We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tokara

R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
+27 21 808 5900
Website
Save
Review Highlights
A "Do Not Miss" destination...

If doing wine tasting in Stellenbosch, be sure to include Tokara as one of your stops. If the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
GaryvE
,
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Just mountians

This is a very beautiful spot surrounded by mountains on all sides. Boasting a restaurant and deli... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
LilavanZyl
,
Pretoria, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 306 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
TOKARA is a picture perfect destination which offers visitors a unique combination of award-winning wines, brandy and olive oils, a gallery of fine art, a restaurant featuring one of South Africa’s leading chefs as well as a delicatessen.
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good27%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“olive oil” (18 reviews)
“great art” (4 reviews)
Closes in 21 min
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 18:00
LOCATION
R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 808 5900
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

If doing wine tasting in Stellenbosch, be sure to include Tokara as one of your stops. If the magnificent views as you enter, or the art inside, or the classic ambiance or the superb wines extremely well presented do not enthral you, then there is...More

Thank GaryvE
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a very beautiful spot surrounded by mountains on all sides. Boasting a restaurant and deli situated amongst vineyards and gardens and artwork inside and outside.

Thank LilavanZyl
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here with friends and family. Loved the art, views of the vineyard, and the food was delicious. Great attention to food restrictions as well. Excellent service for our rather large group, half of which was teenagers. We all loved our lunch. Lunch was followed...More

Thank MamaAyinde
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a must and one to start at first, great views all the way back to Cape Town. The wine is good and the staff have some great knowledge and stories to tell. Enjoy.

Thank Chris E
A TripAdvisor Member
8025
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What a gorgeous property. Very good wines that rate very very high. I follow Parker, and not all the vintages were available that rate very high, but I was still able to buy and ship some cases. Great art to look at too. Very nice...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Are you tired of being greeted and respected? Do you think the manager should ask your toddler to pipe down when she is talking to another toddler? Do you want to have something spoil the rest of your trip to Cape Town? Well, do they...More

Thank Joa_he
Management response:Responded 8 July 2017

At TOKARA our aim is to make our visitors feel welcome and to create a lasting memorable experience, so we're naturally concerned to read your review. If you could provide information regarding which venue on our estate and the date you visited - this would...More

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

Sometime I wonder how people can have so much arrogance in business,yet they survive,if they were the best in the World,maybe,but they don't have the best. Guys stay on the ground,stay humble,we will try you one more time,nice olive oil tough,food.......?

Thank coen_12
Reviewed 14 June 2017

Arrogance and condescension at its worst. After five visits here over the last six or seven years - yes I keep hoping that thing will change because of its gorgeous location! - it becomes ever more unpleasant. The view of the management and staff in...More

Thank Robert T
Management response:Responded 15 June 2017

Hi Robert, I'm so sorry to hear about your experience and certainly not the impression we would like to have created. Please accept my sincere apologies, I do hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you to our estate, ensure you have...More

Reviewed 17 May 2017

We showed up at Tokara for a wine tasting a little before sunset. The place itself is gorgeous; marvelous decoration/art, huge fireplace; truly is a 5 star establishment. As for the wines we tried; nothing kept our attention. Pretty average I would say. We also...More

Thank Richard M
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Very much the most expensive tasting fee we've encountered in Stellenbosch/Franschhoek, by a factor of two or more. Directors Reserve Red is superior and the pours were generous.

Thank WildBillSeattle
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Delaire Graff Restaurant
1 676 reviews
.54 km away
Tokara Restaurant
1 039 reviews
.00 km away
Indochine
378 reviews
.57 km away
Tokara Delicatessen
254 reviews
.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Delaire Graff Estate
430 reviews
.55 km away
Thelema Mountain Vineyards
80 reviews
1.04 km away
Zorgvliet Wine Estate
60 reviews
1.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Evie P
16 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Culptivated | Reviewed this property |
No lunch that I am aware of but you can arrange a chocolate and tapenade sampler that is fantastic!
0
Votes