We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Thompson's Bell

335 Dover Road, Walmer CT14 7NX, England
+44 1304 694241
Save
Review Highlights
Disapointing

Had a short pit stop for a drink,ordered a quality brand cognac,which was served in a Jack Daniels... read more

Reviewed 31 March 2018
Ray H
,
Kristiansund, Norway
Enjoyable Sunday Lunch

Following a trip to Walmer Castle, time to warm up with food and beer was resolved when we spotted... read more

Reviewed 17 December 2017
Mark A
via mobile
Read all 16 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good12%
  • Average0%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
31 Mar 2018
“Disapointing”
17 Dec 2017
“Enjoyable Sunday Lunch ”
LOCATION
335 Dover Road, Walmer CT14 7NX, England
CONTACT
+44 1304 694241
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

1 - 10 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Had a short pit stop for a drink,ordered a quality brand cognac,which was served in a Jack Daniels whisky glass,not impressed at all very amature,will not go back again.More

Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Landlady at The Thompson's Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I would like to apologise for giving you a Jack Daniels bourbon whiskey Glass. It was not amateurish unfortunately due to theft and breakage of some our Glassware I did not have a cognac glass at hand. If you had brought it to my attention...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Following a trip to Walmer Castle, time to warm up with food and beer was resolved when we spotted the Sunday Lunch sign outside the Thompson’s Bell Pub. A friendly atmosphere at the bar and ample seating in the dining area, we settled in and...More

Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

fROM THE FIRST TIME i VISITED THE THOMSON'S BELL FOR A SUNDAY LUNCH, TOGETHER WITH MY GOOD FRIEND, JUNE, who is 93 years old I have returned almost every Sunday for nearly two years now. The portions are EXCELLENT, well cooked, and very very tasty....More

Thank des c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We went to the pub last Sunday with a group comprising of 5 adults and two children as soon as we arrived we was made to feel at home I (Anthony) have problems medically so explained that i could only eat little portions wow not...More

Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

went into pub at weekend, there was some football thugs (west brom I think) sitting giving racist comments and worst of all 'landlady' laughing at these idiots when she should have showed them the door! Made a quick exit, went next door to the 'Freed...More

2  Thank Jack d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C, Owner at The Thompson's Bell, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

I do apologise if you felt this way in the Thompson bell on that particular Sunday afternoon. In regards to your comment I would like to take this opportunity to correct a some of what you have said. On that Sunday in question the match...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016 via mobile

Great music combined with good food well priced drinks and lovely staff make a good evening out. Themed evenings are always fun.

Thank JacquiOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015

We often Drive down from London for the w/end and always make a point of revisiting this pub always a welcoming smile from the staff a great family friendly pub with lots of fun on a Saturday night and does a cracking Sunday lunch .

Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

We came up to walmer for the week end, and we had Sunday dinner here and it was absolutely lovely, couldn't complain about anything, the bar staff was friendly, and you would think that youve been coming here for years how welcoming the costumers and...More

1  Thank Keeley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015 via mobile

This pub is soon to be my in-law's local as they are moving there. The bar staff already knew them by name which is so welcoming and introduced themselves to us. Have been told their food is lovely which we didn't have because they wasn't...More

2  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2015 via mobile

Lovely pub, friendly happy staff who are very polite. This pub went a bit down hill after the last management and its nice to see the pub coming back together. Had a lovely meal with plenty of choice. nice fire going, pool table and darts....More

2  Thank Abbey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Walmer Hotels
Sutherland House
81 reviews
1.97 km away
Queen Street Hotel
31 reviews
2.61 km away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
288 reviews
2.71 km away
Waterfront Hotel
131 reviews
2.75 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Hayman's Kitchen
66 reviews
.06 km away
The Corner
45 reviews
1.17 km away
Castle Fish Bar
49 reviews
.01 km away
Saffron Indian Takeaway
43 reviews
1.46 km away
Nearby Attractions
Walmer Castle and Gardens
889 reviews
.94 km away
Walmer Beach
94 reviews
1.04 km away
The Freed Man
34 reviews
.01 km away
The Berry
31 reviews
1.58 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joan H
8 January 2016|
Answer
Response from Anne C |
Sorry I have just seen your question . We do not do lunch on a Saturday normally. If booked for ten or more in a block booking we can accommodate it maybe to late for this request hopefully in the future this Answer may help.
0
Votes
;