We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apex Shark Expeditions

Features Animals
Quayside Buidling | Shop no 3, Main Road, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
+27 79 051 8558
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
No sharks, but other highlights!

Apex is very good about communicating with their clientele. We rescheduled our trip for a day later... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Blondeee85
,
Minnesota
Best service

I would like to commend Apex. We had booked a trip with them but due to the poor sightings they... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Smaug_11
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 312 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Join Chris & Monique Fallows of Discovery Channel's Air Jaws series on your own AIR JAWS shark tour. Experience a morning or afternoon trip to see the Great White Sharks of Seal Island breaching and hunting.Get up close and personal, view the sharks in their own watery environment from the safety of a cage - all this in one trip!
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good6%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“cage dive” (26 reviews)
“chris fallows” (20 reviews)
“false bay” (39 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Quayside Buidling | Shop no 3, Main Road, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 79 051 8558

Similar Things to Do in Simon's Town

Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cage dive"
in 26 reviews
"chris fallows"
in 20 reviews
"false bay"
in 39 reviews
"seal island"
in 60 reviews
"boat crew"
in 6 reviews
"bait ball"
in 4 reviews
"white trail"
in 6 reviews
"crew members"
in 7 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 15 reviews
"great communication"
in 5 reviews
"marine life"
in 13 reviews
"mossel bay"
in 7 reviews
"these amazing creatures"
in 4 reviews
"cancelled due"
in 10 reviews
"wet suit"
in 7 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 8 reviews
"cape town"
in 57 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Apex is very good about communicating with their clientele. We rescheduled our trip for a day later based on the sea conditions. They also made us fully aware that shark sightings had been little to none recently and we proceeded knowing these items. We did...More

Thank Blondeee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would like to commend Apex. We had booked a trip with them but due to the poor sightings they booked us on an operator in Gansbaai. Up until two days before the trip I had been speaking to the office to check if they...More

1  Thank Smaug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A long journey to see no sharks - a very expensive trip to simply sit on a boat - very disappointed! 😣More

Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the review. We understand your disappointment. It is a long way to travel to see no sharks. As we are dealing with many variables, including nature, wildlife and weather, we advise our guests whose main reason for coming to South Africa to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We were scheduled to go out with APEX, but they said the chances of seeing Great Whites would be very low given the increase in the number of Killer Whales. They arranged our expedition in Mossel Bay with a sister company (took care of the...More

Thank mrcus50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

So happy to hear you had a great experience, 9 sharks is just spectacular. We always advise our guests upfront about the sightings and where the best possible location is to see them at that time as this keeps changing. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I attended the Apex tours with my father for 3 times and each time it was an extraordinary experience. We were very fortunate to meet the shark on every occasion, but in any case it would be worth just for the incredible show offered by...More

Thank marconista77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thanks ever so much for the great review. Appreciate you taking the time out of your day. Hope to see you and your father again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

hi folks , I booked a trip months in advance with apex . from start to finish they we're excellent with there correspondence , I got to south Africa only to be informed by Bernie one of the owners of apex that there hadn't been...More

Thank plum569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thanks for the great review! Really appreciate your time and happy to hear you had such good sightings of sharks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

I booked my shark cage expedition with Apex. Unfortunately the trip was cancelled due to the bad weather. I was so disappointed... but Bernie and Renee was there. They told me, I’m having a lot of chance to see the great white shark in Mossel...More

Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the season for white shark sitings ended before I arrived, however, Renee worked tirelessly to get me booked on a trip out of gansbaai. Even facing weather cancellations and low sitings, she still managed to get me booked with a partner company out of...More

Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Fantastic that you got to see a shark even though the journey was fraught with obstacles. Where there is a will, there is way and Renee really does go the extra mile to help guests achieve their dream of seeing a great white shark. Thank...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

My husband really wanted to go shark diving during our trip to Cape Town, but we didn't want to spend an entire day going to Gansbaai, so we opted for the False Bay excursion. We were contacted a few days prior to our trip to...More

Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Thank you for the review. Good advice on the sea sickness medication. We operate our trips with the smallest group of guests in the industry ensuring our guests enjoy an intimate personalised experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We did the trip with Apex in March 2016. When we arrived a day before the trip the really nice office lady told us about the issue that there were just a few sharks seen from the boat recently and offered fully refunding us if...More

Thank Llyrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12345630
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Simon's Town Hotels
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
411 reviews
2.33 km away
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
49 reviews
7.24 km away
Check Inn
39 reviews
10.54 km away
Colona Castle
93 reviews
11.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Seaforth
699 reviews
1.18 km away
Cafe Penguino
55 reviews
1.14 km away
Boulders Beach Lodge and Restaurant
293 reviews
.50 km away
Sophea Gallery and Tibetan Teahouse
25 reviews
.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
Boulders Beach
5 456 reviews
1.11 km away
Boulders Penguin Colony
1 116 reviews
.85 km away
Shark Warrior Adventures
18 reviews
1.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Smaug_11
28 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from UltimateAirJaws | Property representative |
Hi There We do offer scuba to guests who are scuba certified however the best way to view the sharks is to listen to the communication from the bait handler as to when to go underwater and what direction the shark is coming... More
0
Votes
Barbara B
25 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from UltimateAirJaws | Property representative |
These are good tips below. You can also wear a rash vest under the wetsuit to keep you warmer. A good quality waterproof is a must.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12345