We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Warwick Wine Estate

| Between Stellenbosch & Paarl, Stellenbosch 7607, South Africa
+27 21 884 4410
Website
Save
Book In Advance
from US$24
More Info
Vine Hopper: Hop-On Hop-Off Wine Tour - Northern Route
from US$43
More Info
Vine Hopper: 2-Day Hop on Hop off Wine Tour Pass from Stellenbosch
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The #1 winery on Trip Advisor in the Stellenbosch region for almost 3 years. Warwick has become known as one of the most welcoming destinations with a truly authentic experience & friendly ambience. Open 365 days a year, join us for our famed 'Gourmet Picnic', delicious 'Vineyard Tapas' and a tutored wine tasting. Bring your friends & family for a 'BIG 5 WINE SAFARI' or just laze around on our magnificent lawns under the trees. This kid-friendly historic property will wow you.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“picnic basket” (24 reviews)
“pink lady” (5 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
| Between Stellenbosch & Paarl, Stellenbosch 7607, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 884 4410
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 370 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

We had pre-booked a picnic and expected to spend a few hours eating and tasting. 6 hours later we knew we would have to return. The picnic pieces were perfect for the wines we tasted. The staff all act like they are part of a...More

Thank Eric Y
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Picnics are absolutely out of this world and head and shoulders above the other places we went to. If you are going to go for a picnic in the Cape Winelands, GO HERE!! The stories behind the wine when doing the wine tasting are delightful,...More

Thank Umlani09
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The Warwick Wine Estate has a beautiful setting just outside Stellenbosch and the Gourmet Picnic Lunch is a great lunch idea, al beit pretty expensive at R300 for two people (excluding wines). Nice variety of foods in the picnic hamper with some traditional South African...More

1  Thank Christiaan M
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We just went to this awesome place. We booked a pod for our picnic. The staff was very helpful and extremely hospitable. They are always ready to serve you with a smile which brightened our day. The environment is great for couple or family with...More

Thank Paul C
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Just recently my daughter and I spent the day in the Winelands of Stellenbosch. Warwick definitely was the best farm we visited. A lovely friendly lady assisted us with tasting the wines, she was friendly, informative and generous. The wines were delicious, so much so...More

1  Thank Cheryl723
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Went for Easter, as advertised party for Kids Alice In Warwickland! It rained, so all were moved indoors, but we were all squashed in! We booked for 12noon and they were trying to turn tables, by 1.15!!! but think the greed of the Easter Theme...More

1  Thank 1stgallopinggourmet
BrandersJ, Manager at Warwick Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear 1stgallopinggourmet, Thank you for your review. I apologize for your bad experience. Being only an outdoor picnic venue we do rely heavily on the Weather. We knew there was going to be a little rain on two days and prepared by setting up in...More

Reviewed 14 November 2011

We tried a gourmet picnic here, which we had booked in advance. Setting is lovely, its all a bit commercialised but I guess that is to be expected. Food nice too. However, unfortunately we were genuinely appalled with the service we got during out picnic...More

1  Thank scruffybags
LawrenceWhite, Manager at Warwick Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

I am truly saddened to hear of the appalling service you received at Warwick. As the manager in charge of waitress training I take full responsibility for the outrageous way you were treated. I will deal with this matter with my team with the utmost...More

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Being from Cape Town, I have always been familiar with the Warwick name and their good quality wines. We were invited by friends for 'Gourmet Picnic and Wine Safari' as a gift - we were all surprised to find an inviting tasting room, green lawns,...More

Thank CompassRoseK
mikerat, Owner at Warwick Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Dear Compass Rose, What a pleasure to receive such positive feedback - I have passed your comments on to my team. It is comments that these that make all the hard work worthwhile. We are very proud of what we are offering at Warwick and...More

Reviewed 3 November 2011

I hadn't been there for a very long time and was pleasantly surprised at the changes when I visited with a friend . A really good wine estate with some superb wines. We both enjoyed our visit and will be sure to return again.

Thank AATLinda
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Beautiful grounds and GREAT wines with friendly staff. Be sure and try the couples wine drinking out of the special silver cup for two. Would have loved to have taken one home, but the price of silver made it too high.

Thank OverNextHorizon
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Potbelly Coffee Shop and Bakery
50 reviews
4.08 km away
Babel Restaurant
641 reviews
6.10 km away
Anura
36 reviews
4.69 km away
Restaurant at Glen Carlou
179 reviews
4.84 km away
Nearby Attractions
Butterfly World ZOO
161 reviews
4.58 km away
Villiera Wines
92 reviews
6.43 km away
Anura Vineyards
160 reviews
3.91 km away
Uitkyk Wine Estate
16 reviews
4.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
TransAtlantic70
3 October 2015|
Answer
Response from mikerat | Property representative |
Hi TransAtlantic70, It is wonderful to hear that Warwick is on your list of attractions to visit during your holiday to South Africa. We would be able to deliver a bottle of wine through Cape Ardor, the largest exclusive... More
0
Votes