We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Midland Gliding Club

Church Stretton SY6 6TA, England
+44 1588 650206
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great place to fly

I've done two week long courses at MGC. Both very enjoyable with excellent instructors. It must be... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Simon F
,
None
Stunning place to fly

My most recent visit was February 2018, but I learned to fly here in my teens & go back whenever I... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
andyh4182018
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 13 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Gliding club offering trial flights and membership. Learn to fly a sailplane and soar above Shropshire. All ages welcome, learn to fly from age 14. On-site cafe open 8am-8pm, and accommodation available to pre book.
  • Excellent63%
  • Very good23%
  • Average0%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“long mynd” (3 reviews)
“gliding club” (2 reviews)
“glider” (2 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Church Stretton SY6 6TA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1588 650206
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"long mynd"
in 3 reviews
"gliding club"
in 2 reviews
"glider"
in 2 reviews
"instructions"
in 2 reviews
"midlands"
in 3 reviews
"riding"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

I've done two week long courses at MGC. Both very enjoyable with excellent instructors. It must be one of the most scenic places to learn gliding. Highly recommended.

Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hey Simon, So pleased you've enjoyed the courses. Hope you'll manage to get up here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My most recent visit was February 2018, but I learned to fly here in my teens & go back whenever I can. Great scenery & excellent conditions for gliding. Always a warm welcome. Remember it’s mostly volunteer-run. They taught me to fly at a young...More

Thank andyh4182018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Andyh4182018. Always great to see you at the Mynd. Looking forward to seeing you and your mates again soon for celebrations :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An amazing 80th birthday present was the gift of a 'first glider flight' - quite an exciting experience. Everyone at the Club was so helpful and friendly. Pre-flight instructions were excellent and every effort was made to ensure that this exciting experience was an occasion...More

Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Happy Birthday Val! Thanks for such a lovely comment. It sounds like you had a great time, and we're really glad you could join us for the day. We'd love to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

I have attended a couple of one day courses this year so far, and have really enjoyed the time I've been able to spend at this very special club. The views are amazing, from the ground and in the air, the folk are friendly and...More

1  Thank TheHitchG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, Thanks for your comments. We're really glad you have enjoyed your time here this year. I'll pass on your great feedback to our kitchen team too. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

I booked a one day course, cost £165. After two whole days I had four launches and perhaps 30 minutes airtime. There were too many pilots trying to fly and I spent most of both days watching others launch or helping cart gliders about. Nobody...More

1  Thank davedave2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, We were sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience with us, and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know. For any complaints of this nature we take time to investigate the exact details of what went wrong, and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

The birthday before last my wife gave me a "trial flight" voucher at the Midland Gliding Club. Through no fault of the club (mostly adverse weather once I had gotten around to booking the flight), I finally had my flight yesterday. It exceeded my wildest...More

Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Richard, Really pleased that you had such a great time with us, and glad the weather finally played ball to allow the flight to take place! Thanks for your comments, it helps us to know what's working well - I'll pass on your thanks...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Although I was up there as a mountain biker rather than a flyer club members were very welcoming and offered use of the club house for food and drink. Had interesting chats with club members (as I have flown before). Interesting to know that one...More

Thank Mikey1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Public Relations Manager at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Thanks Mikey1664 and we hope to welcome you on another visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Although the venue was pleasant (despite the daunting drive up the steep single-track roads) and the members/staff welcoming and friendly, the 'Day Gliding' course was poorly managed, with many hours of standing around with no briefing and little or nothing to do. Acting as 'ground...More

3  Thank RobSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Committee member at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

We were sorry to hear that you had a less than amazing experience with us recently. We are currently reviewing the types of gliding experiences that we offer and how they can best be delivered so that everyone who visits has a great time with...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

A fantastic place to take a one off "Bucket list" flight, a gift flight for a loved one or to follow a dream and learning to fly a glider.

Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place after a steep hill-climb and in desperate need of a coffee. Cakes ham egg and chips a bonus. Recommended ;)

Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P, Committee at Midland Gliding Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thanks Ben, we're glad you stumbled upon us and enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Church Stretton Hotels
The Longmynd
253 reviews
4.73 km away
The Castle Hotel
893 reviews
8.54 km away
Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
461 reviews
14.51 km away
The Dragon Hotel
323 reviews
18.75 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Crown Inn Pub
257 reviews
2.19 km away
Ragleth Inn
341 reviews
3.91 km away
The Bridges Pub
283 reviews
4.73 km away
Van Doesburg Deli
110 reviews
5.24 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Long Mynd
244 reviews
3.55 km away
Carding Mill Valley
606 reviews
4.32 km away
Inn On The Green
9 reviews
2.67 km away
Stretton Antiques Market
56 reviews
5.40 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Diazepine
31 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sarah P | Property representative |
Hi Diazepine, Can you be more specific please in terms of overbooking? I notice your location is Mali - when did you book in for? Thanks,
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor