We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ventura Wildlife Park

Features Animals
Van Hage, Amwell Hill, Great Amwell, Ware SG12 9RP, England
+44 1920 870418
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Seriously?

What an absolute joke this place is........ it is located in Van Hages a place I have taken my... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
RosPaterson
,
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely little wildlife park

I took my son here today to feed the wallabies and kangaroos. It was brilliant! The staff are very... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
swind0nnicki
,
Swindon, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 83 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Ventura Wildlife Park is a unique and interactive wildlife park located just 20 minutes north of London on the outskirts of Ware, Hertfordshire. The park is home to over 45 different species of wild animal from around the world including zebra, kangaroo, fossa, lemur, reindeer, parrot, and many reptiles. We also house a number of rarely seen species which cannot be seen anywhere else in the UK, such as the Cuban hutia and red rumped agouti. Adventurers of all ages can enjoy a range of daily interactive animal feeding demonstrations, keeper talks and shows whilst for those looking to go behind the scenes we offer a range of VIP Animal Experiences including the opportunity to 'Meet the Lemurs' & ‘Meet the Wallabies'. We offer an extensive range of educational visits and welcome groups of all sizes, ages and abilities.The 'Explorers Lodge’ provides an interesting exploration themed education & events centre, creating the perfect space for educational visits, meetings and events.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good18%
  • Average6%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“van hage” (10 reviews)
“garden centre” (18 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:30 - 16:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Van Hage, Amwell Hill, Great Amwell, Ware SG12 9RP, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1920 870418
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"van hage"
in 10 reviews
"garden centre"
in 18 reviews
"worth every penny"
in 5 reviews
"keep up the good work"
in 5 reviews
"enjoyed our visit"
in 2 reviews
"birthday treat"
in 2 reviews
"entry fee"
in 2 reviews
"whole family"
in 2 reviews
"family ticket"
in 2 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 2 reviews
"their website"
in 2 reviews
"year olds"
in 2 reviews
"free parking"
in 2 reviews
"look forward"
in 2 reviews
"great value for money"
in 2 reviews
"miniature railway"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

What an absolute joke this place is........ it is located in Van Hages a place I have taken my grandchildren many times at different times of the year. So....We thought this new Ventura Wildlife Park would be on a par with Van Hage? Couldn't be...More

Thank RosPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, Front Office Manager at Ventura Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for visiting and sharing your comments. I would like to point out that we are an independent business and a separate organisation to Van Hage. Firstly, I am very disappointed that you only spent 10 minutes at our zoo, especially when your hand...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I took my son here today to feed the wallabies and kangaroos. It was brilliant! The staff are very friendly and attentive; the bonus of a smaller park. Prices are good, and you can have a cup of tea for £1.50 😱 Lots of free...More

Thank swind0nnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, Front Office Manager at Ventura Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind comments. We are delighted to hear that your little one had a great time on one of our behind the scenes experiences and we hope to welcome you back on site soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

It's only a small zoo, but I felt the admission price reflected that - we paid £17 for one adult and two children. On a hot sunny day, it was fine to walk around, although one or two of the exhibits were impossible to view...More

Thank Aidan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, Front Office Manager at Ventura Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking this to visit our park and leave a review. We are glad you had an enjoyable time spent with us and hopefully managed to catch a few of our keeper talks. We hope to welcome you on site again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a very enjoyable lemur experience bought through a Groupon voucher. Yes the place could do with being bigger but we were informed there are going to be more animals and enclosures added shortly. Natasha who did our lemur tour was excellent and very knowledgeable...More

Thank Vailant-hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, Front Office Manager at Ventura Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time spent at the park and delighted to hear that Natasha made your stay so enjoyable. We hope to see you visiting again shortly when we have some...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We visited on Saturday and were disappointed our 3.5 year old - who loves animals, was only entertained enough to spend 23 minutes in there. You do provide talks to extend the visit, but with a ‘full of beans’ toddler we didn’t feel able to...More

Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, Front Office Manager at Ventura Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for visiting Ventura Wildlife Park and taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy you visit to us. We understand that you may not have wanted to attend the keeper talks, however our shows...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

There are plenty of creatures to see at Ventura Wildlife Park. There's creepy crawlies and furry ones and it's very interactive. There are opportunities to see animals being fed and you can have an experience for an extra charge if you book in advance. There's...More

Thank therichastill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, Front Office Manager at Ventura Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you had an enjoyable day spent with us and hope to see you visiting again shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Whenever I visit here I can always find something new and exciting to buy. Whether it's the surprise of 20% off in M&S or an unusual lamp in either John Lewis or Next. The staff in Next where excellent in helping us to carry to...More

Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, Front Office Manager at Ventura Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi Beverly, I'm afraid you have submitted a review to the wrong company. We are a small, interactive Wildlife Park located in Ware.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

Beautiful landscaped and well looked after. Wife and I visited with our 1 year old on Monday while our older kids were in school. I appreciate that they are separate from van hage but as we had visited their small animal enclosure then paid only...More

Thank toast2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, Front Office Manager at Ventura Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a wonderful review. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated by all our team here at Ventura Wildlife Park. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your day spent with us and will...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Really enjoyed the experience with the lemurs. Half an hour of pure joy! Plenty of food to give them, plenty of photo opportunities. Knowledgeable ranger. Enjoyed the little show with the various animals. A very pleasant few hours.More

Thank Cescasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, Manager at Ventura Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to leave us a review, it is greatly appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your behind the scenes Lemur experience, as well as having the time to experience one of our Animal...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

I’m giving the title unfair as I did not like this zoo at all. The zebras have no room to run and shouldn’t be here. The kangaroos were happy enough but the big red ones need more room to run. I asked before I went...More

1  Thank Tinyyorkielover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley P, Front Office Manager at Ventura Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your review. I would firstly like to point out that we are a separate organisation to Van Hage and our wildlife park has nothing to do with them. All of our snakes are housed inside their enclosures and where they are located...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Great Amwell Hotels
Premier Inn Ware Hotel
260 reviews
1.50 km away
Fanhams Hall Hotel
768 reviews
3.27 km away
Cinnabar Hertford Hotel
146 reviews
3.92 km away
Salisbury Arms Hotel
322 reviews
4.04 km away
Nearby Restaurants
George IV
234 reviews
.40 km away
The Waggon & Horses / Choppy's
207 reviews
.30 km away
Beefeater Ware
293 reviews
1.47 km away
Cafe VH
165 reviews
.02 km away
Nearby Attractions
River Lea
117 reviews
1.83 km away
Rye-assic Adventure Park
112 reviews
3.21 km away
Rye Meads Nature Reserve
105 reviews
3.09 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ventura Wildlife Park staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit