We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Featherbed Nature Reserve

Features Animals
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
+27 44 382 1693
Call
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$2 263,16*
and up
11-Day South Africa Highlights Tour from Johannesburg
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“buffet lunch” (81 reviews)
“nature reserve” (95 reviews)
“boat trip” (110 reviews)
LOCATION
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
CONTACT
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
+27 44 382 1693
Call
Website

Similar Things to Do in Knysna

Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went on a cruise from Knysna to the Nature Reserve in November 2017 but sadly the trip was huge disappointment. The area had suffered from a huge fire around June 2017 which threatened to engulf the town of Knysna at some stage. Large swaths...More

Thank dagger17
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review Dagger however we would just like to correct you in the sense that we have not sold any cruises "to the Nature Reserve" as described in your review due to the fires. We have only sold lagoon cruises on our...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Featherbed Nature reserve is associated with Prof JLB Smith who first identified the remnants of the Coelacanth fish thought to be extinct. The luxury boutique hotel in the reserve is marvellous. A pity the area is burnt down, but I am pleased to see...More

Thank kdgarlipp
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. Please note that this is a privately owned nature reserve, no longer owned by the Smith family and there is no luxury boutique hotel on the property.

Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Due to the fire in Knysna earlier in 2017, the nature reserve is closed. We understand it is scheduled to reopen in February 2018. It is still possible to cruise by the reserve on a boat from Knysna waterfront

5  Thank Newforestgeoff
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Always been our number 1 attraction in Knysna because of all the diverse activities on offer there. The ferry ride on the lagoon, the tractor drive up the mountain and the hiking to see all the beautiful sights

Thank Rita & Tommy B
Reviewed 10 September 2017

You cannot visit this once great spot as it was destroyed by bushfires. The company still runs a boat trip that goes past the reserve so you get an idea of what you are missing.More

1  Thank Robert H
The Featherbed C, Guest Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you Robert, yes indeed our pristine Featherbed Nature Reserver was serverely damaged during the devastating fires on the 7th of June. We are however hard at work with our rejuvenation and rebuild process as we are confident that this once beautiful reserve will be...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Nice walk alongside the beach where you suddenly have to climb the suspension bridge. Bridge with a view...

2  Thank mysteryguest132_11
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We were supposed to go on the cruise combined with the nature reserve (4h trip). This was booked in July. Apparently there was a fire 🔥 which destroyed a big part of the reserve so the tour only consisted of the cruise (1h30). Okay; not...More

Thank StefanEgg
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Stefan Kindly send us your contact details to sales@featherbed.co.za so we can discuss your experience with you personally. The recent fires on tghe 7rh of June did destroy our nature reserve and it's facilities and we are currently not able to offer the well...More

Reviewed 11 August 2017

We went in person to reserve 2 spots for the next day. We were told to arrive at 9:30. When we got there the next day we were told that we were not on the list. There was another party of 4 that were told...More

Thank deboraholausson
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Debora Kindly email us with the date of your booking and name of the person you made the booking with to sales@featherbed.co.za to enable us to investigate your accusation. We have always strived to offer excellent guest service and your review definitely is not...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017

Anybody who enjoys photography should take this trip across the lake. There are so many angles that the sun does not matter. What was not perfect from a lighting point of view there inevitably would be on the way back. The reserve itself is stunning...More

Thank RubinVanNiekerk
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for yoru review!

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We were a large company. The booking malfunction so we ended up having dinner at the restaurant instead of the boat. Two out of six mestorders failed with overcooked steak and not edible steak, the latter exchanged for another overcooked. Not sent out again since...More

Thank Gösta R
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 hotels in Knysna
The Rex Hotel
460 reviews
.37 km away
Yellowwood Lodge
79 reviews
.39 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
889 reviews
.39 km away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
331 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Anchorage Restaurant
777 reviews
.44 km away
Le MAQUIS
409 reviews
.50 km away
Cafe Mario
1 049 reviews
.47 km away
Chatters Bistro
584 reviews
.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
Shuttle Travel and Events
17 reviews
.36 km away
Jandreart Studio
46 reviews
1.07 km away
Drupkelders Hiking Trail
40 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ziphokazidlamini
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from The Featherbed C | Property representative |
Hi there you are welcome to call 044-3821693 to make a reservation. This will avoid any dissappointment. Regards Management
0
Votes
Delius17
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from valhux | Reviewed this property |
Hi sorry if its late in answering, but we booked when we arrived in the area. We stayed for one evening and did the tour the following day. However, although we paid approx £40.00 per person for the tour, we never got a... More
1
Vote