can walk from...More

Thank JeJeWe
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear JeJeWe Thank you for your highly complimentary review of the GlenWood Chardonnay. It has become very clear that our terroir suits the Chardonnay varietal particularly well and all three of our Chardonnay styles bear testimony to that (ie Unoaked, Vigneron's Selection and Grand Duc)....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed this vineyard that is somewhat off the beaten track. However, despite its premium wine selection the service was slow with only two waiters battling to serve all guests.More

Thank EstiaanS
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear EstiaanS, Thank you for your review about GlenWood. We are very proud of our range of wines and delighted that you enjoyed them but must apologise that you found the service to be slow. Having just agreed to have the Wine Tram include GlenWood...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were told that this very small winery was a great place to visit and it surely was. You sit out on the patio or lawn, they serve you and the view is super. We were lucky as the winemaker had just returned from France...More

Thank buffalobob6
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Buffalobob6 Thank you very much for your review of your visit to GlenWood. We are delighted that you enjoyed tasting our wines and enjoying the natural beauty which surrounds us. We particularly appreciated your comments on the service you received from our people which...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came here after spending a few hours at Babylstoren. Found Glenwood to be quite a respite from the crowded Babyl. We enjoyed sitting outside surrounded by the stunning view and vines. Our server was gracious and knowledgable and we enjoyed our time there. We arrived...More

Thank Cynthia V
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Cynthia V Thank you very much for your review of your visit to GlenWood. We are indeed a bit off the beaten track, which we find works to our advantage enabling us to offer a special experience of outstanding natural beauty, away from the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved this secluded vineyard. The view from the patio where you do the tasting was beautiful and you really felt like you were in a remote area which was nice. The wine was great as was the cheeseboard. We enjoyed sitting out and taking...More

Thank Tour825984
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Michelle F, Thank you for your review about your visit to GlenWood, our beautiful estate. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to hosting you again, when you next time visit Franschhoek with the most beautiful scenery and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A fine day out wine tasting at various wineries. Despite being held up for an hour in. a traffic jam on N1 the Tram team got us to our destination in double quick time. We travelled on the Green Line which included Rickety Bridge, Holden...More

Thank Stephen C
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Stephen C, Thank you for your review about your experience on the Franschhoek Wine Tram and GlenWood in particular. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had the most extraordinary personalized tour of the winemaker, including the intricacies of winemaking by the winemaker at Glenwood.More

1  Thank elharrisjr
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Elharrisjr Thank you very much for you excellent review of the Vine-to-Bottle Tour at GlenWood. Your review confirms our belief that guests appreciate being exposed to the entire wine growing and making process from the farm to the cellar, enhanced by tasting our wines...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really good and interesting cellar & vineyard tour with lots of information by the winemaker himself.More

1  Thank Jens O
Trek821084, Manager at Glenwood Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jens O Thank you very much for your superb review of your Vine-To-Bottle Tour at GlenWood. We believe that guests appreciate being exposed to the entire process from the farm to the cellar, enhanced by tasting our wines en route; hence the scope of...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Leeu Estates
133 reviews
2.09 km away
Mont Rochelle
685 reviews
2.53 km away
Franschhoek Country House & Villas
915 reviews
2.77 km away
The Last Word Franschhoek
578 reviews
3.36 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 101 nearby restaurants
Monneaux Restaurant
446 reviews
2.80 km away
Village Grill and Butcher
236 reviews
2.80 km away
Rotisserie Restaurant
273 reviews
3.40 km away
Grande Provence Estate Restaurant
790 reviews
2.34 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 91 nearby attractions
Rickety Bridge Winery
278 reviews
2.10 km away
Grand Provence Estate
431 reviews
2.34 km away
Leopard's Leap
111 reviews
3.39 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Glenwood Vineyards staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines