We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

McKenzie 4x4 Hire

Open Now: 09:00 - 12:00
Open today: 09:00 - 12:00
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Very Poor Service

I have paid about £4000 to McKenzie 4x4 for two trips and still have not received any of my... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2018
simongreenleaf
,
London, United Kingdom
Paid a lot and got nothing at all

10 weeks ago I paid McKenzie for some Nationalparks-Bookings. They confirmed reception of the... read more

Reviewed 16 August 2018
konrad1710
,
Mainz, Germany
Read all 9 reviews
18
All photos (18)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible67%
6 Sep 2018
“Very Poor Service”
16 Aug 2018
“Paid a lot and got nothing at all”
About
We hire fully kitted 4x4 vehicles for the self drive explorers to travel around Botswana. Self driving through the National Parks and Game Reserves of Botswana. We are also a small inbound travel agency for assisting in Booking of campsites in and...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 12:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Sir Seretse Khama Road | Office 1A, Chelford Centre, Maun, Ngamiland East, Botswana
Website
+267 686 1875
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Maun
from US$11 900,00
More Info
from US$1 500,00
More Info
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
2
0
0
0
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
2
0
0
0
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 September 2018

I have paid about £4000 to McKenzie 4x4 for two trips and still have not received any of my vouchers. My emails are ignored. I've been chasing now for five moths. I can no longer get through to their office by telephone. I've reached out...More

Thank simongreenleaf
Reviewed 16 August 2018

10 weeks ago I paid McKenzie for some Nationalparks-Bookings. They confirmed reception of the money, but since then nothing happened. No vouchers have been sent. E-Mails are simply ignored, phone-calls unanswered. I´ll pay them a visit in Maun very soon. Let`s see what happens.

1  Thank konrad1710
Reviewed 26 July 2018

I booked with McKenzie 4/4 in April 2018 and paid by bank transfer for camping and entrance fees to the National Parks. To date I have received no confirmation, When I email all I get is the runaround. I'm out $2,935.00 USD. I'm very disappointed!!...More

1  Thank ron99021
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Made a booking for a 4x4, paid the deposit, never heard anything. Chased them up, "didn't receive any deposit, no vehicles available". Paid same people again for a booking with Wild Wheels, which went fine. Res McKenzie then admitted receiving the deposit, and asked for...More

Thank hjhstewart
botswanakurt, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Mck4x4 did a Forex transfer to Mr Steward over 2 months ago with FNB Maun. I will follow up on this and send him the proof of payment. We sincerely apologies for any inconvenience caused.. Shelleen Accounts Manager

Reviewed 26 November 2017

As discussed with management of McKenzie, we are not happy with the service and feel scammed our of our money. The father-in-law of the owner recommended us this place when we spoke to him at the car dealership in Maun. We said we were looking...More

Thank Tanya198511k
botswanakurt, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Good day Tanya198511k, Thank you for your review. We only found out about this a few days after you had traveled through Maun. My father was querying it also ,as you had said to him they wanted to charge you the BWP 1,000 booking fee...More

Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

When you visit a country on the African continent for the first time and you have to travel half around the world to get there, there will be a natural hesitation resulting in many, many questions. When you, on top of this, plan your first...More

Thank WorldcitizenPortland
botswanakurt, Manager at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank You very Much WorldcitizenPortland for the great review. We hope to see you again one day

Reviewed 2 July 2017

We booked a 12-day trip through Botswana (May 2017) and a fully-equipped 4x4 through McKenzies. In general, it is very difficult to book the public camp-sites (managed by different companies) and national park entrance privately as there is very limited information available online (we were...More

Thank Peter W
Mckenzie4x4_maun, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Thank you Peter W for your response. We are happy you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again in the future some time. We will be replacing some of our vehicles in 2018 & 2019, some of these vehicles we will have a...More

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

Based on the rating Mckenzie4x4 gets on TripAdvisor I made my Botswana national parks bookings through them. I have paid for the accomodation and park fees 6 weeks ago. I have yet to receive my vouchers. Emails as to the status of my vouchers remain...More

8  Thank love2travelHaarlem
Mckenzie4x4_maun, Owner at McKenzie 4x4 Hire, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Hi Love2travelHaarlem Our Apologies in the delay in getting your vouchers to you and responding to your emails. We hope your trip went well and all was ok. Thank You Kurt

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Cresta Riley's
171 reviews
1.72 km away
Magkadigkadi Camp
3 reviews
2.21 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 29 nearby restaurants
French Connection
100 reviews
.99 km away
The Tshilli Farmstall
36 reviews
.74 km away
Chutney Restaurant
32 reviews
1.14 km away
The Red Monkey
34 reviews
.63 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 47 nearby attractions
Safari Lifestyles
10 reviews
.85 km away
Air Shakawe
39 reviews
1.08 km away
Embrace Safaris
14 reviews
1.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from McKenzie 4x4 Hire staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines