We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Featherbed Nature Reserve

Features Animals
Share
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
431
All photos (431)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“buffet lunch”(81 reviews)
“nature reserve”(95 reviews)
“boat trip”(109 reviews)
About
Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the...more
Contact
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
Website
+27 44 382 1693
Call
Reviews (949)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
467
214
64
19
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
467
214
64
19
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet lunch nature reserve boat trip milkwood trees trailer ride fantastic buffet scenic walk indian ocean breathtaking views knysna waterfront tractor guide lagoon caves vehicle humour scenery
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

It was an amazing experience , my guests had champagne and oysters, and the buffet was ok too. The view and the cruse however was to die for......and worth it

Thank mariel0isb
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your comments. However we are certain you were on a ferry, either the John Benn or the Paddle Cruiser, as our Featherbed Nature Reserve is not yet operational since the fires.

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

What a great day! Weather was perfect and hike was lovely. My 68 year old mother in law did the trek with us and finished it no problem (though she did complain until she finished). Hike was mainly down hill and gorgeous way to see...More

1  Thank KasiS27
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Kasi Thank you for your review. Please could you email us your contact details to sales@featherbed.co.za as we would really like to learn which day you visited our reserve. We have been closed since the Knysna Fires on the 7th of June 2017 and...More

Reviewed 26 March 2018

This reserve suffered a devasting fire and is no long er open to the public. Unfortuately all the animals were also destroyed in the fire. Such a shame.

2  Thank sonyafield
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Yes unfortunately ther reserve suffered severe damage during the fires last year and it is indeed such a pity!! However we are very excited about our rebuilding and rehabilitation journey and hope to re-open soon.

Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

It’s inaccessible because of the fires in the past year. This is not advertised until arrival and alternate planes are needed.More

1  Thank Samak S
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear SMarquette It is advertised on our website and at all our ticket offices. All telephonic enquiries are also notified. All information offices, our Local Tourism Office, Guest Houses and Hotels in Knysna are all informed as well. Please feel free to email us any...More

Reviewed 7 January 2018

We went on a cruise from Knysna to the Nature Reserve in November 2017 but sadly the trip was huge disappointment. The area had suffered from a huge fire around June 2017 which threatened to engulf the town of Knysna at some stage. Large swaths...More

1  Thank dagger17
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you for your review Dagger however we would just like to correct you in the sense that we have not sold any cruises "to the Nature Reserve" as described in your review due to the fires. We have only sold lagoon cruises on our...More

Reviewed 14 December 2017

The Featherbed Nature reserve is associated with Prof JLB Smith who first identified the remnants of the Coelacanth fish thought to be extinct. The luxury boutique hotel in the reserve is marvellous. A pity the area is burnt down, but I am pleased to see...More

2  Thank Klaus G
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for your review. Please note that this is a privately owned nature reserve, no longer owned by the Smith family and there is no luxury boutique hotel on the property.

Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Due to the fire in Knysna earlier in 2017, the nature reserve is closed. We understand it is scheduled to reopen in February 2018. It is still possible to cruise by the reserve on a boat from Knysna waterfront

6  Thank Newforestgeoff
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Always been our number 1 attraction in Knysna because of all the diverse activities on offer there. The ferry ride on the lagoon, the tractor drive up the mountain and the hiking to see all the beautiful sights

Thank Rita & Tommy B
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 10 September 2017

You cannot visit this once great spot as it was destroyed by bushfires. The company still runs a boat trip that goes past the reserve so you get an idea of what you are missing.More

1  Thank Robert H
The Featherbed C, Guest Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you Robert, yes indeed our pristine Featherbed Nature Reserver was serverely damaged during the devastating fires on the 7th of June. We are however hard at work with our rejuvenation and rebuild process as we are confident that this once beautiful reserve will be...More

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Nice walk alongside the beach where you suddenly have to climb the suspension bridge. Bridge with a view...

2  Thank mysteryguest132_11
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 nearby hotels
aha The Rex Hotel
574 reviews
.37 km away
Yellowwood Lodge
83 reviews
.39 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
976 reviews
.39 km away
Knysna Log-Inn Hotel
360 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 189 nearby restaurants
Le MAQUIS
480 reviews
.50 km away
Chatters Bistro
682 reviews
.42 km away
Bazala
143 reviews
.43 km away
Anchorage Restaurant
853 reviews
.44 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 137 nearby attractions
Shuttle Travel and Events
38 reviews
.36 km away
Jandreart Studio
50 reviews
1.07 km away
Drupkelders Hiking Trail
45 reviews
1.04 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fav2014
16 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from The Featherbed C | Property representative |
Good Afternoon, please could you clarify your question a bit more. Kindly feel free to call us on 044-382 1693. Regards Management
0
Votes
ziphokazidlamini
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from The Featherbed C | Property representative |
Hi there you are welcome to call 044-3821693 to make a reservation. This will avoid any dissappointment. Regards Management
0
Votes
Delius17
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from valhux | Reviewed this property |
Hi sorry if its late in answering, but we booked when we arrived in the area. We stayed for one evening and did the tour the following day. However, although we paid approx £40.00 per person for the tour, we never got a... More
1
Vote