We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course at Val de Vie Estate

R301 Wemmershoek Drive | (Exit 59, N1 north towards Paarl), Paarl 7646, South Africa
+27 21 867 8000
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Don’t visit unless time is no issue

The service is not bad ,it’s non existent!A salad takes 45 minutes and Bangers and mash over an... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Sandy2350
,
London, United Kingdom
Great sushi

Had a casual meal on the terrace with family and friends.We all ordered sushi which was great... read more

Reviewed 30 April 2018
mervyn l
via mobile
Read all 139 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Nestled in the beautiful Paarl-Franschhoek Valley, 35min from Cape Town and surrounded by majestic mountains, lies Pearl Valley at Val de Vie Estate, South Africa's top residential estate. Pearl Valley boasts, among numerous other facilities, an iconic Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, named the Best Conditioned course in the Western Cape for 2010, 2011, 2012/2013 and again for 2014/2015 by Golf Digest Magazine and awarded the Compleat Golfer's Five Star Experience Award for six consecutive years. Pearl Valley is distinguished as the epitome of golf and luxury living that allow for peace of mind and unforgettable experiences. Come home to Pearl Valley where you truly can 'Live,Play, Relax'.
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 07:00 - 19:00
LOCATION
R301 Wemmershoek Drive | (Exit 59, N1 north towards Paarl), Paarl 7646, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 21 867 8000
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"driving range"
in 5 reviews
"world class"
in 6 reviews
"in excellent condition"
in 5 reviews
"halfway house"
in 6 reviews
"breathtaking scenery"
in 3 reviews
"pro shop"
in 4 reviews
"butter chicken"
in 2 reviews
"pristine condition"
in 3 reviews
"nice clubhouse"
in 2 reviews
"meals were great"
in 2 reviews
"casual lunch"
in 2 reviews
"gnocchi"
in 2 reviews
"lovely swimming pool"
in 2 reviews
"tee times"
in 2 reviews
"great ambience"
in 2 reviews
"green fees"
in 2 reviews
"fish and chips"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The service is not bad ,it’s non existent!A salad takes 45 minutes and Bangers and mash over an hour and a half.Which makes it worse food cold.Craft beers are sold with best before dates expiring over a year ago.There where two tables in the restaurant...More

Thank Sandy2350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

Had a casual meal on the terrace with family and friends.We all ordered sushi which was great. Drinks were gin and bitter lemon. A great casual lunch was had by all and the service outstanding. A wonderful day in the sun.

Thank mervyn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlValley, Marketing Coordinator at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course at Val de Vie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Mervyn Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience at The Valley restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Chloe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

I played golf at Pearl Valley last Thursday and although I enjoyed the course the condition is better at Erinvale. For the price of the green fees I would have expected it to be looked after more.More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlValley, Director of Golf at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course at Val de Vie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience at Pearl Valley at Val de Vie Estate. We are currently experiencing one of the worst droughts in history in the Western Cape. Our course has cool season grass which has...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Fabulous course in excellent condition. Played on a Sunday and no issue with slow play, 10 minutes between tee times. Challenging and breathtaking scenery. One of the best courses I’ve played in SA. The bar area and restaurant was also very good and the staff...More

Thank jackieejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlValley, Marketing Coordinator at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course at Val de Vie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Hi Jackiee, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent experience at Pearl Valley. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Chloe Frey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We have played this course three times in the past two weeks and it is in fantastic condition, fantastic course, challenging, great facilities and lovely staff, however it would appear they are being very greedy and short sighted. The course is extremely busy, they were...More

Thank Percy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlValley, Director of Golf at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course at Val de Vie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Percy, It’s great to hear your positive views on the course. Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. I always value this kind of feedback as it allows me to evaluate our offering. You are right, our...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

Pearl Vally one expect to be an excellent course and that is what you are paying for because it’s pretty expensive. But with that in mind I was disappointing to see a course in moderate condition and green hole edges that was really but -...More

Thank Rolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlValley, Director of Golf at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course at Val de Vie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Rolf Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. Our course is set-up daily to a strict standard. Hole positions are moved three times a week and cut on, Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. We do not use hole liners and chose...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

Have just spent 3 nights at Pearl Valley. The room was wonderfully large with floor to ceiling large glass sliding doors to a large balcony. The room was perfectly placed over looking the driving range and first tee. The staff were friendly and helpful. The...More

1  Thank freynolds2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Fantastic course in a beautiful setting, in pristine condition. Good speed of play compared to the 5hr round at De Zalze GC ! Club house spectacular and very friendly members , one, definitely not to be missed.

Thank hmp518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlValley, Marketing Coordinator at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course at Val de Vie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your time at Pearl Valley Golf Course. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Chloe Frey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We went to Pearl Valley for Sunday lunch and were pleased to see the new Sushi addition to the menu. Unfortunately the sushi was rather dry and the menu options did not cater for those of us who do not eat raw fish, as we...More

Thank CherylT166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlValley, Owner Dish Food & Social (The Valley Restaurant) at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course at Val de Vie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Cheryl Please accept our apology for your disappointing experience. Thank you very much for taking the time to report back about your experience in as much detail as you have. While we’re disappointed that your visit did not live up to expectations, your feedback...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

This amazing golf course is well positioned between the mountains and all facilities are state of the art. Golf carts with electronic screens, unbelievable well-kept course even in the drought and really playable holes for any level golfer. Lovely swimming pool at 19th and views...More

1  Thank AnnieAllYearTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PearlValley, Marketing Coordinator at Pearl Valley Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course at Val de Vie Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Hi Annie Thank you so much for taking the time to review your time at Pearl Valley. We are so glad to hear you had a great time! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Chloe Frey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 hotels in Paarl
Simondium's Country Lodge
18 reviews
4.80 km away
Sante Wellness Retreat and Spa
6 reviews
6.14 km away
Goedemoed Country Inn
57 reviews
7.38 km away
De Wingerd Wijnland Lodge
101 reviews
8.21 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Paris Bistro
29 reviews
3.16 km away
Babel Restaurant
744 reviews
6.84 km away
Ou Meul Farmstall Simondium
12 reviews
4.85 km away
Boschendal restaurant
262 reviews
6.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Vrede en Lust Winery
380 reviews
4.87 km away
Lynx Wines
299 reviews
6.01 km away
Rupert & Rothschild Vignerons Tasting Centre
90 reviews
5.35 km away
Topiary Wines
71 reviews
6.53 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kathy202
28 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Golferaj1 | Reviewed this property |
Hi I would say Frranschoek.
0
Votes
;