We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Elephant and Castle

Open Now: 12:00 - 23:00
Open today: 12:00 - 23:00
Review Highlights
Annual family get together.

We had our annual family get together at this lovely country pub. 8 adults and 4 kids coming from... read more

Reviewed 28 September 2018
mandj5355
,
Chichester, United Kingdom
Very Pleasant Experience

A dozen walkers, welcomed and well attended to throughout our visit. No complaints about the... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2018
Patrick K
Read all 87 reviews
8
All photos (8)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(14 reviews)
“quick bite”(2 reviews)
About
Family friendly Pub with great food, two large gardens and ample parking. Dog friendly dining area and garden as well as a quiet bar and garden. Bookings is recommended particularly at weekend. Choice of five real ales including local brews.
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 - 23:00
See all hours
Contact
Amwell Lane, Wheathampstead, St Albans AL4 8EA, England
Website
+44 1582 832175
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
39
26
7
5
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
39
26
7
5
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub lovely location quick bite roast potatoes pudding for sunday lunch main bar friendly atmosphere little gem great place to visit well worth a visit grub table harpenden
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to visit after a walk if your dog is a bit muddy and your child needs a rest! Very welcoming and helpful staff.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Giuseppe V
Joe M, General Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for the kind words. We hope to see you all again soon

Reviewed 11 October 2018

A return visit to an excellent Pub, this time we took one of our group who is having temporary vision issues along with his wonderful German Shepherd Dog. Staff as always very helpful & polite. As soon as we sat down one of the staff...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank dchalk2017
Joe M, General Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Hi It is always pleasing to hear that our customers are happy. I will pass your kind words on to the team and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Many thanks

Reviewed 28 September 2018

We had our annual family get together at this lovely country pub. 8 adults and 4 kids coming from all parts of the country and all were catered for. Very nice ambience and good grub! This was our second visit and we will be back...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank mandj5355
Joe M, General Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to catering for your family again soon 😁

Reviewed 23 August 2018

A dozen walkers, welcomed and well attended to throughout our visit. No complaints about the food. Look forward to our next visit

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Patrick K
Joe M, General Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Many thanks Patrick for taking the time to give us a positive review. I am so pleased that your party enjoyed their time with us. I will pass on you kind words to the team. We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

Reviewed 7 August 2018

Food was good but no service. Everything had to be done at bar even picking up the menus. 3 young lads behind bar chatting but the only thing they did was to bring our drinks and main courses to table. Needless to say we did...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Davina2606
Joe M, Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi again Davina I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. We pride ourselves on providing good service at all times. We are first and foremost a traditional English pub providing good real ales and home cooked food. As such we expect customers...More

Reviewed 16 July 2018

A great location near Harpenden with a big garden front and rear. Beer selection is excellent and food good value.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Craig T
Joe M, General Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Glad you enjoyed your visit to the Elephant and Castle Craig. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 17 June 2018

If there was a gold medal for bland food, this place would win! We had jacket potatoes with chilli con carne. I don't think a chilli had got anywhere near my plate! And the accompanying salad was something I might give my rabbit - a...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Ed H
Joe M, General Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. French salad dressing, olive oil, and other dressings are always freely available with your meal so there was obviously a misunderstanding for which I apologise. Our chilli dishes are cooked to order as are the...More

Reviewed 5 June 2018

We thought, for my birthday, we would try this quaint, beautiful looking country pub. Glorious sunshine, what could possibly go wrong. Well.....if you remember the 1970's you will appreciate how overcooked everything was and, if you were particularly poor, how frozen all foods were and...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Burgy70
Joe M, General Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

So sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your meal. It is a shame that you didn't make your feelings clear on the day. We record all complaints that are made and we had none at all last Sunday nor indeed on any Sunday...More

Reviewed 29 May 2018

The service, though pleasant, was very slow indeed! An hour is too long to wait for a starter, then another long wait for the main course. I appreciate the apologies we received, but it could have been much better and spoilt the occasion. The food...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank morisot
Joe M, General Manager at Elephant and Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

I am so sorry that our service let you down. We were aware that customers were waiting longer than they should reasonably expect during lunch service on Tuesday. When we opened at 12 there was a queue of people who ordered lunch all at the...More

Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Visited for lunch on a lovely day and sat out in the garden - really pleasant. Food was good service fine and owner very warm and friendly - thanks

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank T8151GXgregs
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Brocket Hall
97 reviews
4.67 km away
Ardmore House
608 reviews
5.51 km away
Premier Inn St Albans City Centre Hotel
902 reviews
5.97 km away
Hangar Hotel Hatfield
24 reviews
6.24 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 16 nearby restaurants
Charlie's
115 reviews
1.45 km away
The Golden Elephant
206 reviews
1.28 km away
Nihao
48 reviews
1.33 km away
Miller & Carter Wheathampstead
596 reviews
1.40 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 5 nearby attractions
Wheathampstead Heritage Trail
39 reviews
1.32 km away
Aldwickbury Park Golf Club
47 reviews
2.06 km away
Harpenden Common Golf Club
29 reviews
2.86 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Elephant and Castle staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines