We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sun Buggy & ATV Fun Rentals - Pismo Beach

Open Now: 08:00 - 20:00
Open today: 08:00 - 20:00
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
All photos (127)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“pismo beach”(28 reviews)
“sand dunes”(20 reviews)
“these guys”(7 reviews)
ATVs, UTVs, and Dune Buggy rentals right on the beach. The only State Parks Certified Vendor to have ATVs, UTVs, and Dune Buggies all in one place, By Far Sun Buggie has the newest fleet of the Best Name brand vehicles, and the best safety record in...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 08:00 - 20:00
See all hours
328 Pier Ave, Oceano, CA 93445-9730
+1 805-244-9721
Improve This Listing
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
More languages
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pismo beach sand dunes these guys safety video nice staff five minutes an accident rental process answered all of our questions hour rental two hours starting point a couple times toed shoes slow down first timers spring break
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2019

This is the second time we've rented ATV's in Pismo, and while there are many companies to choose from Sunbuggie Fun Rentals was the best of them. We were actually shown an instructional video which was helpful to me since it was only my second...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Lisa N
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

Alex was awesome and we felt so safe after his training talk. Best guy ever. Jeff checked us in and was very attentive when I explained what needed to be adjusted.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank DocMorganS
Reviewed 31 December 2018

So many things wrong with this company! - We had a 2-hour reservation starting at 10 am reservation, showed up promptly at 9 am as instructed. The office was chaotic, not staffed with enough people to handle the holiday crowds. By the time we got...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank cindytata
Reviewed 19 November 2018 via mobile

Great time riding the dunes. Staff super friendly and accommodating as we needed to switch out the machines. Vehicles were well loved but in good working order. My kids are already trying to reorganize our Thanksgiving trip to fit in a second day of riding......More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank DougM611
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

We were 11 in our group and we had a blast in our first ATV experience. Staff was friendly and very informative. Only down side is one of our ATV kept on dying on us. They sent another one, but it didnt work too. We...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank mayrl0907
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

We had a good time Larry was very helpful and very knowledgeable about the route. My 4 Wheeler got stuck he help me right away. Thanks so much Larry you were great. Ask for Larry to be your tour guy👍🏾👍🏾

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank norrice w
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Worst experience ever— ruined what should have been fun group experience. They rented us a defective dune buggy that got stuck in the dunes 15 minutes after starting. Despite several calls with the staff assuring us we would have someone help us in 5-10 minutes,...More

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Gordon R
SunBuggy, Manager at Sun Buggy & ATV Fun Rentals - Pismo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

It is indeed a shame that unscrupulous individuals would attempt to extort money from upstanding businesses by being disingenuous. Our policy clearly states that any ride time lost due to mechanical failures will be compensated for with additional ride time only. You cannot have an...More

Reviewed 11 September 2018

Rented a dune buggy at Sun Buggy Fun Rental near Pismo Beach. Looking forward to a fun smooth ride in the dunes (something I always wanted to do). It was an old machine w/ worn out shocks and super rough ride. The belt broke about...More

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Tami S
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

We are a family of 5 (10 year old twins and. 13 year old). We rented the cinco which was actually a 6 seater dune buggy. I was afraid my teen wouldn’t like being a passenger and prefer to drive but he did have a...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank tobshan
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our quad bike riding in the dunes! Staff were friendly and helped to settle our 9 year old in! Riding for all abilities and confidence levels, can highly recommend!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank F803EFrebeccac
View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Pacific Plaza Hotel
74 reviews
.26 km away
Oceano Inn
42 reviews
.54 km away
Holiday Inn Express Grover Beach-Pismo Beach Area
255 reviews
3.26 km away
Motel 6 Pismo Beach
194 reviews
3.28 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 7 nearby restaurants
Old Juan's Cantina
227 reviews
.53 km away
The Spoon Trade
131 reviews
1.85 km away
Rock N Roll Diner
185 reviews
.62 km away
Sylvesters Burgers
51 reviews
1.66 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 13 nearby attractions
Pismo State Beach
108 reviews
.37 km away
Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreation Area
145 reviews
.23 km away
Pacific Adventure Tours
39 reviews
.69 km away
The Locked Inn
7 reviews
1.11 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
11 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Djriva5 | Reviewed this property |
14 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SDCA312 | Reviewed this property |
IMHO the dune buggies are much safer because they have better stability (wider wheel base), you are protected by the vehicle's cage, wear helmets and buckled up with seat belts. With the ATVs you only have the helmets... More
Jake M
9 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kale M | Reviewed this property |
They told us immediate on a refund and it’s taken over 8 days not there yet. Manager won’t answer phone.