We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Apex Shark Expeditions

Is this your business?
Features Animals
Quayside Buidling | Shop no 3, Main Road, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa
Save
Review Highlights
Highly recommended

Apex were recommended to me and they were honest enough to tell me that they had seen no great... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Chuuk
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Fabulous day out!

We transferred from cape town (right on time, worked very well!), had a lovely boat ride to Seal's... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
jhumph21
,
San Francisco, California
Read all 315 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Join Chris & Monique Fallows of Discovery Channel's Air Jaws series on your own AIR JAWS shark tour. Experience a morning or afternoon trip to see the Great White Sharks of Seal Island breaching and hunting.Get up close and personal, view the sharks in their own watery environment from the safety of a cage - all this in one trip!
  • Excellent88%
  • Very good6%
  • Average2%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“great whites” (60 reviews)
“false bay” (40 reviews)
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Quayside Buidling | Shop no 3, Main Road, Simon's Town 7975, South Africa

Similar Things to Do in Simon's Town

Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great white sharks"
in 42 reviews
"great whites"
in 60 reviews
"false bay"
in 40 reviews
"chris fallows"
in 20 reviews
"seal island"
in 60 reviews
"shark sightings"
in 13 reviews
"shark week"
in 8 reviews
"boat crew"
in 6 reviews
"sardine run"
in 3 reviews
"crew members"
in 7 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 15 reviews
"marine life"
in 13 reviews
"mossel bay"
in 7 reviews
"great communication"
in 5 reviews
"these amazing creatures"
in 4 reviews
"cancelled due"
in 10 reviews
"sea sickness"
in 8 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Apex were recommended to me and they were honest enough to tell me that they had seen no great white shark for the last 14 trips out of Simonstown.They then booked me with a sister company at Gansbaai and I had an excellent trip with...More

1  Thank Chuuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We transferred from cape town (right on time, worked very well!), had a lovely boat ride to Seal's Island, saw seals and birds and dozens of dolphins in at least three pods on the way out! The water visibility was poor but our crew was...More

Thank jhumph21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the informative review. A trip in False Bay is usually an all round marine wildlife experience. We offer the smallest groups of guests ( 12 max) in the shark cage dive industry thereby ensuring an intimate personal encounter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Apex is very good about communicating with their clientele. We rescheduled our trip for a day later based on the sea conditions. They also made us fully aware that shark sightings had been little to none recently and we proceeded knowing these items. We did...More

2  Thank Blondeee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

I would like to commend Apex. We had booked a trip with them but due to the poor sightings they booked us on an operator in Gansbaai. Up until two days before the trip I had been speaking to the office to check if they...More

1  Thank Smaug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

A long journey to see no sharks - a very expensive trip to simply sit on a boat - very disappointed! 😣More

Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for the review. We understand your disappointment. It is a long way to travel to see no sharks. As we are dealing with many variables, including nature, wildlife and weather, we advise our guests whose main reason for coming to South Africa to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

We were scheduled to go out with APEX, but they said the chances of seeing Great Whites would be very low given the increase in the number of Killer Whales. They arranged our expedition in Mossel Bay with a sister company (took care of the...More

Thank mrcus50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

So happy to hear you had a great experience, 9 sharks is just spectacular. We always advise our guests upfront about the sightings and where the best possible location is to see them at that time as this keeps changing. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I attended the Apex tours with my father for 3 times and each time it was an extraordinary experience. We were very fortunate to meet the shark on every occasion, but in any case it would be worth just for the incredible show offered by...More

Thank marconista77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Thanks ever so much for the great review. Appreciate you taking the time out of your day. Hope to see you and your father again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

hi folks , I booked a trip months in advance with apex . from start to finish they we're excellent with there correspondence , I got to south Africa only to be informed by Bernie one of the owners of apex that there hadn't been...More

Thank plum569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thanks for the great review! Really appreciate your time and happy to hear you had such good sightings of sharks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

I booked my shark cage expedition with Apex. Unfortunately the trip was cancelled due to the bad weather. I was so disappointed... but Bernie and Renee was there. They told me, I’m having a lot of chance to see the great white shark in Mossel...More

1  Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately the season for white shark sitings ended before I arrived, however, Renee worked tirelessly to get me booked on a trip out of gansbaai. Even facing weather cancellations and low sitings, she still managed to get me booked with a partner company out of...More

Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UltimateAirJaws, General Manager at Apex Shark Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Fantastic that you got to see a shark even though the journey was fraught with obstacles. Where there is a will, there is way and Renee really does go the extra mile to help guests achieve their dream of seeing a great white shark. Thank...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Simon's Town Hotels
Simon's Town Quayside Hotel and Conference Centre
429 reviews
2.34 km away
Calders Hotel & Conference Centre
51 reviews
7.24 km away
Check Inn
40 reviews
10.54 km away
Colona Castle
96 reviews
11.79 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Seaforth
731 reviews
1.18 km away
Boulders Beach Lodge and Restaurant
302 reviews
.50 km away
Cafe Penguino
62 reviews
1.14 km away
Sophea Gallery and Tibetan Teahouse
25 reviews
.99 km away
Nearby Attractions
Boulders Beach
5 619 reviews
1.11 km away
Boulders Penguin Colony
1 162 reviews
.85 km away
Shark Warrior Adventures
19 reviews
1.21 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Smaug_11
28 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from UltimateAirJaws | Property representative |
Hi There We do offer scuba to guests who are scuba certified however the best way to view the sharks is to listen to the communication from the bait handler as to when to go underwater and what direction the shark is coming... More
0
Votes
Barbara B
25 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from UltimateAirJaws | Property representative |
These are good tips below. You can also wear a rash vest under the wetsuit to keep you warmer. A good quality waterproof is a must.
0
Votes