We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Zoo de Santillana

Features Animals
Closed Now: 09:30 - 21:00
Open today: 09:30 - 21:00
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Great Zoo

Ignore the negativity in other reviews and judge for yourself. Lots of animals, and well looked... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
PeteJ196
via mobile
Small but a must do.

My children and I used to volunteer here in the 80's. It was smaller then but is now well... read more

Reviewed 1 September 2017
nmph2017
,
Bendigo, Australia
Read all 561 reviews
342
All photos (342)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good36%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
3 days ago
“Great Zoo”
19 May 2018
“Most of the animals would be better off dead”
About
Santillana Zoo is a 41 year old zoo where you will enjoy more than 2000 animals from all over the planet in a surface bigger than 6 football fields... You will enjoy the magic of the Butterfy house and more than 40 European endangered species...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:30 - 21:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
Avda. del Zoo, 2 | A 800m de la villa medieval de Santillana de Mar, 39330, Santillana del Mar, Spain
Website
+34 942 81 81 25
Call
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
6
3
3
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
6
3
3
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Ignore the negativity in other reviews and judge for yourself. Lots of animals, and well looked after. Lots of food for animals and lots of staff maintaining and cleaning enclosures. Butterfly house is easily one of the best wildlife attractions I’ve been to! Friendly staff...More

Thank PeteJ196
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you very much Pete for your nice explanation about the staff and the enclosures of the zoo. When someone gives us such a great opinion is when our work makes sense. Thank you again and see you son!

Reviewed 19 May 2018

This is s horrible place. The large animals have insufficient space. The live on concrete with no greenery. They are either suffering from complete misery or must have been drugged. The smaller animals pace and space as there is no room to move further. Even...More

2  Thank Harrysmumanddad
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Sir: I am sorry to hear such a negative comments. We are member of EAZA (European Association of Zoos and Aquaria, https://www.eaza.net) and one of its objetives is ensuring that its member zoos and aquariums achieve and maintain the highest standards of care and...More

Reviewed 8 September 2017

Although we had read the reviews against my better judgement we visited this zoo. It was not quite as bad as I expected and not as bad as another zoo I visited in the north some years ago. However, I left feeling very sad rather...More

3  Thank gone2asturias
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

I'm sorry you felt like that but if you have the opportunity, please come back whenever you can and I'll explain you many things that may change your opinion about us.

Reviewed 1 September 2017

My children and I used to volunteer here in the 80's. It was smaller then but is now well advertised.

1  Thank nmph2017
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment and the mark you give us! See you soon

Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

The zoo does not have the concept of animal welfare, the orangutang cage has concrete floor and nails projecting, bear cage concrete floor, enclosures not big enough for the type of animal, social animals held alone. There is a stream with a concrete channel through...More

3  Thank rdsp430
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

I'm sorry about such a bad opinion evethough I do respect it. Anyway, thank you for your comments

Reviewed 27 May 2017 via mobile

We thought that it could have been a bit expensive at €20, but it's well worth it. A large area with an excellent variety of animals.

Thank Dennis C
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thank you very much for your comment and see you soon!

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

No words to describe this awful run down zoo .Animals in horrific conditions , small dirty enclosures hence very smelly !! Rabbits in wire bottomed cages no food, peeing etc onto the concrete floor underneath them what a stench ! No grass or runs for...More

1  Thank Deborah G
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

We are sorry you felt like that... Anyway, we appreciate your opinion, thank you and have a good day.

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

Although the weather was not cooperating we had so much fun in that zoo! Animals are displayed so that you can see them well and even interact with some. Monkeys are especially funny. My kids have been in many zoos around the world and I...More

Thank Anna T
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much! See you soon!

Reviewed 14 September 2015 via mobile

Massive zoo! Strongly recommend to visit if you are somewhere around!:) also it have couple cosy cafe places and refreshments!

Thank Dija N
ZoodeSantillana, Manager at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Thank you very much and see you soon!

Reviewed 27 August 2015

The birds and smaller animals are all ok and the zoo has a nice atmosphere. The problem is that all the large mammals look like they are in concrete cages built 30 years ago. Very small enclosures badly in need of replacing. The male chimpanzee...More

1  Thank Ewen Cameron Z
ZoodeSantillana, Gerente at Zoo de Santillana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback, it helps us improve.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Santillana del Mar
Los Hidalgos Apartments
93 reviews
.52 km away
Casona Los Caballeros
162 reviews
.77 km away
Hotel Salldemar
46 reviews
.79 km away
Hotel Cuevas
54 reviews
.80 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 54 restaurants in Santillana del Mar
Descanso Altamira
12 reviews
.92 km away
El Bisonte Rojo
1 065 reviews
.72 km away
EL Pasaje de Los Nobles
1 292 reviews
1.03 km away
Pizzeria Bitinia
659 reviews
.81 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 25 attractions in Santillana del Mar
Escuela de Surf El Pico
19 reviews
1.07 km away
Plaza Mayor de Ramon y Pelayo
659 reviews
1.09 km away
Calle de Juan Infante
187 reviews
1.03 km away
Collegiate Church of Santillana del Mar
759 reviews
1.29 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Zoo de Santillana staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines