We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thorntree Tours and Safaris Day Tours

Features Animals

Thorntree Tours and Safaris Day Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
4
All photos (4)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good4%
  • Average8%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible4%
5 Apr 2017
“Would the term miracle worker be inappropriate? I think not.”
18 Oct 2016
“Thorntree Tours is top class”
About
Thorntree Tours and Safaris offer safe excursions around Johannesburg. Safe airport transfers pick up from the airport to local hotel/Guest House/Lodge in Madikwe, Pilanesberg, or other longer distance areas in our luxury vehicles, up to 44 people...more
Contact
5 Teak Street | Sharonlea, Randburg 2194, South Africa
Website
+27 83 959 0800
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
19
1
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
19
1
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Thorntree tours and Lyn Mansfield were able to put together a great two day safari for my friends and I while we were in South Africa with less than 48 hours notice. I contacted Lyn, extremely last minute and asked her if she could put...More

Date of experience: March 2017
2  Thank muer7osunavez
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Lyn of Thorntree Tours is a top class tour organiser, this is the second time we have dealt with Lyn. This time we had a group of 22, our flight from London was delayed so this meant we missed the next flight from Jo Burg...More

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Kay_omahony
Lyn M, Owner at Thorntree Tours and Safaris Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Dear Kay, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your trip last week. Even though you missed your flight to Nelspruit, everything went off without a hitch, for which I am grateful. The group was lovely, such super people, relaxed and happy...More

Reviewed 2 August 2016

Thorntree Tours and Safaris are extremely reliable and professional. We had a arranged a day trip with Lyn (owner of Thorntree) a few months back and her knowledge about "all things South Africa" is outstanding. I would highly recommend them.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank EscapeCycleTours
Reviewed 6 May 2016

I requested a breakdown of an invoice I sent to her in Oct 2015. Unfortunately and I'm still unable to fathom out why, she refuses to reply to my emails, cuts me off immediately if I try and phone and has blocked me from WhatsApp....More

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Mike A
ThornteeTours, Owner at Thorntree Tours and Safaris Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

The invoice you refer to has nothing whatsoever to do with my conduct as a Tour Operator. You worked as a driver and because of your unprofessional conduct , damaging my newly refurbished trailer, then again causing damage to another brand new trailer including denting...More

Reviewed 10 February 2016

I don't even know where to begin. I can't believe our luck when we came across Lyn's brochure! We were half way through our week and we came across Lyn and I wish we had met her sooner! I can say without a doubt that...More

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank 539kennyy
ThornteeTours, Owner at Thorntree Tours and Safaris Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2016

Hey Kenny and Nicholas, I enjoyed my two days with you so much, it was super seeing your delight at meeting the elephants and tiger cubs. It was an absolute pleasure being with both of you, and I appreciate your support and also taking the...More

Reviewed 10 February 2016

Lyn and Thorntree Tours were highly recommended by the hotel I was staying in so I called her and simply said: "I want to meet some lion cubs!" So Lyn picked me up and we drove to the Lion Park, just outside Johannesburg on her...More

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Crawfosi170
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Thank you Lyn, the visits on 3rd & 4th Feb 2016 to Pilanesberg and Soweto have been great experiences on its own, but your great personality, knowledge and experience have made it unforgettable. Massive well done !! Jordi

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank sirchals
Reviewed 8 February 2016

I really enjoyed Lyn (guide) knowledge, she has a excellent disposition with us (we were 3) and visits to Soweto, reserve was really great.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Cristian E
Reviewed 17 January 2016

We had a day in transit in Johannesburg and wanted a safe and interesting way for our two families of 4 to experience Jo'burg and Soweto. Lyn was our guide and driver for the day and we had an outstanding day with her. She was...More

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank RosieM45
ThornteeTours, Owner at Thorntree Tours and Safaris Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Hello Rosie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure to share with you what our country is all about. Your children were all lovely, sweet and a pleasure on the trip. I thank you for your support and...More

Reviewed 3 April 2015

If you are looking for a trusted advisor then Lyn is the one you need. We had 2 weeks to spend in Southern Africa and wanted to visit at least Cape Town, Soweto and Kruger. Lyn added to that Victoria Falls (Zimbabwe) and Chobe National...More

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Danny D
ThornteeTours, Owner at Thorntree Tours and Safaris Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2015

Dear Danny and Ann, thank you for your review of your holiday. It was my pleasure to welcome you back to show Ann this beautiful country. Glad you enjoyed your trip. There is still more to see, so i look forward to your return trip.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
The Janana Guesthouse
11 reviews
1.90 km away
Mercure Johannesburg Randburg
183 reviews
4.44 km away
City Lodge Hotel Bryanston
69 reviews
4.52 km away
Sierra Square Hotel
54 reviews
4.69 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 184 nearby restaurants
RocoMamas Bel Air
27 reviews
1.34 km away
Picanha
28 reviews
.93 km away
O'Galete
7 reviews
.14 km away
Cafe del Sol Classico
912 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 49 nearby attractions
Chicago's Piano Bar
39 reviews
4.02 km away
Bryanston Country Club
33 reviews
3.89 km away
Black Ops Advanced Tactical Laser Tag
11 reviews
2.66 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
neilb790
3 December 2016|
Answer
Response from ThornteeTours | Property representative |
Hello Neil, Thanks for your enquiry. I cant see which review you are referring to, but if you give me an idea of what it contained, I can put together a draft itinerary for those dates, once I have determined what... More
0
Votes