We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate

Is this your business?
Features Animals
Baden Powell Drive | Faure, Stellenbosch 7131, South Africa
+27 21 843 3248
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$201,55*
and up
Half-Day Winelands Tour Stellenbosch from Cape Town
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Vergenoegd Wine Estate is a Heritage site and one of the oldest wine estates on the Stellenbosch Wine Route. Easy access from the freeway and merely 20 minutes from Cape Town International Airport. Indian Runner Ducks are used in our vineyards as a form of natural pest control, helping us to eliminate the use of conventional pest control methods. Our army of 1000 ducks parade in front of the Manor House on their way to and back from the vineyards and may be seen by guests on a daily basis. We also offer unique and personalized blending experience (coffee, olive oil, tea and wine) as well as breakfast, lunch and picnics. We host a weekly Family market, every Saturday live entertainment once a month, showcasing some of SA's best musical talent.
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good32%
  • Average5%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“duck parade” (105 reviews)
“duck tour” (9 reviews)
“hay bales” (5 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
Baden Powell Drive | Faure, Stellenbosch 7131, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 843 3248
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stellenbosch
from US$27,20
More Info
from US$27,20
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"duck parade"
in 105 reviews
"duck tour"
in 9 reviews
"hay bales"
in 5 reviews
"wine estate"
in 22 reviews
"watching the ducks"
in 4 reviews
"famous duck"
in 3 reviews
"ducks walking"
in 3 reviews
"saturday market"
in 5 reviews
"olive oil"
in 12 reviews
"blending experience"
in 4 reviews
"dessert platter"
in 3 reviews
"manor house"
in 8 reviews
"pork belly"
in 5 reviews
"cape town"
in 15 reviews
"course meal"
in 3 reviews
"takes place"
in 3 reviews
"saturday morning"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 219 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I have driven past the estate at least twice a month for many years and didn’t know about the duck parade, so decided to take my daughter there for my birthday. The parade is very cute, unique and definitely worth visiting. I wasn’t aware that...More

Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Jean D Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd, we're happy that you enjoyed the duck parade and appreciate your feedback. The Pizza and Wine Festival is run by an outside events company, the event was merely hosted on the Vergenoegd premises this year. We'll certainly...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday

Unpretentious with generous food, especially the pork belly! Unexpected since the entrance isn't representative. The wines are great in particular the newer 2015 vintages and Runner Duck, perfect to enjoy whilst adoring the 1000 ducks doing their run. You may even feed them and kids...More

Thank Lindie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Lindie123 We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience at Vergenoegd Löw Wine Estate. Our entrance to Vergenoegd will change in the near future and we're also laying a new road. We appreciate your awesome rating and review. Thank you for visiting, we hope to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

An awesome experience with great service, particularly from Unathi who connected with us in a real, fun and relatable manner. Tops Vergenoegd 👍💥

Thank Janeke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Janeke d Thank you for visiting, we're delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Vergenoegd and we hope to see you soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I booked an excursion from Cape Town on a Double Decker bus which included visits to two Wine Estates. We particularly enjoyed our wine tasting experience at Vergenoegd. The sun shone, the grounds were lovely to stroll around and the wines and...More

Thank Dorothy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Dorothy14 Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd! We're very happy that you enjoyed your experience at our farm. We appreciate your wonderful feedback, hope to see you soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place to spend your Saturday and enjoy the S.A. weather with wonderful food with great beers or chilled wine

Thank HeidiPap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi HeidiPap Thank you for visiting, we're happy that you enjoyed your experience at Vergenoegd and hope to see you soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Sunday market. It was beautiful weather, there was good music. People chilling and dancing everywhere. Kids, couples with little children, grownups, everyone was kind. Great impression on my first day in South Africa.

Thank rjnspierings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi rjnspierings Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd, we're delighted that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you back soon again! Have a lovely time in S.A! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were a party of 4 adults. Duck parade is fun but restaurant is limited and not worth the price you pay for meals.More

Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Patricia B Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd. Our restaurant offers an a la carte menu with a range of options to suit various palates. We also offer artisanal picnics as well a variety of items, freshly prepared, baked and available daily from our Deli....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a lovely way to spend a couple of hours. Adults can sample the wine and delicacies whilst the children watch the duck parade (12.30pm).

Thank NFHOJHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi NFHOJHutt Thank you for visiting! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Vergenoegd and we hope to see you soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a disappointing outing! We invited friends with their 4 children to join us for the picnic lunch. We prebooked ordered two picnic baskets and was told an email would be sent detailing what was in each basket. Approximately R390 per basket for two people....More

Thank Leigh & Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Leigh & Craig R Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd, we appreciate your feedback. We take pride in the service we offer, however, your recent visit missed the mark by a large margin. On behalf of management, please do accept our apologies. We will address...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As part of the Cape Explorer Wine Tour & Tastings excursion, we had the opportunity to participate in wine tasting paired with cheeses at Vergenoegd in the south of Stellenbosch and had a wonderful time. We tasted five spectacular wines on their outdoor patio; Unathi...More

Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergenoegd, Manager at Vergenoegd Low Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Rob M Thank you for visiting Vergenoegd Löw Wine Estate, we're delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our farm! Hope to see you back soon again! Kind Regards david@vergenoegd

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Stellenbosch
Spier Hotel
2 129 reviews
7.58 km away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
417 reviews
8.74 km away
Somerset Links
1 review
9.37 km away
Somerset Lodge
21 reviews
10.68 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Avontuur Estate Restaurant
459 reviews
7.82 km away
Cavalli Restaurant
536 reviews
7.42 km away
Sweetwell Restaurant
136 reviews
7.65 km away
96 Winery Road Restaurant
857 reviews
6.52 km away
Nearby Attractions
Proudly Macassar Pottery
24 reviews
4.11 km away
Imzu Tours
129 reviews
4.90 km away
18 Gangster Museum
21 reviews
4.71 km away
Ubuntu - Khayelitsha on Bikes- Day Tours
13 reviews
4.73 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Shirley S
14 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Vergenoegd | Property representative |
Hi Shirley The Duck parade times are as follows: Mon - Fri: 07:00, 12:30 & 15:30 Sat - Sun & public holidays: 10:00, 12:30 & 15:30 The Family Market at Vergenoegd runs every Saturday throughout the year from 9am... More
1
Vote
Tracey W
31 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Vergenoegd | Property representative |
Uber is safe and reliable!
1
Vote
Byron Y
18 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Vergenoegd | Property representative |
Hi Byron Y No reservations required to see the duck parades or partake in a wine tasting! Enjoy!
0
Votes