We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Vergenoegd Wine Estate

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Baden Powell Drive | Faure, Stellenbosch 7131, South Africa
Phone Number:
+27 21 843 3248
Website
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Description:

Vergenoegd Wine Estate is a Heritage site and one of the oldest wine...

Vergenoegd Wine Estate is a Heritage site and one of the oldest wine estates on the Stellenbosch Wine Route. Easy access from the freeway and merely 20 minutes from Cape Town International Airport. Indian Runner Ducks are used in our vineyards as a form of natural pest control, helping us to eliminate the use of conventional pest control methods. Our army of 1000 ducks parade in front of the Manor House on their way to and back from the vineyards and may be seen by guests on a daily basis. We also offer unique and personalized blending experience (coffee, olive oil, tea and wine) as well as breakfast, lunch and picnics. We host a weekly Family market, every Saturday live entertainment once a month, showcasing some of SA's best musical talent.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$23,48*
and up
Vine Hopper: Hop-On Hop-Off Wine Tour - Northern Route
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 139 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 75
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Belgian festival

What a great day! The Saturday market had a Belgian flair. Delicious and well priced food stalls, wine, beer & craft beer, live music and ample seating. We enjoyed watching the... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Dirmu G
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 131: English reviews
Level Contributor
210 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

What a great day! The Saturday market had a Belgian flair. Delicious and well priced food stalls, wine, beer & craft beer, live music and ample seating. We enjoyed watching the morning and noon Duck Parade.

Helpful?
Thank Dirmu G
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a lovely breakfast after watching the runner ducks. It was a wonderful morning. Staff were very accommodating and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank LeaKid01
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hi LeaKid01 Thank you for visiting, we're very happy that you enjoyed your Vergenoegd experience! We appreciate your awesome review and rating - hope to see you back soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We went over the Easter Weekend, so the Market wasn't full of all the existing stall holders. Lovely, relaxed atmosphere. Get something to eat and sit either at the tables or on the hay bales on the lawn. Then the ultimate attraction - The Duck Parade. Oh my word, they are so cute, waddling along the pathway - maybe about... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hi Tracey F Thank you for visiting! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Vergenoegd! We appreciate your rating, thank you for sharing your review! See you soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd More 

Somerset West
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Super duper staff friendly kind and obliging. Simple meals that were light and tasty, super place, loved the ducks makes for farm styled experience.

Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hi Robyn L Thank you for visiting - we're delighted that you enjoyed your Vergenoegd experience! Hope to see you soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is the second time I have visited the restaurant in the past 5 weeks. The first time it was very busy and I had overseas guests who also commented on the slow almost non existent service. We received a 3 pack of their wine for the inconvenience I wanted my husband and son to see the duck parade which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sinclairs250967
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hi Sinclairs250967 Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd again. Though we take pride in the great service we usually provide, there should be no excuse for letting our guard down despite any potential contributing challenges. We are constantly working on perfecting every aspect of our offering, from wine and food to service and an overall flawless experience for all our visitors.... More 

Robertson, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wineparing early this month and what a pleasant experience. The guy presenting had a good knowledge regarding the history and was really a very good paring.

Helpful?
Thank riaanfo64
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hi riaanfo64 Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd - we're delighted that you enjoyed your wine pairing experience and hope to see you back soon again! We appreciate your review and rating! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch on the estate and could also witness their famous duckparade ( a few times in the day, it is showtime!) Ducks are used to clean out the vineyards, an important but certainly also a usefull task. On saturdays there is a market in the frontyard with all kind of specialties. The estate opened up only... More 

Helpful?
Thank CeesLeenders
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hi CeesLeenders Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd, we're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you back soon again! We appreciate your awesome review and rating! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd More 

south africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We attended the matthew mole concert at vergenoegd on sunday and want to add to the one previous review. The venue cannot accommodate 2000 people so tickets sold should be limited. The parking was a nightmare- landed up carrying our chairs etc a very long way.When we left it took us forever to get back onto baden powell drive. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank debbieSouthAfrica
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hi debbieSouthAfrica We appreciate your support of our Summer Concert featuring Matthew Mole as well as your comments. We've never gone unprepared into a concert but have also learned a lot from the first edition of our Summer Concerts at Vergenoegd over the past few months. Despite ticking many boxes and seeing popularity grow, there are a few things that... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

terrible servic . Very dissapointing. Waited an hour for duck parade with my son and no duck parade. Wrote an email and no reply

Helpful?
Thank Theresa V
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hi Theresa V Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd. We apologize for your disappointment but in order for us to assist you further, swiftly and diligently, please ensure that you have email media@vergenoegd.co.za We have never missed a duck parade. Parades run every day of the year, without interruption and strictly at the following times: Mon - Fri 09:45, 12:30 &... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely Saturday at Vergenoegd. After a nibble at the market for breakfast we enjoyed watching the duck parade with some wine. Then we had an informative wine blending experience and for to create our own label for our blend. Really fun. Next a platter of meats and cheese and desserts in the sun. Perfect Stellenbosvh Saturday

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Wine Estate, responded to this review

Hi Lisa M Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience and appreciate your review and rating! Hope to see you back soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd More 

Travellers who viewed Vergenoegd Wine Estate also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Vergenoegd Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Vergenoegd Wine Estate and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Vergenoegd Wine Estate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?