We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Featherbed Nature Reserve

#7 of 76 things to do in Knysna Features Animals
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
+27 44 382 1693
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Half tour

We were supposed to go on the cruise combined with the nature reserve (4h trip). This was booked in... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
StefanEgg
via mobile
We got bumped and the company pretended it was our fault.

We went in person to reserve 2 spots for the next day. We were told to arrive at 9:30. When we got... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
deboraholausson
,
Lund, Sweden
Read all 937 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Featherbed is a privately-owned, registered Nature Reserve and a South African Heritage Site, No.59. It is a pristine piece of paradise situated on the Western Head of Knysna and is accessible by ferry only.In order to protect the splendour of the natural beauty, access to the Reserve is controlled. Numbers are limited and visits are only permitted in the company of the Reserve's specialist guides.
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good29%
  • Average9%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“buffet lunch” (81 reviews)
“boat trip” (109 reviews)
LOCATION
Remembrance Drive, Knysna | Ferry from Municipal Jetty, Knysna 5270, South Africa
CONTACT
Website
+27 44 382 1693

Similar Things to Do in Knysna

Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were supposed to go on the cruise combined with the nature reserve (4h trip). This was booked in July. Apparently there was a fire 🔥 which destroyed a big part of the reserve so the tour only consisted of the cruise (1h30). Okay; not...More

Thank StefanEgg
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Stefan Kindly send us your contact details to sales@featherbed.co.za so we can discuss your experience with you personally. The recent fires on tghe 7rh of June did destroy our nature reserve and it's facilities and we are currently not able to offer the well...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went in person to reserve 2 spots for the next day. We were told to arrive at 9:30. When we got there the next day we were told that we were not on the list. There was another party of 4 that were told...More

Thank deboraholausson
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Debora Kindly email us with the date of your booking and name of the person you made the booking with to sales@featherbed.co.za to enable us to investigate your accusation. We have always strived to offer excellent guest service and your review definitely is not...More

Reviewed 5 July 2017

Anybody who enjoys photography should take this trip across the lake. There are so many angles that the sun does not matter. What was not perfect from a lighting point of view there inevitably would be on the way back. The reserve itself is stunning...More

Thank RubinVanNiekerk
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for yoru review!

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

We were a large company. The booking malfunction so we ended up having dinner at the restaurant instead of the boat. Two out of six mestorders failed with overcooked steak and not edible steak, the latter exchanged for another overcooked. Not sent out again since...More

Thank Gösta R
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We had an amazing experience with the sunset cruise. The scenery was really beautiful and the boat was steady as well. will definitely recommend this to couples.

1  Thank arethafarao
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sure you meant to place it on the John Benn's tripadvisor page rather than the Featherbed Nature Reserve.

Reviewed 17 June 2017

We did the Featherbed Tour a few years back (in our younger days). We sailed across the lagoon on the John Benn and then were taken by tractor so far up the hillside where we were then met by a guide to take us on...More

1  Thank MiloDexter
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for review Milo. William Smith no longer owns the business and the John Benn also does not stop at the Featherbed Nature Reserve. It is a different vessel entirely that is allocated to the tour.

Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

This is a must to visit for the views. The guide was first class with plenty of information and some humour. The bar/restaurant on the reserve is amazing and worth seeing, you will enjoy a beer after the walk. Just loved it.

Thank David R
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Our excellent visit to this privately-owned area included a ferry ride, a ride to the top in wheeled carts pulled by a powerful 4X4 vehicle, gorgeous scenery, and caves overlooking the lagoon. The scenery overlooking the cliffs is magnificent! And our lunch is the restaurant...More

Thank Providence_RITom
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your comments

Reviewed 6 June 2017

I would go again! The boat trip to get to the island was lovely. We then took the little train ride up the beautiful mountain, with breath taking views. We stopped at the top, to walk down lots of stairs. Saw beautiful Caves that were...More

Thank 182charmainem
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your comments.

Reviewed 31 May 2017

Lovely cruise in the Indian ocean to the reserve then tractor ride up to the top with great views and very scenic on the walk down where a delicious buffet lunch was waiting for us. This trip had every thing mountains caves wildlife 4 hrs...More

1  Thank Ann W
The Featherbed C, Public Relations Manager at Featherbed Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words....just a correction, the cruise is on the Knysna Estuary as this Eco Tour does not go out to sea.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Anchorage Restaurant
723 reviews
.44 km away
Le Maquis
347 reviews
.50 km away
Cafe Mario
970 reviews
.47 km away
Chatters Bistro
549 reviews
.42 km away
Nearby Attractions
Knysna Lagoon
509 reviews
.79 km away
Jandreart Studio
41 reviews
1.07 km away
Drupkelders Hiking Trail
38 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ziphokazidlamini
13 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from The Featherbed C | Property representative |
Hi there you are welcome to call 044-3821693 to make a reservation. This will avoid any dissappointment. Regards Management
0
Votes
Delius17
20 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from valhux | Reviewed this property |
Hi sorry if its late in answering, but we booked when we arrived in the area. We stayed for one evening and did the tour the following day. However, although we paid approx £40.00 per person for the tour, we never got a... More
1
Vote