We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

McKenzie 4x4 Hire

Sir Seretse Khama Road | Office 1A, Chelford Centre, Maun, Botswana
+267 686 1875
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
God scammed into paying a huge cash commission for nothing

As discussed with management of McKenzie, we are not happy with the service and feel scammed our of... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Tanya198511k
Can’t wait for our next 4x4 adventure

When you visit a country on the African continent for the first time and you have to travel half... read more

Reviewed 19 October 2017
WorldcitizenPortland
,
Portland
via mobile
Read all 4 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
We hire fully kitted 4x4 vehicles for the self drive explorers to travel around Botswana. Self driving through the National Parks and Game Reserves of Botswana. We are also a small inbound travel agency for assisting in Booking of campsites in and around Botswana.
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible50%
3 weeks ago
“God scammed into paying a huge cash commission for nothing”
18 Oct 2017
“Can’t wait for our next 4x4 adventure”
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Sir Seretse Khama Road | Office 1A, Chelford Centre, Maun, Botswana
CONTACT
Website
+267 686 1875
Write a ReviewReviews (4)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As discussed with management of McKenzie, we are not happy with the service and feel scammed our of our money. The father-in-law of the owner recommended us this place when we spoke to him at the car dealership in Maun. We said we were looking...More

Thank Tanya198511k
botswanakurt, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good day Tanya198511k, Thank you for your review. We only found out about this a few days after you had traveled through Maun. My father was querying it also ,as you had said to him they wanted to charge you the BWP 1,000 booking fee...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

When you visit a country on the African continent for the first time and you have to travel half around the world to get there, there will be a natural hesitation resulting in many, many questions. When you, on top of this, plan your first...More

Thank WorldcitizenPortland
botswanakurt, Manager at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank You very Much WorldcitizenPortland for the great review. We hope to see you again one day

Reviewed 2 July 2017

We booked a 12-day trip through Botswana (May 2017) and a fully-equipped 4x4 through McKenzies. In general, it is very difficult to book the public camp-sites (managed by different companies) and national park entrance privately as there is very limited information available online (we were...More

Thank Peter W
Mckenzie4x4_maun, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you Peter W for your response. We are happy you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again in the future some time. We will be replacing some of our vehicles in 2018 & 2019, some of these vehicles we will have a...More

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Based on the rating Mckenzie4x4 gets on TripAdvisor I made my Botswana national parks bookings through them. I have paid for the accomodation and park fees 6 weeks ago. I have yet to receive my vouchers. Emails as to the status of my vouchers remain...More

2  Thank love2travelHaarlem
Mckenzie4x4_maun, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Love2travelHaarlem Our Apologies in the delay in getting your vouchers to you and responding to your emails. We hope your trip went well and all was ok. Thank You Kurt

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
French Connection
82 reviews
.99 km away
Chutney Restaurant
23 reviews
1.02 km away
The Tshilli Farmstall
19 reviews
.74 km away
Pizza Plus
34 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
Okavango Delta
717 reviews
57.35 km away
Moremi Wildlife Reserve
644 reviews
75.41 km away
Okavango River
170 reviews
10.11 km away
Mosu Safari Tours
80 reviews
10.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from McKenzie 4x4 Hire staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit