We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

McKenzie 4x4 Hire

Sir Seretse Khama Road | Office 1A, Chelford Centre, Maun, Botswana
+267 686 1875
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Scammed out of about USD 1000

Made a booking for a 4x4, paid the deposit, never heard anything. Chased them up, "didn't receive... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
hjhstewart
,
London, United Kingdom
God scammed into paying a huge cash commission for nothing

As discussed with management of McKenzie, we are not happy with the service and feel scammed our of... read more

Reviewed 26 November 2017
Tanya198511k
Read all 6 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We hire fully kitted 4x4 vehicles for the self drive explorers to travel around Botswana. Self driving through the National Parks and Game Reserves of Botswana. We are also a small inbound travel agency for assisting in Booking of campsites in and around Botswana.
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible50%
1 week ago
“Scammed out of about USD 1000”
26 Nov 2017
“God scammed into paying a huge cash commission for nothing”
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 12:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Sir Seretse Khama Road | Office 1A, Chelford Centre, Maun, Botswana
CONTACT
Website
+267 686 1875
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter
Reviewed 1 week ago

Made a booking for a 4x4, paid the deposit, never heard anything. Chased them up, "didn't receive any deposit, no vehicles available". Paid same people again for a booking with Wild Wheels, which went fine. Res McKenzie then admitted receiving the deposit, and asked for...More

Thank hjhstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botswanakurt, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Mck4x4 did a Forex transfer to Mr Steward over 2 months ago with FNB Maun. I will follow up on this and send him the proof of payment. We sincerely apologies for any inconvenience caused.. Shelleen Accounts Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

As discussed with management of McKenzie, we are not happy with the service and feel scammed our of our money. The father-in-law of the owner recommended us this place when we spoke to him at the car dealership in Maun. We said we were looking...More

Thank Tanya198511k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botswanakurt, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Good day Tanya198511k, Thank you for your review. We only found out about this a few days after you had traveled through Maun. My father was querying it also ,as you had said to him they wanted to charge you the BWP 1,000 booking fee...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

When you visit a country on the African continent for the first time and you have to travel half around the world to get there, there will be a natural hesitation resulting in many, many questions. When you, on top of this, plan your first...More

Thank WorldcitizenPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
botswanakurt, Manager at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank You very Much WorldcitizenPortland for the great review. We hope to see you again one day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We booked a 12-day trip through Botswana (May 2017) and a fully-equipped 4x4 through McKenzies. In general, it is very difficult to book the public camp-sites (managed by different companies) and national park entrance privately as there is very limited information available online (we were...More

Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mckenzie4x4_maun, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you Peter W for your response. We are happy you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again in the future some time. We will be replacing some of our vehicles in 2018 & 2019, some of these vehicles we will have a...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Based on the rating Mckenzie4x4 gets on TripAdvisor I made my Botswana national parks bookings through them. I have paid for the accomodation and park fees 6 weeks ago. I have yet to receive my vouchers. Emails as to the status of my vouchers remain...More

2  Thank love2travelHaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mckenzie4x4_maun, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Love2travelHaarlem Our Apologies in the delay in getting your vouchers to you and responding to your emails. We hope your trip went well and all was ok. Thank You Kurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels in Maun
Cresta Riley's
141 reviews
1.72 km away
Nearby Restaurants
French Connection
88 reviews
.99 km away
Chutney Restaurant
26 reviews
1.14 km away
The Tshilli Farmstall
26 reviews
.74 km away
Pizza Plus
37 reviews
.69 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gondwana Tours & Safaris
29 reviews
5.52 km away
Air Shakawe
30 reviews
1.08 km away
Embrace Safaris
14 reviews
1.14 km away
The Old Bridge Tours and Safaris
12 reviews
6.69 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from McKenzie 4x4 Hire staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit