We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old MacDonald’s Farm

Features Animals
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Worth a visit

We stayed here after a friend recommended it . We pitches our caravan and went into the farm.. I... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2018
blackzetecs
via mobile
Great for young children, with reservations.

Great for young children between the ages of 3 to 10/11 [?]; lots for them to see and do. Little... read more

Reviewed 9 September 2018
Riche55
,
Gloucestershire - England
Read all 80 reviews
41
All photos (41)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent59%
  • Very good20%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“pony rides”(17 reviews)
“go karts”(10 reviews)
“train ride”(10 reviews)
About
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
13°
Oct
10°
Nov
Dec
Contact
Porthcothan Bay, Padstow PL28 8LT, England
Website
+44 1841 540829
Call
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
47
16
8
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
47
16
8
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pony rides go karts train ride feed the animals crazy golf farm animals lovely farm great for young children reasonable admission price children ranging mini train indoor play picnic area the main thing games room cafe shop perfect family
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Great for young children between the ages of 3 to 10/11 [?]; lots for them to see and do. Little train rides, pony rides, and ambling around to look at the animals and a variety of activities. However as a parent or rather grandparent I...More

Thank Riche55
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

There isn't much to see or do here considering how much they charge....a few farm animals, tractors to ride on and a play park. We had the same experience as others that have reviewed- extremely rude dealings with the owner...a few lessons in customer service...More

Thank Claire I
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

This venue is very very child friendly and is spotlessly clean and well run. There are rides to excite, animals to admire, and places to eat. There are restaurants, snack sales and picnic areas if you prefer to take your own food. There is a...More

Thank James S
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We started our holiday at a poor campsite with hardly any facilities, then by chance came across Old Macdonalds. The staff were amazing and accomodating, and what's on offer for children is out of this world! We packed up and moved here and couldn't be...More

Thank Michael C
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely day out today. Three hours at Old Macs. Sun was ‘a shinin’ and it was lovely. Two of us with a 3 and 12 year old. Lots to do. Staff were lovely. We took a picnic but had snacks and tea from the cafe....More

Thank brodie50
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We have been here many times as it’s just down the road but I felt that I had to write a review today after the woman at the counter was so rude! After presenting proof of local address ( bank statement)for a local discount. I...More

2  Thank emilyrzasa
OldMacDonaldsFarm, Owner at Old MacDonald’s Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Thank you for your review emilyrzasa St Eval. I am sorry that you found when I said to you: “I’m sorry but unfortunately we do not accept bank statements as proof of address for our locals rate, I’m afraid as advertised, we only accept a...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We have been a fair few times over the past few years. But won’t be returning after our last visit. The woman on the till was extremely rude, unhelpful and obviously didn’t like her job. We forgot my husbands driving license to get our locals...More

3  Thank Batty77
OldMacDonaldsFarm, Owner at Old MacDonald’s Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Thank you for your review Batty77 Dorset! You did say you were going to leave me a bad review. There are a few things incorrect with your account of our interaction yesterday, which I will correct for you. Firstly, it was not your husband that...More

Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here after a friend recommended it . We pitches our caravan and went into the farm.. I was disappointed on first impressions. However the longer we were the the better it became.. and my kids 7&2 absolutely loved it . They loved the...More

Thank blackzetecs
Reviewed 22 July 2018

This little farm has lots of potential but it’s really tired and run down. The animal pens are small, the poor owl looked really forlorn. The toddler area is grubby, the plastic toys and trikes were dirty. It needs some money spending on it and...More

1  Thank Christie5
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We came to visit the farm after hearing about it from my friend. Our little girl turned one a couple of weeks ago and it was perfect for her. There was lots for her to do and plenty to do as she gets older. There...More

1  Thank pegz_tink
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
Tregoose
9 reviews
3.29 km away
Treglos Hotel
459 reviews
3.30 km away
Bedruthan Hotel & Spa
1 443 reviews
3.54 km away
The Scarlet Hotel
1 778 reviews
3.72 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 91 nearby restaurants
Berryfields Farm
292 reviews
1.13 km away
The Olive Tree
329 reviews
3.38 km away
Coastal coffee
18 reviews
3.44 km away
Tredrea Inn
107 reviews
.95 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 49 nearby attractions
Constantine Bay Surf School
6 reviews
3.32 km away
The Scarlet Spa
117 reviews
3.70 km away
Mawgan Porth Beach
121 reviews
4.07 km away
Harlyn Surf School
231 reviews
4.68 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Claire F
29 June 2017|
Answer
Response from IanG1327 | Reviewed this property |
our children were 3 and nearly 2 so alot older to enjoy the animals and parks, a child at 9 months old i honestly couldnt say, sorry
0
Votes
Celli M
27 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Susie C | Reviewed this property |
I presume you wish to direct your question to TripAdviser as I'm just a holiday maker.
1
Vote